Engineering Librarians
Visit us at Feldberg Library!
Matt Benzing
(he/him)
Engineering & Computer Science
Jentry Campbell
(she/her)
Engineering
Related Guides
Energy Engineering at Dartmouth
As one of the Thayer School of Engineering's research ares, energy engineering at Dartmouth includes areas of biomass energy, energy materials, energy systems, power electronics, and sustainable design. Research is focused on ways to increase the efficiency of energy conversion, storage, transmission, and utilization, accelerate the transition to sustainable energy sources, and improve access to and management of energy systems.
Key Resources
Databases
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowInstitute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and more than 3,400 technical standards.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, with bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities. Scopus has 55 million records dating back to 1823, 84% of these contain references dating from 1996.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.
EBook Collections
- Knovel online interactive books and databases This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text technical information and interactive tools in engineering and applied sciences. Content includes over 2,000 reference handbooks and databases produced by more than 50 technical publishers and professional societies, organized by subject area.
- Sustainable Energy & Development Collection in KnovelCovers biofuel, biomass gasification, fuel cells, photovoltaic, hydroelectric and wind power generation, wind turbines, energy efficiency, LEED design, bioplastics, sustainable building and site development, and protection of groundwater and aquifers. Of use to environmental and civil engineers improving the energy efficiency of buildings, designing and implementing sustainable energy systems, and limiting the effect of development on water resources.
- ASME eBooksFounded in 1880 as the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, ASME is the premier professional membership organization for more than 127,000 mechanical engineers and associated members worldwide. ASME also conducts one of the world's largest technical publishing operations in the world, offering thousands of titles including some of the profession's most prestigious journals, conference proceedings, and ASME Press books.
- Synthesis Digital Library Collections 1-9Recommended Lecture:
Synthesis Lectures on Energy and the Environment: Technology, Science, and Society - SPIE Digital LibraryThe most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing access to the technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present.
News
- EnergyWireEnergyWire is designed to bring readers coverage on the business and political issues surrounding the rapidly expanding unconventional energy industry in the United States and around the world. Sign up for the daily newsletter to receive the latest headlines.
Resources for Biomass Energy
Biofuels: Advances in Research and Applications by
The book first explores previously studied supercritical processes for the production of biodiesel. Two of the main drawbacks of said processes are discussed: the high energy requirements and the hazards due to the conditions under which the processes are operated. The authors present a review of the experimental excess enthalpy of mixtures of dibutyl ether or butanol, with representative hydrocarbons. The most relevant functional groups of gasoline hydrocarbon types are considered: heptane, iso-octane, 1-hexene, cyclohexane, methylcyclohexane, benzene, and toluene. Continuing, this compilation briefly explores the production of biofuel from different edible and non-edible feedstock, mentioning the various types of homogeneous and heterogeneous acid or base catalysts applied for reactions. The benefits and drawbacks of biodiesel as compared to diesel fuel are also described. Several yeasts are examined for their capability to produce xylanolytic enzymes that degrade xylan, the major polysaccharide in the hemicellulose structure. The production of hydrolytic enzymes for the enzymatic hydrolysis process is reported by optimizing lignocellulose degradation and increasing the yield of simple sugars.
Publication Date: 2020
Exergy of Biomass by
Determination of the exergy of biomass is the first step to evaluate and study the fuel characteristics, transfer processes and utilization systems of biomass from exergy aspect. This book aims to present up-to-date research on the exergy of biomass. Chapter 1 (Resources and Advantages of Biomass) mainly introduces the definition and classification of biomass as well as the resources and advantages of biomass. Chapter 2 (Equations for Estimating the Exergy of Biomass) mainly presents the various equations proposed or developed to estimate the exergy of biomass and these include the simple, complicated and developed equations. Chapter 3 (Analysis of the Exergy of Biomass) mainly defines the basic knowledge for the exergy characteristics (moisture related exergy, ash related exergy, S related exergy, LHV related exergy and total exergy) and distribution (percentages of moisture related exergy, ash related exergy, S related exergy and LHV related exergy) of biomass. Chapter 4 (Exergy of Woody Biomass) mainly presents the basic properties of woody biomass (i.e., moisture content, ash content, ash compositions, elemental compositions and heating values) as well as the exergy characteristics and distribution of woody biomass. HHV related relationship, LHV related relationship and ash related relationships are also proposed to estimate the exergy of woody biomass. Chapter 5 (Exergy of Rice Husk) mainly presents the basic properties of rice husk (i.e., moisture content, ash content, ash compositions, elemental compositions and heating values) as well as the exergy characteristics and distribution of rice husk. HHV related relationship and LHV related relationship are then proposed to estimate the exergy of rice husk. Chapter 6 (Exergy of Rice Straw) mainly presents the basic properties of rice straw (i.e., moisture content, ash content, ash compositions, elemental compositions and heating values) as well as the exergy characteristics and distribution of rice straw. HHV related relationship and LHV related relationship are then proposed to estimate the exergy of rice straw. Chapter 7 (Exergy of Cereal Straw) mainly presents the basic properties of cereal straw (i.e., moisture content, ash content, ash compositions, elemental compositions, and heating values) as well as the exergy characteristics and distribution of cereal straw. HHV related relationship and LHV related relationship are then proposed to estimate the exergy of cereal straw. Hopefully, the content of this book can supply a good guide to the up-to-date research on the exergy of biomass.
Publication Date: 2020
Journals
Resources for Energy Materials
Advanced Energy Materials by
An essential resource for scientists designing new energy materials for the vast landscape of solar energy conversion as well as materials processing and characterization Based on the new and fundamental research on novel energy materials with tailor-made photonic properties, the role of materials engineering has been to provide much needed support in the development of photovoltaic devices. Advanced Energy Materials offers a unique, state-of-the-art look at the new world of novel energy materials science, shedding light on the subject's vast multi-disciplinary approach The book focuses particularly on photovoltaics, efficient light sources, fuel cells, energy-saving technologies, energy storage technologies, nanostructured materials as well as innovating materials and techniques for future nanoscale electronics. Pathways to future development are also discussed. Critical, cutting-edge subjects are addressed, including: Non-imaging focusing heliostat; state-of-the-art of nanostructures Metal oxide semiconductors and their nanocomposites Superionic solids; polymer nanocomposites; solid electrolytes; advanced electronics Electronic and optical properties of lead sulfide High-electron mobility transistors and light-emitting diodes Anti-ferroelectric liquid crystals; PEEK membrane for fuel cells Advanced phosphors for energy-efficient lighting Molecular computation photovoltaics and photocatalysts Photovoltaic device technology and non-conventional energy applications Readership The book is written for a large and broad readership including researchers and university graduate students from diverse backgrounds such as chemistry, materials science, physics, and engineering working in the fields of nanotechnology, photovoltaic device technology, and non-conventional energy.
Publication Date: 2014
Journals
Resources for Energy Systems
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowInstitute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and more than 3,400 technical standards.
Energy Systems: a Very Short Introduction by Publication Date: 2020
Advances in Energy Systems by Publication Date: 2019
Journals
Resources for Power Electronics
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowInstitute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and more than 3,400 technical standards.
Power Electronics Handbook by Publication Date: 2017
Alternative Energy in Power Electronics by Publication Date: 2014
Journals
Resources for Sustainable Design
- BuildingGreenDatabase to help building-industry professionals design and build construction projects that minimizes ecological impact and maximizes economic performance. Includes access to Environmental building news articles, lists for GreenSpec products and specification guidelines, and detailed project case studies of high-performance buildings.
- Knovel Collection: Sustainable Urban DevelopmentCovering ASHRAE greenguide, green facilities, sustainable transportation, cycling, etc.
Renewable Energy and Sustainable Design by Publication Date: 2015
Design of Energy-Efficient Buildings by Publication Date: 2020
