Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dartmouth College Library has been a selective Federal Depository Library since 1884. Depository items held within the collection can be used on-site at the Library by any member of the public. This research guide provides information on how to access the Federal Depository Library Program's basic collection, along with information about the titles in that collection.
FDLP Basic Collection
Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government
An educational web site for kids. The site provides learning tools for K-12 students, parents, and teachers.
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Provides a full listing of all Federal assistance programs.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Finding tool for federal publications. Includes descriptive records for historical and current publications.
Decennial Census 2010
Data also available in American Factfinder. For more recent or more detailed data, use the American Community Survey (see the Census Data Research Guide for more information).
Code of Federal Regulations
The codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
Official directory of the U.S. Congress.
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress.
Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation
Popularly known as the Constitution Annotated, encompasses the U.S. Constitution and analysis and interpretation of the U.S. Constitution with in-text annotations of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States.
Monthly publication prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
Economic Report of the President
Annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
Federal Digital System. Provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
Historical Statistics of the United States (updated to 2006)
Millenial Edition Online. Available to members of the public not affiliated with Dartmouth at computers in the Library.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Guide to career information on hundreds of occupations in the United States.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
An official series of Presidential writings, addresses, and remarks.
United States Statutes at Large
Permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress.
United States Code
Codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States.
United States Government Manual
Official handbook of the Federal Government.
United States Reports
The bound volumes of the United States Reports contain final versions of U.S. Supreme Court opinions.
USA Counties is no longer updated or supported by the Census Bureau.
Business, Economics, Engineering Librarian