Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
Women have worked in the film industry since its very beginnings, yet it is a popular conception that this is a recent phenomenon. This course will examine how women participated in the mainstream American film industry from the 1890's to the present as producers, directors, writers, photographers, fashion designers, performers, and audiences. Concept about female authorship, as well as historical questions about the cultural, social, and industrial contexts for women's power in the industry, will be explored. Films made by prominent women producers, directors, and writers will be screened.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 07/23/2024]; Dist:ART; WCult:W
Find more resources at Film Studies: Women on/in/creating Film
In the Library's collections
Many resources are located in the call number range PN 1995.9 .W6 on Baker Level 4. However, check the online catalog. Others items are scattered throughout the collection. You can use one of the subject headings below to start your research in the library's online catalog:
Introductory reading(s)
An encyclopedic dictionary of women in early American films: 1895-1930 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780789018434An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Women in Early American Films: 1895-1930 is an A-to-Z reference guide that dispels the myth that men dominated the film industry during its formative years. Denise Lowe presents a rich collection that profiles many of the women who were crucial to the development of cinema as an industry--and as an art form. ...
Universal women: filmmaking and institutional change in early Hollywood by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1999.U57 C66 2010ISBN: 9780252077005Between 1912 and 1919, the Universal Film Manufacturing Company credited eleven women with directing at least 170 films, but by the mid-1920s all of these directors had left Universal and only one still worked in the film industry at all.
Women directors by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9.W6 Q37 1988ISBN: 9780275929626Quart extends her previous writings on what she terms `the best narrative cinema: women-centered cinema' and feminist filmmaking. Quart addresses American, Western European, and Eastern European directors, closing with Third World examples. Arguing that independent filmmaking best serves the quest for a woman's voice and vision, Quart chronicles the survival of women directors. She traces a heritage of women directors inside the Hollywood system and beyond. ...
Women film directors: an international bio-critical dictionary by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.2 .F67 1995ISBN: 9780313289729Until now, there hasn't been one single-volume authoritative reference work on the history of women in film, highlighting nearly every woman filmmaker from the dawn of cinema including Alice Guy (France, 1896), Chantal Akerman (Belgium), Penny Marshall (U.S.), and Sally Potter (U.K.). Every effort has been made to include every kind of woman filmmaker: commercial and mainstream, avant-garde, and minority, and to give a complete cross-section of the work of these remarkable women. ...
Women of vision: histories of feminist film and video by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.2 .W666 2001ISBN: 9780816633722Legends and rising stars of feminist film and video tell their stories. Alexandra Juhasz asked twenty-one women to tell their stories-women whose names make up a who is (and who will be) who of independent and experimental film and video. What emerged in the resulting conversations is a compelling (and previously underdocumented) history of feminism and feminist film and video, from its origins in the fifties and sixties to its apex in the seventies, to today. ...
Women who run the show: how a brilliant and creative new generation of women stormed Hollywood by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.2 .G74 2002ISBN: 9780312301828In the 1970s, you could count the women who produced film or television on one hand. By the 1990s, there were hundreds. What happened? That's the dramatic, firsthand story in Women Who Run the Show. Based on more than 125 interviews with women in virtually every segment of the entertainment business-from feature films to television, from corporate offices and new media to the back lot-Women Who Run the Show is the unfiltered account of women's lives in the Hollywood workplace from the 1970s ("No one wanted us there") to 2000. ...
Selected book title(s)
Celluloid ceiling: women directors breaking through by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W6 C45 2014ISBN: 9780956632906Highlighting rising women directors alongside ground-breaking pioneers, this is a one-stop guide to the leading women film directors in the 21st century, and those who inspired them.
Go west, young women!: the rise of early Hollywood by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W6 H23 2013ISBN: 9780520274099In the early part of the twentieth century, migrants made their way from rural homes to cities in record numbers and many traveled west. Los Angeles became a destination. Women flocked to the growing town to join the film industry as workers and spectators, creating a "New Woman." Their efforts transformed filmmaking from a marginal business to a cosmopolitan, glamorous, and bohemian one.
Hollywood's second sex: the treatment of women in the film industry, 1900-1999 by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W6 D54 2015ISBN: 9780786479788Women stars in Hollywood were invariably in two categories, said director Otto Preminger. One group was of women who were exploited by men, and the other, much smaller group was of women who survived by acting like men.
Italian women filmmakers and the gendered screen by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W6 I88 2013ISBN: 9781137336507Feminism in Italy has left a great area of investigation uncovered, buried under the pressure of a backlash that runs over women's identity, their expectations, and their artistic expression.
Reclaiming the archive: feminism and film history by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W6 R445 2010ISBN: 9780814333006Reclaiming the Archive: Feminism and Film History brings together a diverse group of international feminist scholars to examine the intersections of feminism, history, and feminist theory in film.
Women's cinema, world cinema: projecting contemporary feminisms by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780822358053In Women's Cinema, World Cinema, Patricia White explores the dynamic intersection of feminism and film in the twenty-first century by highlighting the work of a new generation of women directors from around the world ...
Other library resource(s)
Filmmakers on film. early directors on directing by Call Number: Streaming videoFrom the award winning, 10 part archival program series, "Filmmakers on Film." There were more women directors before 1920 than at any other time in history. The first director to put a narrative story on celluloid was, Alice Guy Blaché in 1896. Few people know that Lillian Gish became a director in her own right in 1920.
Pioneers: first women filmmakers by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #23123In the early decades of cinema, some of the most innovative and celebrated filmmakers in America were women. Alice Guy-Blaché helped establish the basics of cinematic language, while others boldly continued its development: slapstick queen Mabel Normand (who taught Charlie Chaplin the craft of directing), action star Grace Cunard, and LGBTQ icon Alla Nazimova. Unafraid of controversy, filmmakers such as Lois Weber and Dorothy Davenport Reid tackled explosive issues such as birth control, abortion, and prostitution. This crucial chapter of film history comes alive through the presentation of a wide assortment of films, carefully curated, meticulously restored in 2K and 4K from archival sources, and presented with new musical scores.
Reel herstory: the real story of reel women. the silent era by Call Number: Streaming videoBased on the groundbreaking edition, Reel Women: the first hundred years, by Ally Acker, Jodie Foster takes us on a sweeping journey that looks at the remarkable achievements of female filmmakers from 1896 into the 21st century who transformed the way we look at movies. ...- Reel herstory: the real story of reel women. the talkies by Call Number: Streaming video... Using rare footage, and exclusive interviews with filmmakers all over the globe, Reel Herstory corrects the notion that women behind the scenes held adjunct or peripheral careers, and restores them rightfully to their pioneering status. ...
- Reel herstory: the real story of reel women. contemporary reel women by Call Number: Streaming video... Reel Herstory: The Real Story of Reel Women is an unforgettable look at pioneering women all crafts behind the scenes who helped shape the history of motion pictures, but whose contributions have been long ignored.
Women and film from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286“Women and Film” encompasses numerous issues in academic film studies, including the histories of female practitioners in the industry; the works they produced; female audiences; female critics, historians, archivists, and theorists; and the portrayals of women on the movie screen. In the early years of cinema, women played a significant role in filmmaking (e.g., the director Lois Weber and the scenarist Frances Marion in the United States), but these individuals were soon forgotten as the industry became male dominated.
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles and other writings about women in the film industry can be found in many publications. You can use Film & Television Literature Index, or Academic Search Complete to find articles or use the Summon box below. MLA International Bibliography is another option for articles.
Film & television literature index by Call Number: Electronic resourceUse this index to find articles about this topic.
Women's studies international by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis resource includes references from a variety of Women's Studies bibliographic databases.
MLA international bibliography by Call Number: Electronic resourceMLA International Bibliography indexes journal articles, books and dissertations. Coverage includes literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- Women's Steering Committee - Directors Guild of America (DGA)
The Women's Steering Committee (WSC) was created to advance the professional interests of its members, and to heighten their visibility and career opportunities in the entertainment industry. - Women's Movement? - DGAThe numbers are appalling. In 2013, only nine percent of DGA features released in theaters were directed by women. To inspire, encourage, and hopefully promote change, we interviewed some of those who succeeded in getting their films made. Here are their stories.
- The 25 Best Films Directed by Women
This list is from the Raindance site. - Women Make Movies
Established in 1972 to address the under representation and misrepresentation of women in the media industry, Women Make Movies is a multicultural, multiracial, non-profit media arts organization which facilitates the production, promotion, distribution and exhibition of independent films and videotapes by and about women.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.