Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Other library resource(s)
Miss representation by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #14627Explores how mainstream media contributes to the under-representation of women in influential positions in America and challenges the media's limiting and often disparaging portrayals of women, which make it difficult for the average girl to see herself as powerful.
Women and film from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286“Women and Film” encompasses numerous issues in academic film studies, including the histories of female practitioners in the industry; the works they produced; female audiences; female critics, historians, archivists, and theorists; and the portrayals of women on the movie screen. In the early years of cinema, women played a significant role in filmmaking (e.g., the director Lois Weber and the scenarist Frances Marion in the United States), but these individuals were soon forgotten as the industry became male dominated.- Women and the silent screen from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Research on women and the silent screen examines the role gender plays onscreen and behind the scenes in early film cultures worldwide. This vibrant sub-field emerged in the 1990s in response to the rise of scholarship on early cinema that began after the Brighton conference in 1978 and the emergence of feminist film theory earlier in that decade. Scholars of women and silent cinema add a historical perspective to feminist film theory, while demonstrating the formative role that gender and sexuality played in early film-making, film-going, and film culture. ...
Internet resource(s)
- Alliance for Women in MediaThe Alliance for Women in Media is an organization for women, by women. They are committed to supporting women across all media segments, to expand networks, educate and celebrate accomplishments.
- Alliance of Women Film Journalists
Their purpose is to amplify the voices of women critics, provide a platform for the expression of women’s perspectives on film and support work by and about women – both in front of and behind the cameras – through intra-group promotional activities, outreach programs and by presenting the annual EDA Awards in recognition of outstanding accomplishments (the best and worst) by and about women in the movies. ... - Center for the Study of Women in Television & FilmThe Center is dedicated to producing extensive and timely research, studies generated by the Center provide the foundation for a realistic and meaningful discussion of women’s on-screen representation and behind-the-scenes employment. Their research includes studies such as It's A Man's (Celluloid) World and Boxed In.
- Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media
This is the only organization working within the entertainment industry to educate and influence the creation of gender balanced onscreen roles, reduce harmful stereotypes and create an expanse of unique and intersectional female characters in entertainment targeting children 11 and under. - Women and Hollywood
Women and Hollywood educates, advocates, and agitates for gender parity across the entertainment industry. - Women Film Pioneers Project (WFPP)The Women Film Pioneers Project (WFPP) is a digital publication and resource that advances research on the hundreds of women who worked behind the scenes during the silent film era. WFPP publishes original scholarship on women who worked all around the world as directors, producers, screenwriters, editors, and more. ...
- Women in Film
Women In Film is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting equal opportunities for women, encouraging creative projects by women, and expanding and enhancing portrayals of women in all forms of global media.
In the Library's collections
Suggested subject headings for searching the online catalog include:
- african american women in motion picturesCall number range is PN 1995.9 .N4 on Baker Level 4.
- asian american women in motion picturesCall number range is PN 1995.9 .A77 on Baker Level 4.
- hispanic american women in motion picturesCall number range is PN 1995.9 .H47 on Baker Level 4.
- indian women in motion picturesCall number range is PN 1995.9 .I48 on Baker Level 4.
- transgender people in motion picturesBooks are scattered within the HQ 75.5 call number range.
- lesbianism in motion picturesCall number range is PN 1995.9 .L48 on Baker Level 4.
- bisexuality in motion picturesThis books are scattered between PN 1995.9 .B57 and HQ 74.
- women in motion picturesCall number range is PN 1995.9 .W6 on Baker Level 4.
Introductory reading(s)
- Hispanics in Hollywood: an encyclopedia of film and television byCall Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .H47 R49 1994ISBN: 9780815308270
Hollywood's second sex: the treatment of women in the film industry, 1900-1999 by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W6 D54 2015ISBN: 9780786479788Women stars in Hollywood were invariably in two categories, said director Otto Preminger. One group was of women who were exploited by men, and the other, much smaller group was of women who survived by acting like men.
Independent female filmmakers: a chronicle through interviews, profiles, and manifestos by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.2 .I53 2019ISBN: 9780815373049Independent Female Filmmakers collects original and previously published essays, interviews, and manifestos from some of the most defining and groundbreaking independent female filmmakers of the last 40 years. ...
The international encyclopedia of gender, media, and communication by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9781119429104The International Encyclopedia of Gender, Media, and Communication comprises more than 250 entries by an international team of both established and emerging scholars in the field. This innovative resource explores how gender is represented in media, who produces the content, and the ways in which audiences receive and understand media messages. ...
Never done: a history of women's work in media production by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780813574899Histories of women in Hollywood usually recount the contributions of female directors, screenwriters, designers, actresses, and other creative personnel whose names loom large in the credits. Yet, from its inception, the American film industry relied on the labor of thousands more women, workers whose vital contributions often went unrecognized. Never Done introduces generations of women who worked behind the scenes in the film industry--from the employees' wives who hand-colored the Edison Company's films frame-by-frame, to the female immigrants who toiled in MGM's backrooms to produce beautifully beaded and embroidered costumes. Challenging the dismissive characterization of these women as merely menial workers, media historian Erin Hill shows how their labor was essential to the industry and required considerable technical and interpersonal skills. ...
The Routledge companion to cinema and gender by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .S47 R68 2017ISBN: 9781138924956This companion is both an overview of, and intervention into the field of cinema and gender. The essays included here address a variety of geographical contexts, from an analysis of cinema. Islam and women and television under Eastern European socialism, to female audience reception in Nigeria, to changing class and race norms in Bollywood dance sequences. A special focus is on women directors in a global context that includes films and filmmakers from Asia, Africa, Australia, Europe, North and South America. ...
What if I had been the hero?: investigating women's cinema by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W6 T467 2012ISBN: 9781844573639Sue Thornham's study explores issues in feminist filmmaking through an examination of a wide range of films by women filmmakers, ranging from the avant-garde to mainstream Hollywood, and from the 1970s to the present day, discussing directors including Sally Potter, Jane Campion, Julie Dash, Patricia Rozema and Lynne Ramsay.
Women on screen: feminism and femininity in visual culture by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W6 W666 2011ISBN: 9780230229655A timely intervention into debates on the representation of feminist and feminine identities in contemporary visual culture.
Selected book title(s)
Chick flicks: theories and memories of the feminist film movement by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W6 R47 1998ISBN: 9780822321217If there was a moment during the sixties, seventies, or eighties that changed the history of the women's film movement, B. Ruby Rich was there. Part journalistic chronicle, part memoir, and 100% pure cultural historical odyssey, Chick Flicks--with its definitive, the-way-it-was collection of essays--captures the birth and growth of feminist film as no other book has done. ...
Contested images: women of color in popular culture by Call Number: Baker-Berry P 9.5 .M552 U6273 2012ISBN: 9780759119628Contested Images: Women of Color in Popular Culture is a collection of 17 essays that analyze representations in popular culture of African American, Asian American, Latina, and Native American women. The anthology is divided into four parts: film images, beauty images, music, and television. ...
For his eyes only: the women of James Bond by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .J3 F67 2015ISBN: 9780231176156The release of Skyfall in 2012 marked the fiftieth anniversary of the James Bond film franchise. It earned over one billion dollars in the worldwide box office and won two Academy Awards. Amid popular and critical acclaim, some have questioned the representation of women in the film. From an aging M to the limited role of the Bond Girl and the characterization of Miss Moneypenny as a defunct field agent, Skyfall develops the legacy of Bond at the expense of women.
Gender in science fiction films, 1964-1979: a critical study by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .S26 N64 2015ISBN: 9780786459742The 1950's era of science fiction film effectively ended when space flight became a reality with the first manned orbit of Earth in 1962. As the genre's wildly speculative depictions of science and technology gave way to more reality-based representations, relations between male and female characters reflected the changing political and social climates of the era.
Hammer!: making movies out of life and sex by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .H32 A3 2010ISBN: 9781558616141The first book by influential filmmaker Barbara Hammer, whose life and work have inspired generations of queer, feminist and avant-garde artists and filmmakers. The wild days of non-monogamy in the 1970s, the development of the queer aesthetic in the 80s and the fight for visibility during the culture wars of the 1990s, Hammer's search for meaning as she contemplates mortality in the past 10 years, Hammer! includes text and images from all these periods to create a memoir as innovative and disarming as her work on screen has always been.
Heroes, lovers, and others: the story of Latinos in Hollywood by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .H47 R63 2004ISBN: 9781588341112Heroes, Lovers, and Others tells the fascinating history of Latinos in film, from the birth of the movies to the present, through a series of stories about Hollywood's most famous and enduring stars. The book features such Latino legends as Dolores del Rio, Rita Hayworth, Ramon Navarro, Desi Arnaz, Anthony Quinn, Raquel Welch, Selma Hayek, and Antonio Banderas. ...
Knock me up, knock me down: images of pregnancy in Hollywood films by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .P66 O45 2012ISBN: 9780231161091No longer is pregnancy a repulsive or shameful condition in Hollywood films, but an attractive attribute, often enhancing the romantic or comedic storyline of a female character. Kelly Oliver investigates this curious shift and its reflection of changing attitudes toward women's roles in reproduction and the family. Not all representations signify progress. Oliver finds that in many pregnancy films, our anxieties over modern reproductive practices and technologies are made manifest, and in some cases perpetuate conventions curtailing women's freedom. ...
Latina/o stars in U.S. eyes: the making and meanings of film and tv stardom by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .H47 B45 2009ISBN: 9780252076510This book explores the role film and television stardom has played in establishing, reinforcing, and challenging popular ethnic notions of Latina/os in the United States since the silent film era of the 1920s. In addition to documenting the importance of Latina and Latino stars to American film and television history, Mary C. Beltrán focuses on key moments in the construction of "Hollywood Latinidad" by analyzing the public images of these stars as promoted by Hollywood film studios, television networks, producers, and the performers themselves. ...
The limits of #MeToo in Hollywood: gender and power in the entertainment industry by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781476684956In October 2017, actress Alyssa Milano sparked the #MeToo movement. The ensuing protests quickly encompassed far more than Harvey Weinstein and the entertainment industry. They expressed women's outrage at male workplace behavior in every sector and social class and even helped elect a new generation of women leaders in 2018. But what has been the effect of #MeToo in the entertainment industry itself? This book traces the movement's influence on the stories being told, on changing representations of women's lives and bodies, and on the slow changes among the producers who shape the stories. ...
The queens of animation: the untold story of the women who transformed the world of Disney and made cinematic history by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1999 .W27 H59 2019ISBN: 9780316439152From Snow White to Moana, from Pinocchio to Frozen, the animated films of Walt Disney Studios have moved and entertained millions. But few fans know that behind these ground-breaking features was an incredibly influential group of women who fought for respect in an often ruthless male-dominated industry and who have slipped under the radar for decades. ...
Reflections on blaxploitation: actors and directors speak by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .N4 R46 2009ISBN: 9780810867062In the early 1970s, a new breed of film emerged that would completely change the way black people were presented in movies. With their afros picked to spherical perfection and their guns blazing, big bad soul brothers and super sexy sisters lit up movie theaters across the country. Never before had black men and women appeared on screen in quite this way. In time, these films would be called "blaxploitation." And while it has long been debated exactly which film launched the blaxploitation era, the financial success of Melvin Van Peebles's Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song and Gordon Parks's Shaft helped open the flood gates for the more than 200 films that are now considered blaxploitation. Reflections on Blaxploitation: Actors and Directors Speak is a collection of interviews with many of the men and women who defined the genre. ...
Reservation reelism: redfacing, visual sovereignty, and representations of Native Americans in film by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .I48 R34 2010ISBN: 9780803211261In this deeply engaging account Michelle H. Raheja offers the first book-length study of the Indigenous actors, directors, and spectators who helped shape Hollywood's representation of Indigenous peoples. Since the era of silent films, Hollywood movies and visual culture generally have provided the primary representational field on which Indigenous images have been displayed to non-Native audiences. These films have been highly influential in shaping perceptions of Indigenous peoples as, for example, a dying race or as inherently unable or unwilling to adapt to change. However, films with Indigenous plots and subplots also signify at least some degree of Native presence in a culture that largely defines Native peoples as absent or separate. ...
Sex goddesses of the silent screen by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998 .A2 Z55This book covers Theda Bara, Barbara Lamarr, Pola Negri Mae Murray, Clara Bow and other actresses in the silent era.
The silent feminists: America's first women directors by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.2 .S548 1996ISBN: 9780810830530American women who contributed their talent to the silent film industry are still largely unrecognized today. In The Silent Feminists, Anthony Slide shows how " during the first three decades of its existence, the American film industry was, in many ways, a woman's world." His work documents the lives and careers of America's first women directors and provides an introduction to the subject of women in the American silent-film industry. ...
Women filmmakers: refocusing by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780774809023What difference does it make when a woman wields the camera? Women Filmmakers: Refocusing casts a critical eye on the often-overlooked work of women filmmakers. It provides a rich sampling of the wealth of thought and experience of women in the film industry and brings together in a unique way the views of creators and critics from around the world.
Women filmmakers in sinophone world cinema by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789463729352Women Filmmakers in Sinophone World Cinema portrays a group of important contemporary women filmmakers working across the Sinophone world including Taiwan, Hong Kong, mainland China, and beyond. The book delineates and conceptualizes their cinematic and trans-media practices within an evolving, multifaceted feminist intimate-public commons. The films by these experienced and emerging filmmakers, including Huang Yu-shan, Yau Ching, Ai Xiaoming, Wen Hui, Huang Ji and others, represent some of the most innovative and socially engaged work in both fictional and non-fictional modes in Chinese-language cinema as well as global women's cinema. ...
Finding journal articles
You can find articles about women in all aspects of entertainment in a variety of sources. You can use Film & Television Literature Index, Women's Studies International or the Screen Studies Collection to find articles. You can also use the search box at the top of the page.
Feminist media historiesCall Number: Electronic journalInter-medial and trans-national in its approach, Feminist Media Histories examines the historical role gender has played in varied media technologies, and documents women’s engagements with these media as audiences, users and consumers, creators and executives, critics, writers and theorists, technicians and laborers, educators, activists, and librarians.
Women and the silent screen (Screening the Past) by Call Number: Electronic journalWhat makes women and the silent screen a compelling field of research – one that engages scholars, students and film-going publics – is the opportunity to explore film history anew. As this special dossier demonstrates, presumptions about industrial, cultural, artistic, national, political and social change in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries are challenged when an apparently simple question is posed: who were making films, writing about films, and enabling the industry’s popular expansion? ...
Film & television literature indexCall Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Screen studies collection by Call Number: Electronic resourceA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute (AFI) and the British Film Institute.
Performing arts periodicals databaseCall Number: Electronic resourcePerforming Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Women's studies international by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis resource includes references from a variety of Women's Studies bibliographic databases.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Selected documentaries
The Bronze screen: 100 years of the Latino image in Hollywood by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #3322ISBN: 9781568558998The Bronze Screen honors the past, illuminates the present, and opens a window to the future of Latinos in motion pictures. From silent movies to urban gang films, stereotypes of the Greaser, the Lazy Mexican, the Latin lover and the Dark lady are examined. Rare and extensive footage traces the progression of this distorted screen image to the increased prominence of today's Latino actors, writers and directors.
Captured on film: the true story of Marion Davies by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #7691Blonde, beautiful and talented, Marion Davies was the first and funniest of the screwball comediennes. She combined zany slapstick with exuberant mimicry. This combines archival film clips with interviews and rare home movies to explore her life and work.- Hispanics in the media byCall Number: Jones Media Video tape #4314Explores the current role of Hispanics in the media including interviews with Geraldo Rivera, Moctesuma Esparza, David Valdez, Rita Moreno, Elizabeth Peña, Jimmy Smits and Isiah Morales.
- Images of Indians byCall Number: Jones Media Video tape #5522 parts 1-5A series of films which examines the Indian stereotype portrayed in movies and questions what the effect this Hollywood image has been on Indians' own self-image.
Makers. Volume 2, Women in war, space, comedy, business, Hollywood, politics by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #18206ISBN: 9781627891011Profiles women leaders in the fields of politics, business, military, space, motion pictures, and comedy.
Reel injun by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #11118Travelling through the heartland of America, Cree filmmaker Neil Diamond examines how the myth of the movie "Injun" has influenced the world's understanding - and misunderstanding - of Natives. With clips from hundreds of classic and recent films, and candid interviews with celebrated Native and non-Native directors, writers, actors and activists, including Clint Eastwood, Robbie Robertson, Sacheen Littlefeather, John Trudell, Charlie Hill and Russell Means, Reel Injun traces the evolution of cinema's depiction of Native people from the silent film era to the present day.- Slaying the dragon; Slaying the dragon: reloaded byCall Number: Jones Media DVD #13455Describes racial and gender stereotyping of Asian women in U.S. motion pictures as well as other filmic media, with Reloaded updating the original documentary by noting the effects of globalization and a changing population within the past 25 years. Includes interviews with actresses and other Asian American women who describe their experiences of such stereotyping.
Keeping up with the journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.