Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
In the Library's collections
There doesn't seem to be one place to look for box office information for movies. However, there are several resources in our collection in which you can look.
-
Film ID
Call Number: Electronic resourceThis resource ranks sales of movies in DVD, VHS and Blu-Ray formats. -
Statista: the leading statistics portal
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceStatista provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. -
Box officeCall Number: Baker/Berry PN 1993 .B6 [May 2000 - ]ISBN: 0006-8527Box Office includes news and articles about the motion picture exhibition, distribution, production and related industries.
-
Variety.comCall Number: Electronic resourceOnce you connect to Variety.com, look for a box in the center of the page under the section "Top Stories. " That box contains box office information and TV ratings. You can see weekend, weekly, foreign and opening statistics.If you click on the Weekly link, you come to another page which allows you search different years. This database only goes back to 1981.
-
Los Angeles times: Proquest historical newspaper
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe major newspapers also published weekly chart for box office information. Usually on Mondays, you will find a short box office list. Then on Tuesdays, you will find a longer list usually located in the Arts/Entertainment/People sections of the papers. -
New York Times: Proquest historical newspaper byCall Number: Electronic resourceThis major newspaper also published a weekly chart for box office information. Usually on Mondays in the Business Section, you will find a short box office list. Then on Tuesdays, you will find a longer list usually located in the Arts/Entertainment/People section of the paper.
-
The Hollywood reporter book of box office hits byCall Number: Baker/Berry Ref. PN 1993.5 .U6 S18 1990This book covers from 1939 to 1988 and lists the top 5 movies for each year. You also get a short article about the movie, the amount of money the movie made, the major cast members and Academy Award nominations and wins.
Other resource(s)
We do not have the resource below in our collection, but it should be available through Interlibrary Loan.
-
Art Murphy's ... Box Office RegisterThis was an annual yearbook published from the early 1980's to 1995.
The library staff at the Margaret Herrick Library at the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts & Sciences recommended this title. Use Interlibrary Loan to request volumes.
Internet resource(s)
These resources are available on the internet. The historical archive varies from resource to resource.
-
Box Office MojoBox Office Mojo is an online movie publication and box office reporting service. Their purpose is to illuminate the movies through the integration of art and business. Based in Burbank, California, they produce analysis, reviews, interviews and the most comprehensive box office tracking available online.
-
Nielsen Top Tens
Nielsen is global leader in measurement, information and research solutions for the motion picture industry. Their tools provide up-to-the minute box office information around the globe, in real time, on an hourly basis. -
The Numbers - Movie Box Office Data ...
The Numbers was officially launched on October 17th, 1997 as a free resource for industry professionals, the investment community, and movie fans to track business information on movies.
