Subject Librarian
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Licensing Options
Film Studies by Lucinda M. Hall is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Find New Books on Film Studies in the Library's Collections
Find new books about film studies in the library's collections.
Keeping up with the journal literature
Introduction
The Department of Film & Media Studies offers courses in the theory, criticism and history of film and television. To assist faculty, students and others in the Dartmouth College community, the Library collects materials of all types for both Film, Television and Radio.
This guide is an introduction to the resources for Film Studies. For more in-depth study, you can contact a librarian, visit the Baker-Berry Reference Desk or give us a call.
If you are interested in Television, click here.
If you have suggestions for sections within this library guide, please email Lucinda M. Hall.
In the Library's Collection
Most of the books on films are located in the call number range PN 1993 through PN 1999 on Baker Level 4. The subject search for film is motion pictures.
- motion pictures
- motion pictures canada (here "motion pictures" is qualified by the country "Canada")
Books about specific actors are located in the sections PN 2285 through PN 2287 on the same level.
- newman, paul 1925-2008 (last name first)
- hepburn, katharine 1907-2003
Books by and about screen writers are located in the PA's through PT's depending on the home country of the writer. Do a subject or author search for the writer to see where their works are located.
- For example, Alan Ball wrote the screenplay for American Beauty.
- A copy of the shooting script is located at PN 1997 .A3425 1999.
- However, another of his plays, 5 Women Wearing the Same Dress is located at PS 3552 .A4543 F58 1993.
Film Studies Quick Links
Cinema and media studies from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Cinema and media studies includes an array of subfields: film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image. ...
A dictionary of film studies by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199587261Publication Date: 2nd ed.This dictionary covers all aspects of film studies, including terms, concepts, debates, and movements in film theory and criticism, national, international and transnational cinemas, film history, film movements and genres, film industry organizations and practices, and key technical terms and concepts in 500 detailed entries. ...
FIAF: international index to film periodicalsCall Number: Electronic resourceThe International Index to Film Periodicals, offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present.
Film & television literature indexCall Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Film: a very short introduction by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1994 .W65 2012ISBN: 9780192803535Film is considered by some to be the most dominant art form of the twentieth century. It is many things, but it has become above all a means of telling stories through images and sounds. The stories are often offered to us as quite false, frankly and beautifully fantastic, and they are sometimes insistently said to be true. But they are stories in both cases, and there are very few films, even in avant-garde art, that don't imply or quietly slip into narrative. ...
Performing arts periodicals databaseCall Number: Electronic resourcePerforming Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Screen studies collection by Call Number: Electronic resourceA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute (AFI) and the British Film Institute.
Internet resource(s)
- Academy Award Nominees in Conversation with AFI (American Film Institute)
From conversations at AFI FEST and AFI DOCS to intimate discussions with Fellows at the AFI Conservatory, go behind the scenes of the creative process with artists from this year’s award-worthy films. - MRQE: Movie Review Query EngineMRQE aggregates reviews, news, interviews and other material associated to specific movies. MRQE also partners with leading movie blogs so that their content is collected in the MRQE database and searchable by any user.
Alert Service
Alert Services let you get Table of Contents (TOC) from many different journal titles without having to search each one individually. If we have a subscription, you can also get the full text of an article.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.