Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Hitchcock's Films
I will not list all of his films in this box. I will list a few here. To see all that we have, click here.
The trouble with Harry by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #7919ISBN: 9781417058952The trouble with Harry is that he's dead, and while no one really minds, everyone feels responsible. Shirley Maclaine makes her screen debut in this New England romp that includes romance, humor ... and several unearthings of the corpse.
Frenzy by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #8660ISBN: 9781417058853In modern-day London, a sex criminal known as the Necktie Murderer has the police on alert; and in typical Hitchcock fashion, their trail is leading to an innocent man who must now elude the law and prove his innocence by finding the real murderer.
Marnie by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #498ISBN: 9780783234205Marnie, a compulsive thief and liar is caught. Her captor impulsively marries the frigid, disturbed girl in an attempt to discover the reasons for her ongoing anti-social behavior.
Rebecca by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #144A young bride is brought by her new husband to his manor house in England. There she finds that the memory of her husband's first wife haunts her, and she tries to discover the secret of that mysterious woman's death.
North by northwest by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #2698ISBN: 9780790799933An ad executive is mistaken for a spy by foreign agents.
Finding Hitchcock Through Google Books
You can use a Google Books search to look within books and find other books that talk about Hitchcock but aren't about Hitchcock.
Internet resource(s)
- Alfred HitchcockA lengthy article about Hitchcock with a selective bibliography and notes from the online journal Senses of Cinema.
- Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery MagazineAlfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine brings you superior short mystery fiction, book reviews, a mysterious photo contest, and a puzzle in every issue.
- Alfred Hitchcock - The Master of SuspenseIt hasn't been updated in a while, but could contain useful information.
- Alfred Hitchcock ZoneThe Hitchcock Zone is a collection of web sites and blogs relating to the life and career of director Alfred Hitchcock (1899–1980).
In the Library's Collection
Most of the books on Hitchcock are located in the call number range PN 1998.3 .H58 on Baker Level 4.
- hitchcock, alfred, 1899 1980This author search should find all of his works we have in the collection and any books, screenplays, etc. to which he wrote or contributed.
- hitchcock, alfred, 1899 1980This subject search will give you a items that are about Hitchcock.
- hitchcock, alfred, 1899 1980 criticism and interpretationThis narrower subject search finds works which discuss his works.
- motion picture producers and directors great britainThis is the class of persons to which Hitchcock belongs. Besides the person's name, you can do a subject search for the class or occupation to which they belong.
Introductory reading(s)
Alfred Hitchcock: a guide to references and resources by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .H58 S57 1993ISBN: 9780816190577This reference guide on Alfred Hitchcock includes: a biographical sketch; critical overview; chronological listing of films; annotated bibliography of criticism; chronological listing of his writings and other non-directional work; annotated listing of archival sources; and a listing of films.
Alfred Hitchcock: centenary essays by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .H58 A725 1999ISBN: 9780851707358This collection of essays displays the range and breadth of Hitchcock scholarship and assesses the significance of his body of work as a bridge between the fin de siecle culture of the 19th century and the 20th century. It engages with Hitchcock's characteristic formal and aesthetic preoccupations.
The Cambridge companion to Alfred Hitchcock by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .H58 C35 2015ISBN: 9781107514881Alfred Hitchcock was, despite his English origins and early career, an American master. Arriving on US shores in 1939, for the next three decades he created a series of masterpieces that redefined the nature and possibilities of cinema itself: "Rebecca," "Notorious," "Strangers on a Train," "Rear Window," "Vertigo" and "Psycho," to name just a few. ...
A companion to Alfred Hitchcock by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781405185387The most comprehensive volume ever published on Alfred Hitchcock, covering his career and legacy as well as the broader cultural and intellectual contexts of his work. ...
Critical insights: Alfred Hitchcock by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .H58 A7243 2017ISBN: 9781682171103Regarded as The Master of Suspense and one of the most influential filmmakers of all time, Alfred Hitchcock is remembered for a long career, consisting of more than fifty films made in six decades. This volume discusses themes that make a film truly Hitchcockian-the plot twist, voyeurism, and the innocent man accused-and analyzes some of Hitchcock's best-known work, including Psycho, North by Northwest, Vertigo, Rear Window, and more.
A Hitchcock reader by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .H58 H574 2009ISBN: 9781405155564Publication Date: 2nd ed.This new edition of A Hitchcock Reader aims to preserve what has been so satisfying and successful in the first edition: a comprehensive anthology that may be used as a critical text in introductory or advanced film courses, while also satisfying Hitchcock scholars by representing the rich variety of critical responses to the director's films over the years. ...
Selected book titles
After Hitchcock: influence, imitation, and intertextuality by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780292713383Alfred Hitchcock is arguably the most famous director to have ever made a film. Almost single-handedly he turned the suspense thriller into one of the most popular film genres of all time, while his Psycho updated the horror film and inspired two generations of directors to imitate and adapt this most Hitchcockian of movies. Yet while much scholarly and popular attention has focused on the director's oeuvre, until now there has been no extensive study of how Alfred Hitchcock's films and methods have affected and transformed the history of the film medium. ...
Everything you always wanted to know about Lacan (but were afraid to ask Hitchcock) by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .H58 E9 2010ISBN: 9781844676217Publication Date: 2nd ed.The contributors bring to bear an unrivaled enthusiasm and theoretical sweep on the entire Hitchcock oeuvre, analyzing movies such as Rear Window and Psycho. Starting from the premise that 'everything has meaning,' the authors examine the films' ostensible narrative content and formal procedures to discover a rich proliferation of hidden ideological and psychic mechanisms. But Hitchcock is also a bait to lure the reader into a serious Marxist and Lacanian exploration of the construction of meaning. ...
Hitchcock's music by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780300110500For half a century Alfred Hitchcock created films full of gripping and memorable music. Over his long career he presided over more musical styles than any director in history and ultimately changed how we think about film music. This book is the first to fully explore the essential role music played in the movies of Alfred Hitchcock. Based on extensive interviews with composers, writers, and actors, and research in rare archives, Jack Sullivan discusses how Hitchcock used music to influence the atmosphere, characterization, and even story lines of his films. ...
Hitchcock and twentieth-century cinema by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .H58 O77 2005ISBN: 9781904764557Hitchcock and Twentieth-Century Cinema looks at the work, influences, legacy and style of one of cinema's most famous directors. Alfred Hitchcock worked in Britain and America, in silent and sound films, and through and beyond the studio system, all the time appealing to mass audiences while employing his own distinctive style. This book examines how he was affected by German cinema, British writing, the Hays Code and his own upbringing to produce films that challenged key notions of acting, sexuality, mise-en-scène and narrative convention. ...
Hitchcock at the source: the auteur as adaptor by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781438437491Considers the ways in which Alfred Hitchcock adapted and transformed a variety of literary works--novels, plays, and short stories--into film.
Spellbound by beauty: Alfred Hitchcock and his leading ladies by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .H58 S688 2008ISBN: 9780307351302It is remarkable how infrequently, over a period of more than fifty years, Alfred Hitchcock spoke about the beautiful, legendary and talented actresses he directed. And when he did, his remarks were mostly indifferent and often hostile. But his leading ladies greatly enriched his films, even as many of them achieved international stardom precisely because of their work for Hitchcock; among the dozens of women were Madeleine Carroll, Joan Fontaine, Grace Kelly and Tippi Hedren. Yet he maintained a stony, insistent silence about the quality of their performances and their contributions to his art. ...
The women who knew too much: Hitchcock and feminist theory by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .H58 M64 2005ISBN: 9780415973625Publication Date: 2nd ed.The Women Who Knew Too Much remains a classic work in film theory and criticism. The book consists of a theoretical introduction and analyses of seven important films by Alfred Hitchcock, each of which provides a basis for an analysis of the female spectator as well as of the male spectator. ...
In his own words
Alfred Hitchcock: interviews by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .H58 A5 2003ISBN: 9781578065622Even twenty years after his death and nearly fifty or more years after his creative peak, Alfred Hitchcock (1899-1980) is still arguably the most instantly recognizable film director in name, appearance, vision, and voice. Long ago, through a combination of timing, talent, genius, energy, and publicity, he made the key transition from proper noun to adjective that confirms celebrity and true stature. It is a rare film watcher indeed who cannot define "Hitchcockian." ...Hitchcock by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998 .A3 H573 1984ISBN: 9780671526016This book is a dialogue between Francois Truffaut and Alfred Hitchcock.
Hitchcock on Hitchcock: selected writings and interviews by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780520085282Gathered here for the first time are Alfred Hitchcock's reflections on his own life and work. In this ample selection of largely unknown and formerly inaccessible interviews and essays, Hitchcock provides an enlivening commentary on a career that spanned decades and transformed the history of the cinema. Bringing the same exuberance and originality to his writing as he did to his films, he ranges from accounts of his own life and experiences to techniques of film-making and ideas about cinema in general. ...
Other library resource(s)
Alfred Hitchcock from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Alfred Hitchcock (b. 1899–d. 1980) is unquestionably one of the most well-known and important filmmakers to date. His career spanned the silent and sound eras, and although he was known primarily as a maker of suspenseful thrillers, his works also include distinctive elements of comedy, romance, melodrama, documentary, and expressionism, and reflect his lifelong interest in experimental and avant-garde filmmaking.
Alma Hitchcock: the woman behind the man by Call Number: Baker-Berry PS 3535 .E86 Z68 2003ISBN: 9780425190050Alfred Hitchcock's films are a testament to his autonomy-but there was one person whose ideas and advice he valued above all others: his wife, Alma. Who was the woman behind the most famous film director in the world? Pat Hitchcock O'Connell offers rare insight into the life and career of her mother and father, and finally reveals Alma's extraordinary contribution to the Hitchcock legacy. ...
Casting a shadow: creating the Alfred Hitchcock film by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .H58 C37 2007ISBN: 9780810124479Alfred Hitchcock is often held up as the prime example of the one-man filmmaker, conceiving and controlling all aspects of his films' development--the archetype of genius over collaboration. An exhibition at the Block Museum of Art at Northwestern University, however, put the lie to Hitchcock-as-auteur, presenting more than seventy-five sketches, designs, watercolors, paintings, and storyboards that, together, examine Hitchcock's very collaborative film-making process. ...
Looking for Alfred: [the Hitchcock castings] by Call Number: Sherman Art Library N 6973 .G756 A4 2007ISBN: 9783775720083Looking for Alfred documents Johan Grimonprez's prize-winning film of the same name, an homage to Alfred Hitchcock in the form of a search for the perfect Hitchcock doppelganger and vignettes starring those multiple would-be Hitchcocks, reenacting his cameos. ...
Article Indexes for Film
Articles about Alfred Hitchcock are in many publications. Although we do not have a journal that is dedicated to only Hitchcock, you can use the search box at the top of the page to find articles or search in Film & Television Literature Index.
Film & television literature indexCall Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Hitchcock on Television
Alfred Hitchcock presents. Season one by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #3393 discs 1 - 3ISBN: 9780783270791Master of suspense Alfred Hitchcock presents several short stories. The stories are invariably surprising, often containing elements of horror, comedy, suspense, and the supernatural. From 1955.
Alfred Hitchcock presents. Season two by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #7852ISBN: 9781417068944Alfred HItchcock, master of suspense, always started out his show with the line 'Good Evening.' Loaded with twists, turns, and things that go bump in the night, view this storyteller's classic tales with some of the biggest names in showbiz.
Alfred Hitchcock Presents: an illustrated guide to the ten year television career of the master of suspense by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.77 .A479 M39 1985ISBN: 9780312017101
A year of Hitchcock: 52 weeks with the master of suspense by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .H58 M36 2009ISBN: 9780810863880This book analyzes some 68 works directed by Hitchcock--including notable silents, all of his films from the early 1930s on, the two French propaganda shorts from WWII, and episodes of his television program--assessing his development as an artist. Each analysis is supplemented by key film facts, trivia, awards, a guide to his cameos, and a listing of available DVD releases.
Keeping up with the journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.