Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Other library resource(s)
For the love of movies: the story of American film criticism by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #10962From the raw beginnings of criticism before D.W. Griffith's 'The Birth of a Nation' to the incendiary Pauline Kael-Andrew Sarris debates of the 1960s and 70s, to the battle today between youthful on-liners and the print establishment, this documentary tells all through the insights and expertise of a diverse group of passionate film critics. Those who hear them may gain new respect for the profession of film criticism.
Feminist film theory from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Feminist theory has been foundational to the establishment and development of film studies as a discipline. Although it often gets reduced to key theoretical—primarily psychoanalytic—analyses of spectatorship from the 1970s and 1980s, it has always been and continues to be a dynamic area with many objects of focus and diverse methodological practices. The work cited here offers a sampling of this breadth, historically and topically. ...
Reviews
For online movie reviews, see the Basic Information on Film page. To find other reviews, use Film Reviews or Journals & Magazines on Film.
Scholary journal articles
Film & television literature index by Call Number: Electronic resourceCovers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
A definition for feminist film criticism
Feminist film theory (feminist film criticism)
A major area of film theory since the 1970s, focusing on gender as central to the critical and theoretical analysis of films and cinema. Taking inspiration from the burgeoning of ‘second-wave’ feminism, critical commentary on women and cinema began in earnest in the early 1970s with descriptive surveys of images and stereotypes of women in classical and contemporary Hollywood films, alongside calls for more positive representations of women in popular cinema and for more women in key positions in the film industry. Over the following decade, this body of work grew and developed alongside the establishment of film studies as a discipline, drawing on, elaborating, and even inventing, a number of conceptual and methodological approaches. During these years, several film studies journals devoted to feminist film criticism and theory were founded, the most influential being Women and Film (US, 1972–5), Camera Obscura (US, 1976– ), and Frauen und Film (Germany, 1974– ). ...
Kuhn, A., & Westwell, G. (2020). Feminist film theory. In A Dictionary of Film Studies. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 21 Apr. 2023
Searching the catalog for feminist film criticism
When searching the online catalog for film criticism, there are 3 subject headings used in this catalog and they are listed below. The subject heading film criticism has the largest collection of resources.
The books are scattered throughout the range PN 1994 through PN 1998 on Baker Level 4.
- film criticism [insert country name] historyInsert the name of a country and you find the history of film criticism for that country.
- film criticismUse this heading for scholarly critiques of film.
- "film theory"This is a title keyword search in the library's online catalog.
Introductory reading(s) on feminist film criticism
Critical dictionary of film and television theory by Call Number: Baker-Berry Ref. PN 1993.45 .C75 2001ISBN: 9780415162180The Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory clearly and accessibly explains the major theoretical approaches now deployed in the study of the moving image, as well as defining key theoretical terms. This dictionary provides readers with the conceptual apparatus to understand the often daunting language and terminology of screen studies. ...
Feminist film theorists: Laura Mulvey, Kaja Silverman, Teresa de Lauretis, Barbara Creed by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W6 C495 2006ISBN: 9780415324335Focusing on the ground-breaking work of Laura Mulvey, Kaja Silverman, Teresa de Lauretis and Barbara Creed, this book explores how, since it began in the 1970s, feminist film theory has revolutionized the way that films and their spectators can be understood. Examining the new and distinctive approaches of each of these thinkers, this book provides the most detailed account so far of their ideas. ...
Film feminisms: a global introduction by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W6 H63 2019ISBN: 9781138667907Film Feminisms offers a global and updated overview of the history, present-day concerns, and future of feminist film and theory. It introduces frameworks from phenomenology, affect theory, and psychoanalysis to reception studies, new media theories, and critical historiography, as well as engaging with key issues in documentary ethics, genre theory, and star studies. This new textbook situates feminist film theory within the larger framework of transnational scholarly approaches, as well as decolonial, queer, disability studies, and critical race theories. ...
Introduction to film criticism: major critical approaches to narrative film by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995 .B9 1989ISBN: 9780582286061This text introduces students to the principal critical techniques used since film became a major art form.
Selected books on Feminist film criticism
Chick flicks: theories and memories of the feminist film movement by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W6 R47 1998ISBN: 9780822321217If there was a moment during the sixties, seventies, or eighties that changed the history of the women's film movement, B. Ruby Rich was there. Part journalistic chronicle, part memoir, and 100% pure cultural historical odyssey, Chick Flicks--with its definitive, the-way-it-was collection of essays--captures the birth and growth of feminist film as no other book has done. ...
Cracks in the pedestal: ideology and gender in Hollywood by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W6 G74 1998ISBN: 9781558491205This book analyzes the ways in which the American film and television industry--the multifaceted, male-dominated institution known as Hollywood--has responded to the feminist cultural revolution of the past twenty-five years. The focus is on the treatment of those ideals and institutions, especially "the family," within which prevailing notions of gender and sexuality are embedded and take on active life. ...
Feminist auteurs: reading women's films by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W6 R355 2006ISBN: 9781904764694Feminist Auteurs examines a rich and diverse body of work that has received insufficient attention both in film studies and in feminist theory on film. Looking at individual films within the context of feminist film as a genre, Ramanathan examines film from diverse cultural traditions, while paying close attention to what might be regarded as feminist in different cultural contexts. The films chosen expand our ideas of feminism covering as they do film from Africa, Latin America, Europe, Asia and the US. ...
Feminist film studies: writing the woman into cinema by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W6 M368 2004ISBN: 9781904764038An introduction to feminist film theory as a discourse from the early seventies to the present. McCabe traces the broad ranging theories produced by feminist film scholarship, from formalist readings and psychoanalytical approaches to debates initiated by cultural studies, race and queer theory.
Feminist film theory: a reader by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W6 F465 1999ISBN: 9780814782446For the past twenty-five years, cinema has been a vital terrain on which feminist debates about culture, representation, and identity have been fought. This anthology charts the history of those debates, bringing together the key, classic essays in feminist film theory. Feminist Film Theory maps the impact of major theoretical developments on this growing field-from structuralism and psychoanalysis in the 1970s, to post-colonial theory, queer theory, and postmodernism in the 1990s. ...
A feminist reader in early cinema by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W6 F467 2002ISBN: 9780822329992A Feminist Reader in Early Cinema marks a new era of feminist film scholarship. The twenty essays collected here demonstrate how feminist historiographies at once alter and enrich ongoing debates over visuality and identification, authorship, stardom, and nationalist ideologies in cinema and media studies. Drawing extensively on archival research, the collection yields startling accounts of women's multiple roles as early producers, directors, writers, stars, and viewers. It also engages urgent questions about cinema's capacity for presenting a stable visual field, often at the expense of racially, sexually, or class-marked bodies. ...
A fine romance-- : five ages of film feminism by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W6 M46 1995ISBN: 9781566394017Feminist film theory will soon be a quarter of a century old. It has known the euphoria of the 1970s, experienced the contradictions of the 1980s, and glimpsed the reversals and political gains, which include women of color, of the 1990s. But, Patricia Mellencamp asks, what is the next move? In this challenging look at twenty years of feminist film theory, Mellencamp elaborates on its rich history, drawing on her personal academic life, and offering inventive readings of a remarkable variety of films: recent Hollywood releases like Forest Gump, Pulp Fiction, Thelma and Louise, Basic Instinct, and Silence of the Lambs, and features and independent films such ...
Issues in feminist film criticism by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W6 I87 1990ISBN: 9780253319647Erens brings together a wide variety of writings and methodologies by U.S. and British feminist film scholars. The twenty-seven essays represent some of the most influential work on Hollywood film, women's cinema, and documentary film-making to appear during the past decade and beyond. ...
Multiple voices in feminist film criticism by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W6 M82 1994ISBN: 9780816622733This volume offers readers a comprehensive survey of the varied contributions feminist scholars have been making to film study over the past two decades. In its scope, Multiple Voices in Feminist Film Criticism presents the range of theoretical, critical, and educational directions open to feminist students of film, and encourages readers to participate in assessing and shaping the critical context in which films are produced and received. ...
Reclaiming the archive: feminism and film history by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W6 R445 2010ISBN: 9780814333006Reclaiming the Archive: Feminism and Film History brings together a diverse group of international feminist scholars to examine the intersections of feminism, history, and feminist theory in film.
Other selected book title(s)
The body's perilous pleasures: dangerous desires and contemporary culture by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9.B62 B63 1999ISBN: 9780748609611Focusing on contemporary film and fiction, this book examines the construction of the body, both within cultural production and as a cultural product itself, and provides a provocative engagement with the cultural representation of the body and its 'dangerous desires'. Transgressive interpretations of conventional imagery merge with critical considerations of subcultural forms. ...
The cinematic text: methods and approaches by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995 .C535 1989ISBN: 9780404632038Essays on film criticism ranging from current issues and problems in feminist film criticism, to film music and a study of narrative in westerns.
Countervisions: Asian American film criticism by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .A78 C68 2000ISBN: 9781566397766Spotlighting Asian Americans on both sides of the motion picture camera, Countervisions examines the aesthetics, material circumstances, and politics of a broad spectrum of films released in the last thirty years. This anthology focuses in particular on the growing presence of Asian Americans as makers of independent films and cross-over successes. Essays of film criticism and interviews with film makers emphasize matters of cultural agency -- that is, the practices through which Asian American actors, directors, and audience members have shaped their own cinematic images. ...
Critical cinema: beyond the theory of practice by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995 .C75 2011ISBN: 9781906660376Critical Cinema: Beyond the Theory of Practice purges the obstructive line between the making of and the theorising on film, uniting theory and practice in order to move beyond the commercial confines of Hollywood. ...
The terministic screen: rhetorical perspectives on film by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1994 .T47 2003ISBN: 9780809324880The Terministic Screen: Rhetorical Perspectives on Film examines the importance of rhetoric in the study of film and film theory. Rhetorical approaches to film studies have been widely practiced, but rarely discussed until now. Taking on such issues as Hollywood blacklisting, fascistic aesthetics, and postmodern dialogics, editor David Blakesley presents fifteen critical essays that examine rhetoric's role in such popular films as The Fifth Element, The Last Temptation of Christ, The Usual Suspects, Deliverance, The English Patient, Pulp Fiction, The Music Man, Copycat, Hoop Dreams and A Time to Kill. ...
Selected film journal title(s)
/1/m_coverimage.png?Expires=1703088639&Signature=Rw4tcqTLie1wBi7Q~rdYDzJ6ZU0dAgZajt9G1~nkXD40ABRCcMQPVwkWEm7T82v7wioRu692wza42p3pw9i8kiyWzuV2B183xNDyymKn6rItQA5Va-tF45Dvb--d6Vrb55ydPypzOV6UKDXjk06a17fCgOo~pianueEC8qGErGTnmCAQD8HJ007osMcLhxvF2YyzTCXvwjnyIjtgNpF9c4KPOw8J6CgKpxKwrUD1wi4chJ~Hy5k31Az-OutEoqD0TVy12OYz0aoZXfYV9DMSapWpr9eiyXC9cK8HdAPm823PBXlD~cdpPu19fCtwtvA7-VEzf1dYAWb7kT31YoxZRw__&Key-Pair-Id=APKAIE5G5CRDK6RD3PGA)
Camera obscuraCall Number: Electronic resourceCamera Obscura provides a forum for scholarship and debate on feminism, culture, and media studies. The journal encourages contributions in areas such as the conjunctions of gender, race, class, and sexuality with audiovisual culture; new histories and theories of film, television, video, and digital media; and politically engaged approaches to a range of media practices.
Cineaction! by Call Number: Electronic journalCineAction began in 1985 as a response to the rejection of the practice of film criticism in the heyday of privileging theory in academic study. The magazine was intended to illustrate the value of criticism through a close reading of a film’s style and content. It was a process of evaluation that provided insights into the construction and meaning of a work.
Their last print issue appeared in 2016 and now they are continuing with online issues, freely available on their website.
Journal of popular film & television by Call Number: Electronic journalThe primary purpose of the Journal of Popular Film and Television is to provide a representative cross section of critical-cultural perspectives and to broaden the existing literature to include the “public visions” of popular filmmakers and television showrunners, economic and industrial factors, and an emphasis on the complex role of audiences in the development of film and television as art forms and wide-reaching socio-cultural forces.
Jump cut: a review of contemporary mediaCall Number: Electronic journalJump Cut: A Review of Contemporary Media is an Open Access journal run on a nonprofit basis by its staff and is not affiliated with or supported by any institution. It analyzes media in relation to class, race, and gender.
New review of film and television studies by Call Number: Electronic resourceNew Review of Film and Television Studies publishes peer-reviewed research on the theory, history, aesthetics, and politics of expressive screen culture. NRFTS welcomes articles on digital, sound, video, and web-based media.
Screen: the journal of the Society for Education in Film and TelevisionCall Number: Electronic journalScreen is the leading international journal of academic film and television studies. From video art to popular television, from Hollywood to Hong Kong, from art cinema to British film finance, Screen authors cover a wide range of issues, both contemporary and historical, from a variety of disciplinary perspectives. ...
