Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
In the Library's collections
Most of the books on films are located in the call number range PN 1993 through PN 1999 on Baker Level 4.
Books about specific actors are located in the sections PN 2285 through PN 2287 on the same level.
Books by and about screen writers are located in the PA's through PT's depending on the home country of the writer. Do a subject or author search for the writer to see where their works are located.
- For example, Alan Ball wrote the screenplay for American Beauty.
- A copy of the shooting script is located at PN 1997 .A3425 1999.
- However, one of his plays, 5 Women Wearing the Same Dress is located at PS 3552 .A4543 F58 1993.
Searching the online catalog
You can use one of the following subject headings to start your search:
- motion picturesThis is the subject heading used in the online catalog for all works about film including film as art, editing, plots and production.
- cinematographyThis heading is used for the technical aspects of movies and their projection unto a screen.
- video recordingThis heading is used for making video recordings.
- ... in motion picturesIf you want to see how a theme is handle in movies, you put the word in front of "in motion pictures." An example is "sex in motion pictures."
- film criticismUse this heading for scholarly critiques of film.
A short list of books about movies
All about the movies: a handbook for the movie-loving layman by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1994 .R28 2000ISBN: 9780810837911Movies are a passion shared by people of all ages and backgrounds. From 30 years of experience, Maurice Rapf assembles the essential information every movie lover should know. Not to be read as an all-inclusive guide, this work can be seen instead as a launching-point for a deeper appreciation of the movies.
Becoming film literate: the art and craft of motion pictures by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1994 .L595 2005ISBN: 9780275981440Though movies have remained our foremost cultural pastime for over 100 years, many of us still know very little about the tools used to create them. In this groundbreaking new book, Vincent LoBrutto provides an enjoyable and accessible education in the art of cinema: using 50 landmark films spanning the history of the medium, LoBrutto illustrates such important concepts as editing, production design, cinematography, sound, screen acting, narrative structure, and various genres, nationalities, and film eras. ...
Film analysis: a Norton reader by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0393979830Publication Date: 1st ed.Written with undergraduate readers in mind, these essays cover the central issues raised in today's cinema courses and provide students with practical models to help them improve their own writing and film-analysis skills. Film Analysis also includes a helpful introduction and an extensive glossary.
Film genre reader IV by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995 .F457933 2012ISBN: 9780292742079The Film Genre Reader is the standard reference and classroom text for the study of genre in film. This fourth edition adds new essays on genre definition and cycles, action movies, science fiction, and heritage films, along with a comprehensive and updated bibliography. ...
The greatest movies you'll never see: unseen masterpieces by the world's greatest directors by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995 .G66967 2013ISBN: 9781844037742From Hitchcock and Dali to Peckinpah and Lynch, cinema history is littered with masterpieces that have never seen the light of day. Now, The Greatest Movies You'll Never See unveils the fascinating - and frequently heart-breaking - stories of these projects' faltering steps from green light to movie graveyard. Opening at the dawn of contemporary cinema with Charlie Chaplin's Return from St. Helena, and closing with the collapse of Tony Scott's Potsdamer Platz, following the director's suicide in 2012, this riveting compendium of celluloid 'what ifs' goes behind the scenes of more than fifty 'lost' films to explain exactly why they never made it to the final cut. ...
Great flicks: scientific studies of cinematic creativity and aesthetics by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995 .S498 2010ISBN: 9780199752034What does it take to make a great motion picture? What do we even mean by cinematic greatness? What is more important: movie awards, critical acclaim, or box office success? Who has the biggest impact: the writer, the director, or the actors? Scientific research has provided some provocative answers. This review of cinematic creativity and aesthetics is confined to scientific studies carried out by a multidisciplinary group of researchers. Do great films receive both shiny trophies and five stars? ...
Guiltless pleasures: a David Sterritt film reader by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1994 .S816 2005ISBN: 9781578067800Sterritt's sharp eye for telling detail and deep understanding of cinema and its history make his work appealing to scholars and lay audiences. Guiltless Pleasures: A David Sterritt Film Reader collects his most incisive essays from 1970 to the present. The collection emphasizes films and filmmakers that are often overlooked or undervalued because they stray from ordinary norms of commercial cinema. ...
Minding movies: observations on the art, craft, and business of filmmaking by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1994 .M529 2011ISBN: 9780226066998Minding Movies presents a selection from over three hundred essays on genre movies, art films, animation, and the business of Hollywood that have graced Bordwell and Thompson's blog. Informal pieces, conversational in tone but grounded in three decades of authoritative research, the essays gathered here range from in-depth analyses of individual films such as Slumdog Millionaire and Inglourious Basterds to adjustments of Hollywood media claims and forays into cinematic humor. ...
Silent cinema: a guide to study, research and curatorship by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.75 .C4613 2019ISBN: 9781844575282Publication Date: 3rd ed.Paolo Cherchi Usai provides a comprehensive introduction to the study, research and preservation of silent cinema from its heyday in the early 20th century to its present day flourishing. He traces the history of the moving image in its formative years, from Edison's and Lumière's first experiments to the dawn of 'talkies'; provides a clear guide to the basics of silent film technology; introduces the technical and creative roles involved in its production, and presents silent cinema as a performance event, rather than a passive viewing experience. ...
Bibliographies on film studies
A bibliography is a compilation of resources on a topic. The bibliography can be comprehensive or selective. A comprehensive bibliography tries to find every resource on the topic ever produced. A selective one tries to find the most important and informative resources. The library collection contains a number of bibliographies on motion pictures and film studies. You can use the subject search below to find the items.