Research Guides: Philosophy: Bioethics

Bioethics Indexes

PubMed
The primary index to the bioethics journal literature.
Kennedy Institute of Ethics at Georgetown
The Institute provides online access to ETHXWeb and GenETHX for articles in the popular and academic literature dealing with bioethics and ethical and policy issues in genetics.
Philosopher's Index
A bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.
PhilPapers
A comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. Incorporates references from the Philosophy Research Index.
Islamic Medical and Scientific Ethics
A bibliography of journal, magazine, and book articles on Islamic bioethics. Produced by the Library of the Kennedy Institute of Ethics at Georgetown University.

Bioethics (4th ed.)
The best encyclopedia on bioethics, with signed articles and bibliography.
International Encyclopedia of Ethics
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics (2nd ed.)
Hastings Center Bioethics Briefings
Survey articles for non-specialists on major issues in bioethics.

BioNews
Focuses on reproductive bioethics. Sections on News, Peer Commentary, and updates on recurring issues.
Bioethics.net
Links to the American Journal of Bioethics, bioethics blogs, podcasts, recent news stories, commentary, and more.
Hastings Center
An independent, nonpartisan, bioethics research institute.
Nuffield Council on Bioethics
This bioethics council in the UK features downloadable reports on bioethical issues.
Pew Forum Resources on Religion & Bioethics
Pew Forum Resources on Abortion
The Pew forum on Religion & Public Life makes a number of reports available on the attitudes of Americans on abortion.
American Medical Association Ethics Page
This site has links to the AMA Code of Medical Ethics, the Virtual Mentor (Ethics Journal of the AMA), an Ethics Resource Center (Educational Resources, Outreach Programs and Products, and End-of-Life Care) and more.
Codes of Ethics Online
Made available by the Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions and the Illinois Institute of Technology.