Subject Librarian
Key Legal Resources
-
WestlawProvides search interfaces to cases, statutes and legislative materials, and encyclopedias; legal guides on various topics; famous documents; and pre-law topics.
-
Lexis Nexis AcademicUse the Search By Subject or Topic menu above the "Search" button to select legal resources.
The legal reference section includes American Jurisprudence 2d ed. and Balentine's Law Dictionary. -
Hein OnlineLaw journals, the Statutes at Large, editions of the U.S. Code, Supreme Court decisions, the Code of Federal Regulations, and more. All documents are available as PDFs.
-
Dictionary of Modern Legal Usage (online)Baker Berry Ref. KF156 .G367 1995
-
Ballentine's Law Dictionary Online (3rd. ed.)Available online through Lexis Nexis Academic.
-
Dictionary of LawEmphasis on English and European law.
-
Black's Law Dictionary Online (via WestlawNext)Print version also available: Baker-Berry Reference KF156 .B53
-
U.S. Supreme Court Oral ArgumentsTranscripts of oral arguments before the Court starting in 2000.
-
Oyez ProjectMakes recordings of oral arguments before the U.S. Supreme Court available online.
-
Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions (2nd ed.)A useful guide for identifying Supreme Court cases on a topic.
-
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowBills, laws, hearing transcripts, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Code, Statutes at Large, and more.
-
CQ Press Electronic LibraryThorough overviews of political and social issues; great resources for researching persuasive speeches.
-
Basic Legal Citation (Cornell)Use the left navigation bar for examples of how to cite court cases, law review articles, and more. It also provides brief screencast tutorials on the basics of legal citation.