Subject Librarian
Key Resources
- Philosopher's IndexA bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.
- PhilPapersA comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. Incorporates references from the Philosophy Research Index.
- L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new windowFor ancient philosophy. Interface is in English.
- PhilSci ArchiveArticles on the philosophy of science sponsored by the Philosophy of Science Association.
- Humanities & Social Sciences IndexProvides coverage of major philosophy journals from 1907 to the present.
- Periodicals Index Online"...an archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 300 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas."
- Oxford Reference Online: PhilosophyIncludes a wide range of online reference works on philosophy published by Oxford University Press.
- Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy (2nd ed.)The 3rd edition is only available in print: Baker-Berry Ref. B41 .C35 2015
- Oxford Companion to Philosophy (2nd ed.)Provides brief introductions with bibliography on a wide range of philosophical topics - more in-depth than a dictionary, but less extensive than an encyclopedia.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyEach entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.
- Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd ed.)Signed articles with bibliography on "major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts..."
- History of Philosophy Without Any GapsPeter Adamson (King's College London) hosts these podcasts. Print volumes are also available.
- New Dictionary of the History of IdeasTraces the historical treatment of topics.
