Finding relevant resources on Radio Studies
Books about Radio tend to sit just before Television in the stacks. The following call numbers will lead you to most of the books about Radio and Radio broadcasting in the collection.
Books on the Radio broadcasting industry are in the call number range HE 8690 through HE 8699 on Berry Level 3.
Books about what is actually broadcast, its history and criticism are shelved in PN 1991 through PN 1991.9 on Baker Level 4.
Books on the more technical aspects of radio transmissions and broadcasting are shelved in TK 6540 through TK 6571.5 on Berry Level 4.
The following subject headings below will help you search. Note: the subject heading "radio broadcasting" applies to the industry while the subject heading "radio programs" refers to what is actually broadcast on the air.
A bibliography is a "list of writings relating to a given subject." Bibliographies can be very useful in helping you see what people have written about and how much they have written on that subject. It can also be a starting point for more in-depth research. Take advantage of someone else's work!
- Media log: a guide to film, television, and radio programs byCall Number: Electronic documentA brief narrative description of the journal article, document, or resource. This guide describes more than 800 film, television, and radio productions developed with the support of the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH).
- Published radio, television, and film scripts: a bibliography byCall Number: Baker-Berry Ref. Z 5784 .M9 P683 1975
Radio: a reference guide by Call Number: Baker-Berry Z 7224 .U6 G74 1989ISBN: 9780313222764The purpose of this work is to provide scholars and students of popular culture with an evaluative survey of research materials about radio. . . . An interesting introduction provides an overview of radio's history in the U.S. The bibliographic essays throughout the work will hold the attention of readers and cover topics such as networks and station histories, radio drama, news, music, comedy and variety, and sports. ...
Television series and specials scripts, 1946-1992: a catalog of the American Radio Archives collection by Call Number: Baker-Berry Z 7713 .S47 T56 2009ISBN: 9780786433483In the early days of television, many of its actors, writers, producers and directors came from radio. This crossover endowed the American Radio Archives with a treasure trove of television documents. The collected scripts span more than 40 years of American television history, from live broadcasts of the 1940s to the late 1980s. They also cover the entire spectrum of television entertainment programming, including comedies, soap operas, dramas, westerns, and crime series. ...
Beyond powerful radio: a communicator's guide to the internet age : news, talk, information & personality for broadcasting, podcasting, internet, radio by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780240522241Beyond Powerful Radio is a complete guide to becoming a powerful broadcast communicator on radio or internet! This how-to cookbook is for broadcasters who want to learn the craft and improve.
Broadcasting in the modernist era by Call Number: Baker-Berry PR 478 .M37 B76 2014ISBN: 9781472512482The era of literary modernism coincided with a dramatic expansion of broadcast media throughout Europe, which challenged avant-garde writers with new modes of writing and provided them with a global audience for their work. ...
The classic serial on television and radio by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.3 .G7 G44 2001ISBN: 9780333713884The classic serial, invented by BBC Radio Drama sixty years ago, survived and adapted itself to television, the arrival of colour and the global market in what has become a flood of classics with all channels competing for ratings and overseas sales. This richly detailed book traces these developments and analyses the genre's response to social, economic, technical and cultural changes, which have re-shaped it into the form we recognise today. The book contains considerable interview material with performers and media professionals.
New media and popular imagination: launching radio, television, and digital media in the United States by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.3 .U5 B65 2004ISBN: 9780198711469New Media and Popular Imagination places the current technological upheaval in audio-visual culture in the context of previous periods of twentieth-century media innovation. Examining popular and industry responses to the introduction of radio, television, and digital media into the home, the book underscores the continuities and disjunctions in the ways in which electronic media have been anticipated, promoted, and resisted in twentieth-century America.- The Radio's golden years: encyclopedia of radio programs, 1930-1960 byCall Number: Baker-Berry PN 1991.3 .U6 T47ISBN: 9780498023934
The radio handbook by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780429276637Publication Date: 4th ed.The fourth edition of The Radio Handbook is a comprehensive guide to the medium of radio and the radio industry in the UK. Featuring new chapters on social media and podcasting, this book offers a thorough breakdown of the knowledge and skills needed to work within the contemporary radio industry. ...
Radio modernism: literature, ethics, and the BBC, 1922-1938 by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1991.3 .G7 A94 2006ISBN: 9780754655176Radio Modernism marries the fields of radio studies and modernist cultural historiography to the recent 'ethical turn' in literary and cultural studies to examine how representative British writers negotiated the moral imperative for public service broadcasting that was crafted, embraced, and implemented by the BBC's founders and early administrators. Weaving together the institutional history of the BBC and developments in ethical philosophy as mediated and forged by writers such as T. S. Eliot, H. G. Wells, E. M. Forster, and Virginia Woolf, Todd Avery shows how these and other prominent authors' involvement with radio helped to shape the ethical contours of literary modernism. ...
Radio program openings and closings, 1931-1972 by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1991.3 .U6 T44 2003ISBN: 9780786414857The openings and closings to radio programs of all types, from comedies (Blondie, The Jack Benny Program, Lum and Abner) to mysteries (Inner Sanctum Mysteries, The Black Chapel) to game shows (Can You Top This?, Truth or Consequences) to serials (Second Husband, Bachelor's Children) to crime dramas (The Falcon, Eno Crime Clues, The Green Hornet, Mr. and Mrs. North) to westerns (Gunsmoke, Wild Bill Hickok, Hawk Larabee) that were aired between 1931 and 1972, are included in this work. ...
Science on the air: popularizers and personalities on radio and early television by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780226467597Mr. Wizard's World. Bill Nye the Science Guy. NPR's Science Friday. These popular television and radio programs broadcast science into the homes of millions of viewers and listeners. But these modern series owe much of their success to the pioneering efforts of early-twentieth-century science shows like Adventures in Science and Our Friend the Atom. Science on the Air is the fascinating history of the evolution of popular science in the first decades of the broadcasting era. Marcel Chotkowski LaFollette transports readers to the early days of radio, when the new medium allowed innovative and optimistic scientists the opportunity to broadcast serious and dignified presentations over the airwaves. ...- Tune in yesterday: the ultimate encyclopedia of old-time radio, 1925-1976 byCall Number: Baker-Berry PN 1991.3 .U6 D8 1976ISBN: 9780139326165
Empire of the air: the men who made radio by Call Number: Streaming videoISBN: 9780780640573Story of radio from 1906-1955 and the three men who made it happen: Lee de Forest, Edwin Howard Armstrong, and David Sarnoff. It combines archival photographs, newsreels of the period, interviews, and radio soundtrack.- Radio: out of thin air byCall Number: Jones Media DVD #8761A telling of the story of the dawn of the electronics age, when the wireless was a stunning phenomenon. The viewer is introduced to the men who took the work that had been done on the telegraph to the next step, the radio. Several original broadcasts are included. Late 20th century radio personalities, Casey Kasem and Larry King, explore the unique qualities of the medium, and reflect on its current renaissance. Historians explore the dramatic and lasting changes that the coming of the radio made on society.
Radio and sound studies from Oxford Bibliiographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286“Radio studies” is a relatively recent term used to signal the explosive growth in scholarship on the medium that has developed as part of a larger interest in sound media and audio culture across the arts and humanities since the 2000s. However, scholarly studies of radio are by no means unique to the new millennium, extending back to the very earliest years of the medium. ...
Radio studies from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Communication by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199756841The field of radio studies has undergone something of a resurgence in recent years. More radio is taught at universities and colleges than ever before, and the past three decades have witnessed growing numbers of scholarly works devoted to radio research while more journals now publish articles on radio. The emergence of two journals devoted entirely to radio research, the Journal of Radio Studies in the United States in 1991 and the United Kingdom’s Radio Journal in 2003, is both an indicator and consequence of this renewal. ...
