Research Guides: Remote Sensing: Imagery

Finding remote sensing imagery

In the Library's collection
Internet resources for imagery

You can find satellite imagery in print throughout the Library's collections. The subject search below provides a list of resources which contain printed images.

remote sensing images
This search returns mostly books containing remote sensing images.

Africa's lakes: atlas of our changing environment by UN Environment Programme
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9789280726947

The dramatic and, in some cases damaging environmental changes sweeping Africa's lakes are brought into sharp focus in a new atlas. Produced by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), the Atlas of African Lakes compares and contrasts spectacular satellite images of the past few decades with contemporary ones. The Atlas covers the rapid shrinking of Lake Songor in Ghana, partly as a result of intensive salt production, and the extraordinary changes in the Zambezi river system as a result of the building of the Cabora Basa dam site, beside more familiar images of the near 90 per cent shrinkage of Lake Chad. ...
Analyzing environmental trends using satellite data: selected cases by United Nations Environment Programme
Call Number: Baker-Berry G 70.4 .A63 2004

ISBN: 9789280725131

This publication contains a number of case studies with satellite data taken over various time periods to give environmental assessments and early warning information about the potential consequences of development planning both for humans and the natural environment. The case studies cover: the Itaipâ Dam and Iguazâ River; Papua (Irian Jaya) in Indonesia; Lake Chad; Atatèrk Dam and Harran Plain; and the Sundarbans.
Atlas of the State of Kuwait from satellite images = Atlas dawlat al-Kuwayt min al-ṣuwwar al-faḍāiyāh by Farouk El-Baz and Mohammad Al-Sarawi, eds.
Call Number: Library Depository G 2249.91.A43 A853 2000

Aerial photographs, maps, and satellite images with descriptive text.
From Cape Cod to the Bay of Fundy: an environmental atlas of the Gulf of Maine by Philip W. Conkling, ed.
Call Number: Library Depository QH 105.M2 F76 1995

ISBN: 9780262032278
Various county, NH: compressed county images by United States. Farm Service Agency
Call Number: Evans Map Room DVD-ROM G 3741.A4 2004 .U5

Contains a set of imagery as well as a set of lines and/or polygons used to create compressed county mosaics of Coos, Carroll, and Grafton counties generated by the 2003 and 2004 National Agricultural Imagery Programs.
Yosemite National Park area satellite images
Call Number: Evans Map Room CD-ROM G 4362.Y6A43 2000 .Y672

Landsat images of Yosemite National Park
[Breidamerkurjökull, south east Iceland aerial photos]
Call Number: Evans Map Room G 6932.B6 A43 1998 .B7

Photographed Aug. 28, 1998, altitude 4600 meters.

Copernicus Open Access Hub
The Open Access Hub provides complete, free and open access to Sentinel-1, Sentinel-2 and Sentinel-3 user products.
CropSpace Geospatial Data Service
A cropland exploration tool.
The Digital Coast from NOAA
The Digital Coast was developed to meet the unique needs of the coastal management community. This site provides not only coastal data, but also the tools, training, and information needed to make these data truly useful. Content comes from many sources, all of which are vetted by NOAA. Data sets range from economic data to satellite imagery. The site contains visualization tools, predictive tools, and tools that make data easier to find and use.
Earth as Art Gallery
In addition to their scientific value, many satellite images are simply intriguing to look at. Satellites capture an incredible variety of views of Earth. See the mesmerizing beauty of river deltas, mountains, and other sandy, salty, and icy landscapes. ...
EarthExplorer
EarthExplorer provides online search, browse display, metadata export, and data download for earth science data from the archives of the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS).
EOSDIS Worldview
NASA's EOSDIS provides the capability to interactively browse over 900 global, full-resolution satellite imagery layers and then download the underlying data. Many of the imagery layers are updated daily and are available within three hours of observation - essentially showing the entire Earth as it looks "right now". This supports time-critical application areas such as wildfire management, air quality measurements, and flood monitoring. Arctic and Antarctic views of many products are also available for a "full globe" perspective.
EROS Image Gallery
Various collections of Landsat Images from the USGS.
FAO GeoNetwork
The FAO GeoNetwork provides Internet access to interactive maps, satellite imagery and related spatial databases maintained by the FAO and its partners. Its purpose is to improve access to and integrated use of spatial data and information.
GeoGratis
This is Canada's site for topographic information containing maps, applications, tools and data.
Geospatial Enterprise Operations (GEO)
Geospatial Enterprise Operations serves the Farm Production and Conservation (FPAC) Mission Area with best-in-class innovative customer-focused geospatial information and solutions that are accessible, current, and authoritative.
Global Map Data archives
Global Map is fundamental digital geospatial information covering the whole land of the globe. It was an effort central to the Global Mapping Project. Global Map data were developed under the cooperation of National Geospatial Information Authorities (NGIAs) of respective countries and regions. The project has now folded into UNEP.
GloVis
The USGS Global Visualization Viewer (GloVis) is a quick and easy online search and order tool for selected satellite and aerial data. GloVis Next is the new generation of GloVis. GloVis will be retired in 2017.
IPUMS Terra
IPUMS Terra provides global-scale data on human population characteristics, land use, land cover, climate and other environmental characteristics. It makes these data interoperable across time and space, disseminates them to the public and to multiple research communities, and preserves these precious resources for future generations.
Landsat Missions
Landsat represents the world's longest continuously acquired collection of space-based moderate-resolution land remote sensing data.
MODIS Mosaic of Antarctica (MOA) Image Map
"Staff from the National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC) and the University of New Hampshire have assembled a digital image map and a snow-grain-size image of the Antarctic continent and surrounding islands."
NASA Earth Observation
Their mission is to help you picture climate and environmental changes as they occur on our home planet. You can browse and download imagery of satellite data from NASA's constellation of Earth Observing System satellites. There are over 50 different global datasets represented with daily, weekly, and monthly snapshots, and images are available in a variety of formats including JPEG, PNG, Google Earth, and GeoTIFF.
NOAA CLASS
The Comprehensive Large Array-data Stewardship System (CLASS) is an electronic library of NOAA environmental data.
Open Aerial Map
OpenAerialMap (OAM) is a set of tools for searching, sharing, and using openly licensed satellite and unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) imagery.
SRTM 90m Digital Elevation Data
This is version 4 for the NASA Shuttle Radar Topographic Mission (SRTM). The data from this site is seamless.
USGS National Land Imaging Program (NLI)
The fundamental goal of the NLI Program is to provide the Federal Government and the public with a primary source of remotely sensed data and applications and to be a leader in defining the future of land remote sensing, nationally and internationally.