Online Resources
- Probability SamplingPart of the Research Methods Knowledge Base, by William M. K. Trochim, 2006, from the Web Center for Social Research Methods.
- Questionnaire DesignFrom Pew Research Center.
- Sample Size CalculatorFrom Creative Research Systems.
- Survey Design Best Practices: How to Write a Good QuestionnaireFrom My Market Research Methods.
- Survey ResearchPart of the Research Methods Knowledge Base, by William M. K. Trochim, 2006, from the Web Center for Social Research Methods.
Books on Designing Health Surveys
APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology by
This three-volume handbook is a comprehensive presentation of the theory and application of tests in psychology and education. It begins with an in-depth portrayal of psychometrics: the quantitative underpinning of testing. It then provides thorough, up-to-date and informative chapters related to five general application areas of testing: industrial/organisational psychology clinical psychology (including health psychology) counselling psychology school psychology educational testing In each of these five areas, this handbook is probably the most comprehensive review of the use of testing and assessment in the subfield.
Call Number: Baker Berry BF176 .A63 2013ISBN: 9781433812279Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Handbook of Health Survey Methods by
A comprehensive guidebook to the current methodologies and practices used in health surveys A unique and self-contained resource, Handbook of Health Survey Methods presents techniques necessary for confronting challenges that are specific to health survey research. The handbook guides readers through the development of sample designs, data collection procedures, and analytic methods for studies aimed at gathering health information on general and targeted populations. The book is organized into five well-defined sections: Design and Sampling Issues, Measurement Issues, Field Issues, Health Surveys of Special Populations, and Data Management and Analysis. Maintaining an easy-to-follow format, each chapter begins with an introduction, followed by an overview of the main concepts, theories, and applications associated with each topic. Finally, each chapter provides connections to relevant online resources for additional study and reference. The Handbook of Health Survey Methods features: 29 methodological chapters written by highly qualified experts in academia, research, and industry A treatment of the best statistical practices and specific methodologies for collecting data from special populations such as sexual minorities, persons with disabilities, patients, and practitioners Discussions on issues specific to health research including developing physical health and mental health measures, collecting information on sensitive topics, sampling for clinical trials, collecting biospecimens, working with proxy respondents, and linking health data to administrative and other external data sources Numerous real-world examples from the latest research in the fields of public health, biomedicine, and health psychology Handbook of Health Survey Methods is an ideal reference for academics, researchers, and practitioners who apply survey methods and analyze data in the fields of biomedicine, public health, epidemiology, and biostatistics. The handbook is also a useful supplement for upper-undergraduate and graduate-level courses on survey methodology.
Call Number: Matthews Fuller RA408.5 .H36 2015ISBN: 1118594606Publication Date: 2014-10-29
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research, Volume 1 by
One of the key challenges of all types of practice and research is finding a way to measure the problem. This seminal 2-volume book contains hundreds of the most useful measurement tools for use in clinical practice and in research. All measures are critiqued by the editors, who provideguidance on how to select and score them and the actual measures are wholly reproduced.This first volume, focusing on measures for use with couples, families, and children, includes an introduction to the basic priniciples of measurement, an overview of different types of measures, and an overview of the Rapid Assessment Inventories included herein. Volume I also contains descriptionsand reviews of each instrument, as well as information on how they were selected and how to administer and score them.This book is designed as the definitive reference volume on assessment measures for both practice and research in clinical mental health. This fifth edition of Corcoran and Fischer's Measures for Clinical Practice and Research is updated with a new preface, new scales, and updated information forexisting instruments, expanding and cementing its utility for members of all the helping professions, including psychology, social work, psychiatry, counseling, nursing, and medicine.Alone or as a set, these classic compendiums are powerful tools that clinicians and researchers alike will find an invaluable addition to - or update of - their libraries.
Call Number: BF176 .C66 2013ISBN: 0199778582Publication Date: 2013-08-01
General Survey Design Books
The Oxford Handbook of Polling and Survey Methods by
The methodologies used to study public opinion are now in flux. The primary polling method of the last half-century, the telephone survey, is rapidly becoming obsolete as a data collection method. At the same time, new methods of contacting potential respondents and obtaining their responseare appearing, providing a variety of options for scholars and practitioners. Generally speaking, we are moving from a polling world that was largely interviewer driven over the phone and face-to-face to predominantly interviewer driven self-administered poll environments, New methods of datacollection, however, must still deal with fundamental questions to polling methodology and total survey error including sampling, selection bias, non-response error, poststratification weighting, and questionnaire design features.The Oxford Handbook on Polling and Survey Methods brings together a unique mixture of academics and practitioners, from various backgrounds, academic disciplines, and experiences. In some sense, this is reflective of the interdisciplinary nature of the polling and survey industry: polls and surveysare widely used in academia, government, and the private sector. Designing, implementing, and analyzing high quality, accurate, and cost-effective polls and surveys requires a combination of skills and methodological perspectives. Despite the well-publicized issues that have cropped up in recentpolitical polling, a great deal is known today about how to collect high quality polling and survey data even in complex and difficult environments. Divided into four main sections, the Handbook draws on the existing research and explores data collection methods. It then addresses data analysis andthe methods available for combining polling data with other types of data. The next section covers analytic issues, including the new approaches to studying public opinion (ie social media, the analysis of open-ended questions using text analytic tools, and data imputation). The final sectionfocuses on the presentation of polling results, an area where there is a great deal of innovation.A comprehensive overview of the topic, this volume highlights current polling trends provides ideas for the development of new and better approaches for measuring, modeling, and visualizing public opinion and social behavior.
Call Number: Baker-Berry Library HM1236 .O945 2018ISBN: 9780190213299Publication Date: 2018-08-22
Survey Research Methods by
The Fifth Edition of Floyd J. Fowler Jr.'s bestselling Survey Research Methods presents the very latest methodological knowledge on surveys. Offering a sound basis for evaluating how each aspect of a survey can affect its precision, accuracy, and credibility, the book guides readers through each step of the survey research process. This fully updated edition addresses the growth of the Internet for data collection and the subsequent rapid expansion of online survey usage, the precipitous drop in response rates for telephone surveys, the continued improvement in techniques for pre-survey evaluation of questions, and the growing role of individual cell phones in addition to--and often instead of--household landlines. Throughout the book, the author puts the profound changes taking place in the survey research world today into perspective, helping researchers learn how to best use new and traditional options for collecting data.
Call Number: Matthews Fuller HN29 .F68 2014ISBN: 9781452259000Publication Date: 2013-09-18
Assessing the Quality of Survey Data by
This is a book for any researcher using any kind of survey data. It introduces the latest methods of assessing the quality and validity of such data by providing new ways of interpreting variation and measuring error. By practically and accessibly demonstrating these techniques, especially those derived from Multiple Correspondence Analysis, the authors develop screening procedures to search for variation in observed responses that do not correspond with actual differences between respondents. Using well-known international data sets, the authors exemplify how to detect all manner of non-substantive variation having sources such as a variety of response styles including acquiescence, respondents′ failure to understand questions, inadequate field work standards, interview fatigue, and even the manufacture of (partly) faked interviews.
Call Number: Feldberg HM538 B.57 2012ISBN: 9781849203326Publication Date: 2012-03-06
Designing and Doing Survey Research by
Designing and Doing Survey Research is an introduction to the processes and methods of planning and conducting survey research in the real world. Taking a mixed method approach throughout, the book provides step-by-step guidance on: * Designing your research * Ethical issues * Developing your survey questions * Sampling * Budgeting, scheduling and managing your time * Administering your survey * Preparing for data analysis With a focus on the impact of new technologies, this book provides a cutting-edge look at how survey research is conducted today as well as the challenges survey researchers face. Packed full of international examples from various social science disciplines, the book is ideal for students and researchers new to survey research.
Call Number: Feldberg HA31.2 .A5195 2012ISBN: 9781849208130Publication Date: 2012-04-05
Methods for Testing and Evaluating Survey Questionnaires by
The definitive resource for survey questionnaire testing and evaluation Over the past two decades, methods for the development, evaluation, and testing of survey questionnaires have undergone radical change. Research has now begun to identify the strengths and weaknesses of various testing and evaluation methods, as well as to estimate the methods' reliability and validity. Expanding and adding to the research presented at the International Conference on Questionnaire Development, Evaluation and Testing Methods, this title presents the most up-to-date knowledge in this burgeoning field. The only book dedicated to the evaluation and testing of survey questionnaires, this practical reference work brings together the expertise of over fifty leading, international researchers from a broad range of fields. The volume is divided into seven sections: Cognitive interviews Mode of administration Supplements to conventional pretests Special populations Experiments Multi-method applications Statistical modeling Comprehensive and carefully edited, this groundbreaking text offers researchers a solid foundation in the latest developments in testing and evaluating survey questionnaires, as well as a thorough introduction to emerging techniques and technologies.
Call Number: Baker-Berry HM538 .M48 2004ISBN: 0471458414Publication Date: 2004-06-23
Overcoming Survey Research Problems by
Paper and electronic surveys of students and faculty have become increasingly popular in higher education research and are now used in almost all facets of assessment and planning. Yet as the demand for survey research has increased, survey response rates have been falling. Low response rates are problematic because they can call into question the validity of the results, as well as increase survey administration costs. This volume examines an array of survey research problems and best practices, with the aim of providing readers with ways to increase response rates while controlling costs. Many institutional researchers face additional demands such as administering multiple surveys over time, or administering surveys on sensitive subjects such as student alcohol or drug use. New technologies for survey administration also provide many different options. This volume discusses these issues in terms of the survey research literature as well as the experiences of practitioners in the field. This is the 121st volume of the higher education quarterly journal New Directions for Institutional Research.
Call Number: Baker-Berry LB2326.3 .O83 2004ISBN: 0787974773Publication Date: 2004-04-10
