Skip to Main Content

Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies: Getting Started

A guide to library resources for doing research in women's, gender, and sexuality studies. You'll find indexes to the popular and scholarly literature, as well as film, images, statistics, and research databases.

Reference Sources

Items in the Reference collection -- particularly subject encyclopedias -- are great starting points for your research. Encyclopedia articles offer concise overviews of a topic, summaries of key research in a particular discipline, and often include a bibliography which can serve as a starting list of sources for your project.

Suggested Sources

online encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Gender in Media
Encyclopedia of sex and gender : culture society history
The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History by Howard Chiang
International Encyclopedia of Human Sexuality
International Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities
note that Dartmouth's license allows for only one user at a time
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (2nd edition)
This massive, broad-coverage work is great for in-depth overviews - particularly social theory.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies
Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies

Last Updated: Mar 20, 2025 7:19 PM
URL: https://researchguides.dartmouth.edu/wgst
Print Page

Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies

Tags: Area & Cultural Studies, WGSS, wgst