Research Guides: Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies: Statistics & Research Databases

Archival collections online

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940
Enormous compilation drawn from archives worldwide
Digital Transgender Archive
International, multi-institutional project based at Northeastern University

Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1543-1945
Collection of books, periodicals and pamphlets on women's issues, begun by Aletta Jacobs Gerritsen in the late 1800's. Includes over 4,000 titles, primarily in English, French and German, with coverage back to the 16th century.

History Project
nonprofit, volunteer-driven organization that was founded in 1980 in order to document and preserve the history of Boston's LGBTQ communities, and to share that information with the world.
Includes some early issues of Gay Community News
Independent Voices (Reveal Digital)
project to digitize alternative press magazines, journals, and newspaper archives of participating libraries

LGBT Thought and Culture
Books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.

ONE Archives @ Univ. of Southern California
In collaboration with the ONE Archives Foundation, the ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives at the USC Libraries is the largest repository of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) materials in the world.
OutHistory.org
Queer Zine Archive
Independent archive based in Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Women and social movements in the United States 1600-2000
Brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies that document the multiplicity of women's activism in American public life.

Women Writers Online
"A collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern U. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible."

Global Gender Statistics Programme (United Nations Statistics Division)
Historical statistics of the United States
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Repository for a large range of data sets. Dartmouth is a member of the consortium, so much of the data can be downloaded for use with statistical software.
Pew Research Center
From the "About Pew Research Center" page:
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.

Roper iPoll (Roper Center for Public Opinion Research)
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
Statista: the leading statistics portal
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
UNdata
search across data from the United Nations Statistics and Population Divisions as well as other United Nations agencies.

Williams Institute (UCLA Law School)
Research center on sexual orientation and gender identity law and public policy.