Film Resources
The most direct way to find films is a keyword search in our library catalog, restricting to the "Videos & DVDs" category.
Most films receive a subject heading indicating genre. There are a few documentary-related headings: “Documentary films”, “Documentary television programs”, and “Documentary-style films”.
So -- to search the catalog for documentary films on a particular topic, try a keyword search for:
documentary and [your search term], limited to the Videos & DVDs category.
Hint: broaden your search term using the wildcard (asterisk *) in order to find spelling variants
Example: documentary and global
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes selected content from almost every Alexander Street Press individual video collection, and also many other videos not in those collections. The database covers the following subject areas and more: art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, rehabilitation and sports medicine, feature films (including contemporary world cinema and silent films), psychology, religion, science, theatre, musical performance, and women's studies.
Kanopy StreamingCall Number: Streaming serviceStreaming service with extensive collection of dramatic, documentary, and educational/training films, including titles from ArtMattan Films, HBO, Frameline, BBC, National Film Board of Canada, First Run Features, PBS, New Day Films, and more...
- Screen Studies CollectionBritish and American Film Institutes' catalogs
- FolkstreamsStreaming video archive of documentary films about American folk cultures. Hosted by UNC-Chapel Hill.
- Internet Archive - Moving Image ArchiveSub-collections include "Cultural & Academic Films"
- Internet movie database This link opens in a new windowThe Internet movie database covers more than 100,000 movies and contains over a million and half filmography listings for actors, producers, directors and others associated with film making. It contains plot summaries, character names, movie ratings, years of release, movie trivia, quotes, goofs, soundtracks, production companies, distributors, special effects companies, languages, reviews, Academy Award information, plus loads of other information relating to the motion picture industry.
- RAI: ethnographic film catalogueThe Royal Anthropological Institute's Film Library & Archive. Includes brief descriptions of films (no streaming content)
Images
- Finding Images for Research & PresentationsArt Librarian Laura Graveline's guide suggests additional image resources
- JSTOR Image Search This link opens in a new windowSearch the Artstor Image Library including Dartmouth Collections & content from museums, collections & archives around the world. View & analyze images through features such as zooming. Save both image files & citations.
- Ebsco Image Collection This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of over one million images relating to people, natural science, places, history, maps and flags. The Image Collection database contains images in these categories: photographs, images from Canadian Press, Getty Images, UPI, photographs from public domain sources.