Discover Articles
Article indexes usually reveal, rather than deliver, articles.
Start with a keyword search to find your search terms in the citation or abstract. You'll then need to check whether Dartmouth owns the item.
Pay attention to subject headings for relevant items. Running another search with those headings may yield better results.
Do we own it?
-
If the full-text of the article is not linked from the citation...follow the "Get It" icon
or search the library catalog by magazine/journal title.
-
Our library catalog has separate records for paper & online formats of journals
-
Be sure to check the range of years ownedto see if we have the issue you need.
If We Don't Own It
Request materials (all formats) from a huge network of libraries. [BorrowDirect cannot be used for articles.]
Multidisciplinary & General Anthropology
-
AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of American Anthropological Association's journals, newsletters and bulletins.
-
JSTOR - Anthro subject browseMany of the top anthropology journals are archived in JSTOR, including those published by the American Anthropological Assn. (warning: 7-year lag for AAA titles). A small number of journals (e.g., Current Anthropology) also have current issues included in the database.
-
Wiley Online LibraryWiley publishes the American Anthropological Association's journals, along with the American Journal of Physical Anthropology, the Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute, and more. Warning: While Wiley allows you to browse a list of their anthropology journals, you cannot easily limit searches to that set of titles.
-
Anthropological Index Online (AIO) This link opens in a new windowIndex to journals and films held by the Royal Anthropological Institute (RAI) and the Anthropology Library and Research Centre at the British Museum. Coverage: 1957 to the present.
-
Anthropological LiteratureBibliographic index to articles in journals and edited works received by the Tozzer Library, the anthropology library of Harvard University. Covers publications dating from the early 19th century to the present.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, with bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities. Scopus has 55 million records dating back to 1823, 84% of these contain references dating from 1996.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.
Article Indexes - Specialized & Related Disciplines
-
ABZU : a guide to information related to the study of the ancient Near East on the Web"Abzu is a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world."
-
America, history and life This link opens in a new windowBibliography of articles on the history and cultures of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
-
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new windowConsists of searchable database of citations (1949-present) to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews in the fields of religious and theological studies.
-
Ecology AbstractsIndexes ecology research in journals across a wide range of disciplines.
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada)
-
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowA bibliography of books, articles, and reviews in periodicals on Islam and the Muslim world.
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive index of scholarship in literature, language, folklore, film, new media, and rhetoric and composition. Covers articles in periodicals, books, and book chapters. Does not index book reviews.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThis is the main index to the peer-reviewed literature for psychology and neuroscience. It indexes citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines from 1952 to the present.
-
World agricultural economics and rural sociology abstracts This link opens in a new windowDerived from CAB Abstracts the database covers agricultural economics to farm economics, food industry and rural sociology from 1973 to the present. It includes policy and development, agrarian reform, employment, environmental and natural resources, biotechnology, input industries, markets, marketing, consumers, international trade, finance, education and extension, and the rural economy.
