Start your research using the best resources recommended by the subject librarian for anthropology. Here you’ll find the key indexes to the academic literature, full-text databases, and documentary film collections.
Items in the Reference collection -- particularly subject encyclopedias -- are great starting points for your research. Encyclopedia articles offer concise overviews of a topic, summaries of key research in a particular discipline, and often include a bibliography which can serve as a starting list of sources for your project.
Most anthropology material is shelved in the GN
call number area, but be aware that anthropology material also appears
in the CC range (archaeology), N (art), P (linguistics), Q (biology) & R (medicine). Regional studies often are shelved in the call number for
history of the region : DA-DR (Europe); DS (Asia); DT (Africa); DU
(Oceania); E-F (Americas). Browsing these areas of the reference
collection may yield additional relevant material.
Similar to its sister publication "Encyclopedia of World Cultures", the "Encyclopedia of Prehistory" is arranged by region, providing cultural summaries. Many have been incorporated into eHRAF archaeology, the electronic "Human Relations Area Files". To view online summaries, follow the "Browse" option from the eHRAF main screen, select a tradition and then view its "Tradition Summary".
Arranged by region, each volume provides 2-4 page cultural summaries. Many (but not all) have been incorporated into eHRAF World Cultures, the electronic "Human Relations Area Files". To view online cultural summaries, follow the "Browse" option from the eHRAF main screen, select a culture and then view its "Culture Summary".