Free Anthro Indexes
Can't get VPN software to work on the machine you're using, and don't have access to another college library during your term away?
Start with these freely-accessible bibliographic databases covering anthropology. Use Interlibrary Loan to request cited journal articles & book chapters. [Be sure to set your Interlibrary Loan status to "Off-campus" for your term away.]
- Anthropological Index Online (AIO) This link opens in a new windowIndex to journals and films held by the Royal Anthropological Institute (RAI) and the Anthropology Library and Research Centre at the British Museum. Coverage: 1957 to the present.
- Google Books (multidisciplinary)Older titles in the public domain may be available online.
Copyright-protected titles may have "Preview" access so you can view the table of contents (for book chapter requests via Interlibrary Loan). - Google Scholar (multidisciplinary)Try the "advanced" search for a bit more control.
More Free Indexes
Here's an incomplete list of additional freely-accessible resources relevant to anthropology.
Most provide bibliographic citations/abstracts only. Some provide statistical data rather than citations. For a selection of freely-accessible scholarly journals, see the "Directory of Open Access Journals"
Use Interlibrary Loan to request cited journal articles & book chapters.
- ADA: Arctic Discovery & Access This link opens in a new windowReplaces and expands upon the former Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS). Contains over 60,000 bibliographic records for publications and research projects about northern Canada, along with a growing collection of digitized content. ADA is maintained by the Arctic Institute of North America at the University of Calgary, and is part of the Canadian Polar Information Network.
- AfricaBib.org This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary suite of bibliographic databases indexing scholarly articles, books, dissertations and films related to Africa.
- African Studies Centre @ U. LeidenLibrary catalog for the African Studies Centre at the University of Leiden (Netherlands).
Covers books, book chapters, and journal articles. - AGRICOLA: Journal Article Citation IndexBibliographic database for the agricultural literature, describing publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
- AGRIS (Food and Agriculture Org.)"international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology. It was created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations"
- Alaska and Polar Periodical IndexIndex to Polar-related periodicals received by the Univ. of Alaska - Fairbanks. Coverage for most titles begins in the early 1980s.
- BCIN, the Bibliographic Database of the Conservation Information Network"the Web's most complete bibliographic resource for the conservation, preservation and restoration of cultural property"
- Archaeology Data Service Library (University of York)Compiles bibliographic records from the ADS Library collection, as well as multiple title feeds from publishers, etc.
- Directory of Open Access Journalsfull-text access to a wide range of scholarly journals in all disciplines. ["Open Access" = journals using a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access.]
- EcoLex - gateway to environmental lawInformation on treaties, national legislation, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature.
Joint project of the UN's Food & Agriculture Org. (FAO), Int'l Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) and United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) - ERIC (Education)Indexes education literature - for both scholarly journals as well as reports, lesson plans, and more.
- Global Health LibraryProduced by the World Health Organization. Searches across multiple resources such as "African Index Medicus" and other regional medical journal indexes.
- GreenFILE"GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology."
- Handbook of Latin American Studiesbibliography of books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers selected and annotated by scholars.
- Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary Index to scholarly and general interest periodicals published in or about Hawaiʻi and the Pacific, and held in the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Library. Coverage dates back to the 1890s.
- Health Poll - Question Finderarchive of public opinion questions on health issues.
Produced by the Kaiser Family Foundation and The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at the University of Connecticut. - Index New Zealanddescribes over half a million articles published in New Zealand over the past 20 years. The titles indexed range from popular magazines such as North and South and Consumer to more specialised journals such as New Zealand Law Review and Art New Zealand.
- Native American EthnobotanyCitations to scholarly works, most published prior to 2000
- Society for Ethnomusicology - "Ographies"bibliographies, discographies, and filmographies. Can't search across multiple issues - Must browse through them individually
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesDigest of data from US government agencies through 2012
Library resources for FSP @ University of Auckland
Take advantage of the resources at your host school and other area libraries. I've also listed a few freely-accessible reference tools.
- University of Auckland LibraryAuckland subscribes to many of the same databases as Dartmouth (AnthroSource, JSTOR) as well as additional region-specific resources.
Check Auckland's subject guides. - Auckland City LibrariesNot far from U. Auckland's General Library (southwest side of Albert Park)
- National Library of New ZealandWhile you might not be able to travel to Wellington, the National Library's site has a number of collections available online.
- Te Ara : the Encyclopedia of New ZealandAn extensive work-in-progress (expected completion is 2013), building on the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand.
- Index New Zealand: INNZ This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary index to scholarly and general-interest New Zealand journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary Index to scholarly and general interest periodicals published in or about Hawaiʻi and the Pacific, and held in the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Library. Coverage dates back to the 1890s.
Library Resources for Off-campus Independent Research
If you're doing off-campus independent research and will not be affiliated with a local university, your library options are a bit more limited as we can't send you material through the mail.
We encourage you to do as much library research & initial gathering of sources as possible before you leave campus.
- Use Interlibrary Loan to request articles & book chaptersFor off-campus students, Interlibrary Loan service is limited to articles & single chapters that can be scanned and posted to Interlibrary Loan.
Be sure to change your status in your Interlibrary Loan profile to "Off campus."