• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA)
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
• International Political Science Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts articles on political science topics from periodicals published throughout the world. More emphasis on non- English language journals than WPSA above.
Published since 1915 the PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages. It is updated quarterly with over 17,000 current records added in total each year.
• ProQuest Military Collection
ProQuest Military Collection™ covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. It includes around 550 titles, with more than 400 available in full-text.
• ProQuest Political Science
1985 to date.
This database covers amlmost 600 core political science journals and reports; it supplements WPSA, above.
WOS is an interdisciplinary database indexing several thousand journals. Users can search across or limit to the following areas:
-- Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1899-present
-- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) --1956-present
-- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) --1975-present
WOS is also a major source for "cited reference" searching, i.e. to see how often and by whom articles are cited.
• CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
CIAO is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
• JSTOR
Coverage varies by journal title.
A searchable full text database of scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields. Coverage is generally from the beginning of publication to within 3-5 years of the current issues.
• Periodicals Archive Online
1665-1995
Periodicals Archive Online is an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.
• Political Science : a SAGE full-text collection.
Includes the full-text of 54 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years, encompassing over 18,000 articles
Coverage varies by title.
Project MUSE offers full-text coverage of nearly 200 journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers.
It compliments JSTOR in that it includes different journals, and it works backward from the latest issue for 3-5 years.
- Limit to ARTICLES by refining the search to "Journal Articles" or "Newspaper Articles" under Content Type. -
Dartmouth Users: Using Summon from off-campus? You'll need the VPN for access to full-text.
Historical abstracts
1954 to date.
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam.
allAfrica.com
1997 to present.
"Contains over 700,000 articles from 100 news publications throughout Africa and from several hundred other sources, including governments, non-governmental organizations and other newsmakers, inside and outside of Africa.
AfricaBib.org is made up of four parts.
a) African Women's Bibliographic Database
b) Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database
c) Women Travelers, Explorers, and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-2004a comprehensive English language bibliography.
d) DISA: Digital Imaging Project of South Africa. South Africa's Struggle for Democracy: Anti-Apartheid Periodicals, 1960-1990.
Africa Bibliography (Click on the "Cambridge Journals Online" link)
1984 to date.
An annual bibliography of books and journal articles pertaining to all regions of Africa.
African Studies Abstracts Online
2003 to date.
ASA Online succeeds the printed abstracts journal of the African Studies Centre Leiden, published since 1968, first as Documentatieblad, then as African Studies Abstracts (1994-2002) [Not owned by Dartmouth]. It provides a quarterly overview of journal articles and edited works on Africa in the field of the social sciences and the humanities available in the ASC library.
Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature
This Library of Congress web site indexes the contents of over 300 selected periodicals (mostly scholarly) from 29 African countries.
Countries: Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Cameroon, the Comoros, Congo (Democratic Republic), Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mozambique, Namibia, Reunion, Rwanda, Senegal, the Seychelles, Somalia, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.
A Current Bibliography on African Affairs
1962 to date.
Baker Berry Ref. Z3501 .C8
Published monthly the bibliography includes journal articles and books.
International African Bibliography
1971 to date.
Baker Berry Ref. Z3503 .I5
Published quarterly the bibliography includes journal articles and books.
• Bibliography of Asian Studies
This is the online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
• Cumulative Bibliography of Asian Studies: Author bibliography (1941/65-66/70)
Boston, G.K. Hall
7v.
Baker Berry Ref. Z3001 .C93
• Cumulative Bibliography of Asian Studies: Subject bibliography (1941/65-66/70)
Boston, G.K. Hall
8v.
Baker Berry Ref. Z3001 .C94
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam.
• EconLit
The primary database for scholarly articles, books, and dissertations in the field.
The primary scholarly journal index for U.S. and Canadian history.
The primary scholarly journal index for world history - concetrates on areas other than the U.S. and Canada, but for obvious reasons does not exclude them.
• HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
HAPI is a source for worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States, with coverage from 1970 to the present. It contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials.
• HLAS - Handbook of Latin American Studies
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam.
Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
• Index Islamicus
Baker Berry Ref. Z7835.M6 L62 1665/1905- (Catalog Record) 1665/1906 to present
An international, interdisciplinary bibliography of books, journal articles and collected essays. This is a major source for material about Islam and Islamic peoples.
• RAMBI: the index of articles on Jewish Studies.
1966 to date.
RAMBI is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies-compiled from periodicals and from collections of articles-in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages.
• Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals
Online - 1987 to present / See below for earlier coverage.
A subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. The Index contains citations since 1987 and is updated continuously.
Holdings:
Print: Baker Berry Ref. Z5063.A2 U8 1956-1999.
Digital (Hathi Trust): 1949 - 1987
• ProQuest Military Collection
ProQuest Military Collection covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. It includes more than 550 titles, with more than 400 available in full-text.
Indexes articles, books, and anthologies in all areas of philosophy.
• PsycINFO
The primary index to scholarly publications in psychology and the brain sciences.