American Politics: Foreign Policy

• American Foreign Relations Since 1600: a guide to the literature / Thomas W. Zeiler, editor.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO Inc., 2007.
3rd ed.

Published for the Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations this is an important bibliography. The online edition isn't easy to navigate but it has the advantage of being more up to date than the 2nd ed. (print) below.

• American Foreign Relations Since 1600 : a guide to the literature / Robert L. Beisner, editor.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO Inc., 2003.
2rd ed.
2v.
Baker Berry Ref.  Z6465.U5 G84 2003

• Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy / editors, Alexander DeConde, Richard Dean Burns, and Fredrik Logevall.
New York : Scribner, 2002.
2nd ed.
3v.
Baker Berry Ref.  E183.7 .E52 2002

Treats concepts and doctrines, policymaking, commerce and science, human rights and arms control, with specific articles on topics ranging from anti-imperialism to environmental diplomacy, from refugee policies to terrorism and countermeasures. Also includes a chronology.

• Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations / senior editors, Bruce W. Jentleson, Thomas G. Paterson.
New York : Oxford University Press, 1997.
4v.
Baker Berry Ref.  E183.7 .E53 1997

Prepared under the auspices of the Council on Foreign Relations, it remains a useful, if older, source of information on a broad range of foreign relations topics.

Foreign Relations of the U.S. (FRUS)

United States. Dept. of State.
Foreign relations of the United States : diplomatic papers / Department of State, United States of America.
Washington : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O.,
Baker-Berry Stacks     JX 233 .A3  1906-1931      
Baker-Berry Stacks     JX 233 .A3  1932 to date (1976)
Jones Media Micro fiche  165BF LAC 21707, ETC  v.1-69 1861-1905

Foreign Relations of the United States (Departmental ed. : Online)

The Department of State edition of FRUS from the Truman administration to Nixon-Ford, 1945-1969.

Foreign Relations of the United States  (Online)
1861-1958/60

A University of Wisconsin digital collection.

Department of State Transcripts

Press briefings, press releases and other announcements.

Current (2009 - )

Archived (Jan. 20, 2001 - Jan 20, 2009)

Department of State Dispatch

Dispatch (HeinOnline)
1990-1999

Continued the Department of State Bulletin, below.
Since 2000 all speeches, briefings, and testimony from State Department officials and the current U.S. treaty actions are available on the State Department website  www.state.gov  upon release.

Department of State Bulletin (HeinOnline)
1939-1989

The Bulletin contains articles about the views of the United States in the areas of public and private international law. The Bulletin also contains articles about diplomatic missions around the world and the activities of the State Department.

United States

United States.
Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America, 1776-1949. Compiled under the direction of Charles I. Bevans
[Washington, Dept. of State; for sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1968-76]
13 v.
Baker Berry  JX231 .A338

View Online in Hein Online - Treaties and Agreements Library

United States. Treaties, etc.
United States Treaties and Other International Agreements
[Washington] Dept. of State
Annual.
Vol. 1 - Vol. 35 no. 6 (1950 - 1984)
Baker Berry  JX231 .A34                 View online from Hathi Trust  (Vol. 2 1951 - Vol. 34 1982)    

• Central Intelligence Agency Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room

This CIA website contains thousands of redacted documents released by the agency through FOIA requests. Documents were created between 1940 and the present.

• Declassified Documents Reference System-US

This database indexes, abstracts and makes available a large selection of declassified material obtained from presidential libraries.
The collection contains more than 75,000 documents from various governmnet offices and departments including the White House, State, Defence, CIA, FBI and others.
Last updated in 2007.

• Digital National Security Archive

The National Security Archive staff have undertaken a remarkable effort to have U.S. documents declassified.
This site contains over 43,000 documents grouped in 32 collections. A few collections are directly relevant to this course.
Click on the "Collections Guide" tab to see a list of available colelctions.

• National Security Archive

Free website of the NSA hosted by George Washington University. There may be some overlap with documents in the DNSA collection above.