Finding Books in the Stacks
To find books within Dartmouth's collection, start with our library catalog - essentially our inventory.
An item's catalog record provides publication info, along with our Location (specific library), Call Number (where it's shelved), as well as the Status (whether it's currently on loan or not).
Lost in the stacks? Maps of Baker-Berry are here:
Ready to borrow the book? Take the book and your campus ID card to the Circulation Desk.
To find books beyond Dartmouth, try a subject bibliography or a large library network catalog, such as WorldCat. Materials not owned by Dartmouth can be requested through interlibrary loan:
-
Interlibrary LoanRequest articles, books, and other publications you need from a huge network of other libraries.
Dartmouth Library Catalog
To find books (and more) here at Dartmouth, search our library catalog.
Every item in the library catalog (book, video, journal/magazine title...) is represented by a catalog “record.”
The catalog record:
* Describes the item, i.e. provides the information needed for a citation
* Provides the information necessary to locate the material in the library
* Includes links to related material (Subject Headings)
Browse Stacks by Call Number
Relevant titles fall throughout our collection - along with online, but these call number sections house a sizeable amount of print materials, located on Baker Stack Levels A & B.
African Studies
DT (Africa)
- DT 1-40 (General)
- DT 16.5 (African Diaspora - general)
- DT 43-346 (Northern Africa)
- DT 348-364 (Central)
- DT 365-469 (Eastern)
- DT 470-671 (Western)
- DT 1001-3415 (Southern)
African American Studies
E (American history)
- E 184 (Ethnic and Religious communities in the U.S. - alphabetically by community)
- E184.A1 (general coverage)
- E184.A24 (African communities in the US)
- E184.E38 (Egyptian communities in the US)
- E184.K43 (Kenyan communities in the US)
- E 184.4-185.98 (African Americans)
- E 441-453 (Slavery in the United States. Antislavery movements)
Our library catalog also allows browsing by call number, author, title, etc.