Film Resources
The most direct way to find films is a keyword search in our library catalog, restricting to the "Videos & DVDs" category.
Most films receive a subject heading indicating genre. There are a few documentary-related headings: “Documentary films”, “Documentary television programs”, and “Documentary-style films”.
So -- to search the catalog for documentary films on a particular topic, try a keyword search for:
documentary and [your search term], limited to the Videos & DVDs category.
Hint: broaden your search term using the wildcard (asterisk *) in order to find spelling variants
Pre-scripted catalog searches
There is no single catalog search that can capture all relevant films in our collection. Below are a few pre-scripted searches which gather a starting list. In addition, you'll want to search our catalog for specific countries, directors, etc.
- African Studies - Documentary filmsCaptures films whose catalog records include the term "Africa". Be sure to run separate searches for individual countries
- African Studies - Feature filmsCaptures films whose catalog records include the term "Africa". Be sure to run separate searches for individual countries
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes selected content from almost every Alexander Street Press individual video collection, and also many other videos not in those collections. The database covers the following subject areas and more: art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, rehabilitation and sports medicine, feature films (including contemporary world cinema and silent films), psychology, religion, science, theatre, musical performance, and women's studies.
- Digitalia Film Library This link opens in a new windowDigitalia Film Library (streaming video) is a multilingual collection of films & documentaries from Spain, France and other European countries, North American Classic films, and Latin American films from South America, Central America and Caribbean including Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Brazil, Bolivia, Costa Rica, Guatemala and others.
- The HistoryMakers Digital ArchiveOral history interviews with African-American subjects. The largest collection of its kind.
Kanopy StreamingCall Number: Streaming serviceKanopy Streaming is a service to which Dartmouth subscribes. There are many examples of different types of films in this collection.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowWe now offers access to streaming movies for academic use, obtained through Swank Digital Campus. Swank partners with major Hollywood studios, documentary providers, independent filmmakers and international film companies to provide a diverse library of more than 1,000 film titles. The wide range of titles ensures all academic departments can find the movies needed to promote active and engaged learning in their classrooms.
- ArtMattan ProductionsDistributor of films from Africa & the African diaspora. Request films not owned at Dartmouth via Interlibrary Loan
- California NewsreelFilm distributor whose catalog includes a significant number of AAAS titles. Request films not owned at Dartmouth via Interlibrary Loan
- Third World NewsreelFilm distributor whose catalog includes a significant number of AAAS titles. Request films not owned at Dartmouth via Interlibrary Loan.
- Internet Archive - Moving Image ArchiveSub-collections include "Cultural & Academic Films"
Finding Images Online
- Finding Images for Research & PresentationsArt Librarian Laura Graveline's guide suggests additional image resources
- Getty ImagesExtensive catalog of Getty images available for license. (View online for free).
- JSTOR Image Search This link opens in a new windowSearch the Artstor Image Library including Dartmouth Collections & content from museums, collections & archives around the world. View & analyze images through features such as zooming. Save both image files & citations.
- Picturing Black Historya collaboration of the Getty Institute and Ohio State U.
- Umbra Search - African American HistoryCatalog to multiple digital archives - project based at the University of Minnesota. " It seeks to bring together the historical artifacts and documents that represent the full depth and breadth of the African American experience—its people, places, ideas, events, movements, and inspirations. It is our hope that this rich history will find new life and form in theater, literature, works of art, journalism, scholarship, teaching curricula, and much more." [from the About Umbra Search / History page]
Search the catalog for image-intensive books
In some cases the most useful images won't be available online -- and are only reproduced in books. Heavily illustrated books are often cataloged with relevant subject headings, but this is not always the case. The "format" field (in details section of record) is the best indicator for whether the title contains illustrations.
- Subject /Genre heading: ExhibitionsThe subheading "Exhibitions" is usually applied to museums' exhibition catalogs, which highlight key items on exhibit and usually include one or more critical essays as well.
- Subject /Genre heading: Pictorial works
- Subject/Genre heading: Portraits
- [Subject heading] in arte.g.,
African Americans in art
African diaspora in art
Women, Black in art