What's On Display at Feldberg Library

Forest and Crag is the definitive history of our love affair with the mountains of the Northeastern United States, from the Catskills and the Adirondacks of New York to the Green Mountains of Vermont, the White Mountains of New Hampshire, and the mountains of Maine.

For Claude Monet the designation impressionist always remained a source of pride. In spite of all the things critics have written about his work, Monet continued to be a true impressionist to the end of his very long life.

This comprehensive manual offers accurate, up-to-date, and clear information for identifying New England's remarkable array of tracheophytes (vascular plants, excluding mosses). With fully researched entries on some 3,500 native and nonnative species, the book is the first in decades to provide a complete and correct botanical reference for the region's noncultivated plants. The volume includes many new species not documented in New England before, while also excluding many species that have erroneously appeared in earlier manuals. Focusing on the taxonomy and distribution of New England plants, the manual is largely dedicated to identification keys and to species entries that provide scientific name, origin, regional conservation ranking, common name, synonyms, distribution, ecology, and other miscellaneous items of interest. Nearly one-third of the entries are accompanied by helpful black-and-white line illustrations.

North American Wildland Plants contains descriptions of the salient characteristics of the most important wildland plants of North America. This comprehensive reference assists individuals with limited botanical knowledge as well as natural resource professionals in identifying wildland plants. The two hundred species of wildland plants in this book were selected because of their abundance, desirability, or poisonous properties.

For native and visitor alike, the New England landscape has a rich allure. This grand sweep of land is a living tapestry woven of interconnected bioregions and natural communities whose compositions of plants and animals have evolved over time. In more than fifty essays, Michael J. Caduto brings readers into the complex stories to be found in nature.

In this field guide to the future, esteemed Harvard University botanist Peter Del Tredici unveils the plants that will become even more dominant in urban environments under projected future environmental conditions. These plants are the most important and most common plants in cities. Learning what they are and the role they play, he writes, will help us all make cities more livable and enjoyable. With more than 1000 photos, readers can easily identify these powerful plants. Learn about the fascinating cultural history of each plant.

From New Hampshire's seacoast to the Canadian border, this revised fifth edition of Explorer's Guide 50 More Hikes In New Hampshire offers the hiker a plentiful variety of choices in all parts of the Granite State. There are simple woods walks and strenuous 4,000-foot hikes, popular destinations such as Mount Chocorua and remote areas such as the Kilkenny. You can sit beside a brook in Southern New Hampshire or climb a fire tower in the Far North, visit state parks, explore ice caves in King Ravine, pick blueberries, or embark on a backpack. Featuring three hikes new to this edition: two in Southern New Hampshire--Purgatory Brook and Bald Mountain--and one on Mount Roberts in the Ossipee Range of Central New Hampshire. Updated hikes throughout the rest of the book include new routes on Crotched Mountain, Blue Job Mountain, and Mount Cube.

Coverage of more than 15,000 ornamental plants, accompanied by nearly 6,000 full-color photographs, it is destined to become the essential reference work for all gardeners, from novice to expert. Plants are arranged alphabetically by their botanical names for fast, straightforward access. A comprehensive introduction and glossary guide beginners and experienced gardeners alike to a greater knowledge and understanding of the key elements of plant classification, anatomy, and cultivation.

First published in 1989, Beth Chatto's Green Tapestry described in words and photographs how Beth Chatto created her now world-famous gardens, and the thinking that lay behind them. Beth Chatto's Green Tapestry Revisited brings the story up to date. Given the current issues about climate change, Beth's ethos of choosing those plants that are best suited to the prevailing conditions could not be more appropriate. Also available as an ebook.

Designed to appeal to expert and backyard birdwatchers alike, this comprehensive guide reveals where, when, and how to watch and enjoy birds in New Hampshire. It features a thorough introduction to the art and practice of birdwatching, including equipment, ethics, migration, conservation, and most of all, finding that "good bird." The book maps more than 120 birding sites across the state, from the Connecticut River Valley to Jeffreys Ledge and Cashes Ledge far off the coast.

Roger Phillips and Martyn Rix are pioneers in the use of photography in plant illustration. The Botanical Garden I and II, are exciting and thoroughly modern renditions of illustrated botany books. Ten years in the making, this set combines the finest in photography with up-to-date, expert commentary to bridge the gap between gardener-friendly books and scientific texts. In the tradition of the great botanical illustrations, each featured plant has been carefully photographed -- as a whole and in its parts -- against a white background to reveal the plant's physical characteristics in exacting detail. Plants from more than 1,200 distinct groups are described -- from oaks to violets and water lilies to grasses -- and are presented in evolutionary order, from the most primitive to the most advanced.

More than ever before, there is widespread interest in studying bumble bees and the critical role they play in our ecosystems. Bumble Bees of North America is the first comprehensive guide to North American bumble bees to be published in more than a century. Richly illustrated with color photographs, diagrams, range maps, and graphs of seasonal activity patterns, this guide allows amateur and professional naturalists to identify all 46 bumble bee species found north of Mexico and to understand their ecology and changing geographic distributions.

More than 50 tour descriptions guide visitors and residents alike on hiking, biking, and paddling trips throughout the region

A full-colour and beautifully illustrated guide into transforming your existing garden or plot of land into a modern, visually-stunning - but also easily achieved and maintained - space. Including full-colour images and tips and tricks from gardening experts and Chelsea Flower Show Gold Medal winners Harry and David Rich as well as suggestions tailored to various garden types, this is a must-read for anyone wanting that little bit of paradise to escape to at home.

A day-by-day account of nature observations throughout the year. Each page covers one day and includes entertaining and enlightening observations about specific animal or plant activity. Brings the natural world to life with over 1,500 vivid color photos Covers a wide range of plants and animals common to eastern North America, including amphibians, reptiles, birds, mammals, insects, trees, mushrooms, and wildflowers Clear, concise text makes the book both a valuable field guide and suitable for leisure reading

This illuminating and instructive book explores New Hampshire's stunning mosaic of natural communities. In photos, drawings, and accessible text, The Nature of New Hampshire takes you on a tour of landscapes as varied as alpine meadows, tidal marshes, riverbanks, forests, ponds, dunes, and cliffs. Readers will gain a new understanding and appreciation for the state's exceptional natural heritage.

Imagine a typical morning--munching on a bowl of cereal, sipping coffee, dressing for the day, riding to work. Every moment of this common routine draws on the power of plants, and the centuries of development that brought wheat, coffee beans, cotton, and rubber--among many others--into our daily lives. Remarkable Plants celebrates the wonder and utility of the green kingdom, taking a detailed look at how plants have shaped our world.

From the acclaimed author of Einstein's Dreams, here is an inspires, lyrical meditation on religion and science that explores the tension between our yearning for permanence and certainty, and the modern scientific discoveries that demonstrate the impermanent and uncertain nature of the world.

In his articles and in best-selling books such as The Botany of Desire, Michael Pollan has established himself as one of our most important and beloved writers on modern man's place in the natural world. A new literary classic, Second Nature has become a manifesto not just for gardeners but for environmentalists everywhere.

For native and visitor alike, the New England landscape has a rich allure. This grand sweep of land is a living tapestry woven of interconnected bioregions and natural communities whose compositions of plants and animals have evolved over time.

An essential reference for wildflower enthusiasts, hikers, and naturalists Wildflowers of New England is a compact, beautifully illustrated guide packed with descriptions and photographs of thousands of the region's most important wildflowers. It includes annuals, perennials, and biennials, both native and naturalized. Covers Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont Describes and illustrates more than 1,000 species 1,100 beautiful color photographs User-friendly organization by color and shape Authoritative trailside reference from the region's wildflowers experts

An introduction to wildflowers commonly found in New Hampshire's White Mountains.