Core Subject Databases
Government / Political Science
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
• International Political Science Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts articles on political science topics from periodicals published throughout the world. More emphasis on non- English language journals than WPSA above.
Published since 1915 the PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages. It is updated quarterly with over 17,000 current records added in total each year.
Economics (including political economy)
• EconLit
The primary database for scholarly articles, books, and dissertations in the field.
Geography
• GeoBase
Interdisciplinary database covering physical and human geography, geology, ecology, and Third World studies.
Additional Social Science Databases
The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.
• Readers' Guide Abstracts
1982 to date
Useful for current, popular titles such as Atlantic, Harpers, Foreign Affairs....
WOS is an interdisciplinary database indexing several thousand journals. Users can search across or limit to the following areas:
-- Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1899-present
-- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) --1956-present
-- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) --1975-present
WOS is also a major source for "cited reference" searching, i.e. to see how often and by whom articles are cited.
e-Journal Collections
• CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
CIAO is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
• JSTOR
Coverage varies by journal title.
A searchable full text database of scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields. Coverage is generally from the beginning of publication to within 3-5 years of the current issues.
• Political Science : a SAGE full-text collection.
Includes the full-text of 54 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years, encompassing over 18,000 articles
Coverage varies by title.
Project MUSE offers full-text coverage of nearly 200 journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers.
It compliments JSTOR in that it includes different journals, and it works backward from the latest issue for 3-5 years.
.
Regional Databases / Indexes
Egypt
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam.
• allAfrica.com
1997 to present.
"Contains over 700,000 articles from 100 news publications throughout Africa and from several hundred other sources, including governments, non-governmental organizations and other newsmakers, inside and outside of Africa.
AfricaBib.org is made up of four parts the relevant piece for this course is - Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database
China and India
• Bibliography of Asian Studies
This is the online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam.
Google Scholar
Law Journals
- WestlawNext
- Full-text (1980's to date).
- Once in WestlawNext either use the citation search on the left or, on the right, type in your search terms and in Select Database(s) select Journals and Law Reviews >> All Journals and Law Reviews.
- LexisNexis Academic
- Full-text (1980's to date).
- Once in LexisNexis Academic click on the Legal tab at the top.
- Hein Online
- Full-text historical - back to the 1800's for some law reviews.
- Images of law review pages.
- Once in Hein Online click on Law Journal Library.