Index / Portal
ProQuest Statistical Insight provides abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources.
* International statistical publications from the UN, OECD, EU, etc. 2,500 titles/year. Coverage from 1980. Full text from 2007.
* U.S. Federal statistical publications. 5,000 titles/year. Coverage from 1973; full text from 200.
* U.S. State government and business statistical reports. 2,200 titles/year. Coverage from 1980; full text from 2007.
International Statistical Agencies
Links to official statistics-gathering bodies, by country. Compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau
Economic Data
Economic / Finance
EIU.com / Economist Intelligence Unit, the Economist.
* Country Reports, 1996 - (Monthly)
* Country Profiles, 1997- (Annual)
* Country Forcasts, 1996 - (Quarterly)
Eurostat (European Union)
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions. Data are collected from the National Statistics Institute, the enlarged European Union, candidate countries, and the EFTA.
GDF Online / Global Development Finance (World Bank)
Located at the Bank's World DataBank website.
GDF Online includes a comprehensive set of tables with statistical data for 136 countries that report debt under the World Bank Debtor Reporting System, as well as summary data for regions and income groups. It contains data on total external debt stocks and flows, aggregates, and key debt ratios, and provides a detailed, country-by-country picture of debt.
International Financial Statistics (International Monetary Fund)
"The IFS database contains approx. 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS country pages; exchange rate series for all Fund member countries, plus Aruba and the Netherland Antilles: major Fund account series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS world tables." [Publisher]
OECD iLibrary is OECD’s Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.
OECD iLibrary hosts all content so users can find - and cite - tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters.
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998 - over 1 200 journal issues, 3 300 working papers, 2 900 multi-lingual summaries, 7 700 e-book titles, 16 000 tables and graphs, 25 000 chapters and articles, and 480 complete databases with more than 4.5 billion data points.
World Development Indicators (World Bank)
Located at the Bank's World DataBank website.
Development data covering more than 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection of development data includes population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty years (starting in 1960 where data are available).
.
Development / Trade
Development
AidData : tracking development finance.
AidData is an initiative that aims to (a) increase the impact of development assistance by making aid information more transparent and accessible to a wide range of stakeholders, and (b) improve the quality of research on aid allocation and aid effectiveness. AidData provides a searchable database of nearly one million past and present aid activities around the world, aid information management services and tools, data visualization technologies, and research designed to increase understanding of development finance.
World DataBank (World Bank)
Contains several World Bank databases including:
* Global Development Finance
* World Development Indicators
* African Development Indicators
Look at the Books and Statistics headings for relevant titles.
Some examples:
* OECD International Development Statistics
* OECD International Direct Investment Statistics
* OECD Statistics on Measuring Globalisation
unctadSTAT, Foreign Direct Investment
Includes Direct Investment Flows -- Annual: (FDI) inflows and outflows by individual country, geographical region and economic grouping, expressed in millions of dollars -- and Direct Investment Stock --
inward and outward stock by individual country, geographical region and economic grouping, expressed in millions of dollars, as FDI world shares, as FDI values per capita, and as FDI percentage ratios with respect to GDP.
Contains 34 UN social and economic databases and links to individual "Country data services."
Trade
Over 170 reporter countries provide the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) with their annual international trade statistics data detailed by commodities and partner countries... UN COMTRADE is the largest depository of international trade data. It contains well over 1.7 billion data records for 45 years. [Website]
Direction of Trade Statistics (IMF)
Online 2002 to present.
The Direction of trade statistics (DOTS) database provides figures on the value of merchandise exports and imports by trade partners as well as area and world aggregates showing trade flows between major areas of the world. DOTS provides access to monthly, quarterly and annual trade data from 1948 to 1999 for about 180 countries and geographic areas.
Direction of Trade Statistics. Yearbook.
Washington, D.C.: International Monetary Fund, [1963]-
Annual
Baker Berry HF1016 .D52
1958/62 - 2001
Monthly Statistics of International Trade (OECD)
1998 to latest available (1-2 year time lag).
Trade and International Integration (World Bank)
Trade and International Integration team of the Development Research Group collects and disseminates data to support its own research activities and the global trade policy agenda. [Website}
World Trade Organization - International Trade and Tariff Data
World Trade Indicators (World Bank)