Inroduction
Journal articles may be more timely and relevant to reserach topics in this course, however, if you choose to search for books these are the best options.
• Dartmouth Library Catalog - perhaps a best first choice because whatever you identify here will be closest to hand.
• WorldCat (FirstSearch) - an essential resource for locating titles beyond the Dartmouth library collection. Virtually all U.S. college and university library collections are referenced here.
• Hathi Trust and Google Books - both are important book scanning projects. There is much overlap between the two, and Google is larger BUT both contain unique materail.
Both contain very recent as well as older titles. The value here for recent titles is that users can search within the book even if Hathi Trust and Google can't display it due to copyright restrictions. Once identified you can see if Dartmouth owns the book, or request it through Borrow Direct or DartDoc.
Other Library Catalogs
This database combines information from more than 70,000 libraries about more than 131 million books, periodicals, recordings, scores, archival collections, and other material held in major research institutions, public, and national libraries both domestic and foreign.
Hathi Trust
Hathi, the Hindi term for elephant, is emblematic of the colossal ambitions and scope of this digital repository. The enterprise is a joint venture of more than 30 major research libraries including Dartmouth College, and other prominent universities undoubtedly will sign on. Almost seven million volumes (four million titles) are currently posted, with close to 1.5 million in the public domain. Each month thousands of additional titles are incorporated into the collection.
At Dartmouth we have full access to the public domain volumes and the ability to search the full content of ALL volumes in the Hathi collection.
Google Books
Library Location Information
Dartmouth Library Catalog
Every item in the library catalog (book, video, journal/magazine title...) is represented by a catalog “record.”
The catalog record:
* Describes the item, i.e. provides the information needed for a citation
* Provides the information necessary to locate the material in the library
* Includes links to related material (Subject Headings)
Library Catalog BOOK record
Subject Headings
Selected SUBJECT HEADINGS pertaining to this course:
Public opinion -- Latin America.
Public opinion -- Middle East.
International relations -- Public opinion.
[Country Name] -- Foreign Public Opinion