RefWorks
RefWorks your personal Web-based database and bibliography creator.
RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. It automatically formats citations in the style you choose, e.g. Chicago, MLA....
Extensive HELP screens and an online Tutorial are available for new and experienced users.
RefWorks is licensed by the Dartmouth College Library and is free for Dartmouth students and faculty.
It is just one of several citation manager products. Anyone interested in other products may wish to investigate them. Examples include EndNote, Bookends (for Macs), ProCite, and PAPYRUS.
Citing Legal Sources
- The Bluebook: A Uniform Sytem of Citation - 19th Edition 2010
- Baker-Berry Reference KF 245.Z9 U5 (Berry Level 1)
Barris, Linda J.
Understanding and mastering The bluebook : a guide for students and practitioners / Linda J. Barris.
2nd ed.
Durham, N.C. : Carolina Academic Press, c2010.
Baker Berry Ref. KF245 .B37 2010
- Basic Legal Citation
- By Peter W. Martin, Cornell Legal Information Institute.
- Based on the Bluebook.
Citing Sources
International Organization Guidelines for Contributors (PDF)
The International Organization journal uses the Chicago Manual of Style format for citations. This guideline for contributors is a very neat summation of citing a variety of common sources for both a bibliography and footnotes.
Scroll down to page 3, "Citing Sources," to find citation examples.
American Political Science Association
Style Manual
Style Manual for Political Science
Revised 2006 (PDF)
Information for citing references begins on Page 24.
The APSA manual follows the Chicago Manual of Style, see the CMS information below if you need additional citation help.
Chicago Manual of Style
This is the online version of the Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition.
See PART THREE, Chapters 14 and 15 for examples of how to cite Articles, Books, Documents, Electronic Publications, Interviews, Websites, etc.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed.
(Copies located at several Dartmouth libraries)
Baker Berry Ref Z253 .C57 (Catalog Record)
Berry Ref Desk (copy 2)
Sources and Citations at Dartmouth (Dartmouth College)
Completely revised in 2008.
From the preface:
"This document provides a broad overview of the practice of citing sources. It discusses why learning to cite sources is an essential part of your education, as well as why failing to cite your sources properly can have serious consequences."
Online Guides for The Chicago Manual of Style
Several guides are included to take advantage of the variety of examples, not always repeated, in these pages.
Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
Chicago Style Q & A (from CMOS Online)
Chicago Style: History (dianahacker.com)
APSA Style Manual, Rev. 2006
CMS
