Online indexes often link to the full text of articles either directly or indirectly from within the database.
They differ from "full text journal databases" in that the indexes DO NOT allow you to search within the full text of the articles.
CORE Political Science databases
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
(1975- )
Indexes all the major political science journals.
International Political Science Abstracts
(1989- )
Covers fewer English language but more non-English Political Science journals)
Web of Science (Social Sciences Citation Index, SSCI)
(SSCI 1956-)
Web of Science is actually 3 indexes for the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities. Search across the indexes or limit to one or two. The database also allows users to do "cited reference" searching, i.e. see who has cited articles of interest.
SSCI provides interdisciplinary journal coverage across the social sciences.
Academic Search Complete
(1980s -)
An interdisciplinary index covering a variety of academic journals.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
(1971- )
Very good coverage of all areas of Asian studies.
Bibliography of Asian Studies.
1953-1991.
Published by the Association for Asian Studies.
Baker-Bery Ref Z3001 .B53 1953-1991
Cumulative Bibliography of Asian Studies: Author Bibliography
Boston, G.K. Hall
1941-1970.
Baker-Berry Ref Z3001 .C93 1941/65-66/70
Cumulative Bibliography of Asian Studies: Subject Bibliography
Boston, G.K. Hall
1941-1970.
Baker-Berry Ref Z3001 .C94 1941/65-66/70
Historical Abstracts
(1954- )
The major index for scholarly historical journals concentrating on countries other than the USA and Canada.
PAIS International
(1914- )
Indexes journals and other publications in political science, law, economics, public affairs, etc.
JSTOR
Coverage varies by journal title.
A searchable full text database of scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields. Coverage is generally from the beginning of publication to within 3-5 years of the current issues.
Coverage varies by title.
Project MUSE offers full-text coverage of nearly 200 journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers.
It compliments JSTOR in that it includes different journals, and it works backward from the latest issue for 3-5 years.
Political Science : a SAGE full-text collection.
Includes the full-text of 54 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years, encompassing over 18,000 articles
Google Scholar is a very useful site for identifying scholarly articles and books.
Like Web of Science (Social Sciences Citation Index, SSCI) it also provides "cited reference" information, i.e. links to author's who cited the article in hand.