Afrobarometer: a comparative series of national public attitude surveys on democracy, markets and civil society in Africa.
"The Afrobarometer is an independent, nonpartisan research project that measures the social, political, and economic atmosphere in Africa.
Presently, Afrobarometer surveys are conducted in 35 African countries and are repeated on a regular cycle. Because the instrument asks a standard set of questions, countries can be systematically compared. Trends in public attitudes are tracked over time. Results are shared with decision makers, policy advocates, civic educators, journalists, researchers, donors and investors, as well as average Africans who wish to become more informed and active citizens." - Website
Asia-Europe Survey
"The Asia-Europe Survey (ASES) is an 18 country cross-national survey conducted in summer 2000 for the democracy project funded by the Japanese Ministry of Education, Culture, Sport, Science and Technology. Its aim is to examine, through randomly sampled national surveys of countries of Asia and Europe, how democracy (or quasi-democracy) functions in response to various domestic and international stimuli, especially focusing on the rise of civil society and the deepening of globalization." - Website
Comparative Study of Electoral Systems (CSES)
"CSES is a collaborative program of research among election study teams from around the world. Participating countries include a common module of survey questions in their post-election studies. The resulting data are deposited along with voting, demographic, district and macro variables. The studies are then merged into a single, free, public dataset for use in comparative study and cross-level analysis." - Website
European Social Surveys
"The European Social Survey (ESS) is an academically driven cross-national survey that has been conducted every two years across Europe since 2001. It is directed by Rory Fitzgerald (City University London). The survey measures the attitudes, beliefs and behaviour patterns of diverse populations in more than thirty nations." - Website
Pew Research Global Attitudes Project
"The Pew Research Center’s Global Attitudes Project conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people’s assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. Over 330,000 interviews in 60 countries have been conducted as part of the project’s work." - Website
Gallup World News
"Gallup World" offers public access to a variety of global survey results conducted by the Gallup organization.
This site also links to "Gallup Analytics," a subscription database, providing access to comparative U.S. and World polling data - Dartmouth does not subscribe to "Analytics" at this time.
Global Barometer Surveys
"The Globalbarometer Surveys (GBS) is the first comprehensive effort to measure, at a mass level, the current social, political, and economic atmosphere around the world. It provides an independent, non-partisan, multidisciplinary view of public opinion on a range of policy-relevant issues. " - Website
International Social Survey Programme
"The ISSP is a continuing annual programme of cross-national collaboration on surveys covering topics important for social science research [surveys begin in 1985]. It brings together pre-existing social science projects and coordinates research goals, thereby adding a cross-national, cross-cultural perspective to the individual national studies." - Website
iPoll Databank (The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research)
* This is a licensed database so access via Dartmouth’s network
"iPoll is a comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion. A full-text retrieval system, the iPoll online database is organized at the question level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys, 1935 to present." - Website
iPoll Also contains over 10,000 U.S. and 8,000 international datasets, many of them available for download.
LAPOP: Latin American Public Opinion Project
"LAPOP is the premier academic institution carrying out surveys of public opinion in the Americas, with over thirty years of experience. Every two years it carries out the AmericasBarometer survey, which currently covers 26 nations including all of North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean. Each year it publishes dozens of high quality academic studies and policy-relevant papers." - Website
Transatlantic Trends Survey
"Transatlantic Trends is a comprehensive annual survey of American and European public opinion." - Website
WIN/Gallup International
"WIN/Gallup International is made up of the 77 largest independent market research and polling firms in their respective countries with a combined revenue of over €500 million and covering 95% of the world’s market.
For more than 60 years WIN/Gallup International Members have demonstrated their expert ability to conduct multi-country surveys on a comparable basis and deliver the highest quality." - Website
World Public Opinion (The Program on International Policy Attitudes)
"WPO is an international collaborative project whose aim is to give voice to public opinion around the world on international issues....The WorldPublicOpinion.org network is a consortium of research centers studying public opinion on international issues in their respective countries. At present the network consists of research centers in more than 25 countries across all of the major continents. The network includes countries that represent the majority of the world population.... [the] website provides information and analysis about public opinion on international policy issues from around the world. While the studies of the WorldPublicOpinion.org network figure prominently, the website draws together data from a wide variety of sources from around the world. We have found that data from all reliable sources are important contributions and that as more studies are integrated into analyses, world public opinion comes into increasing focus." - Website
World Values Survey
"This is a place to learn more about values and cultural changes in societies all over the world....The World Values Survey (WVS) network will carry out a new wave of surveys in 2010 - 2014. This will provide a 30-year time series for the analysis of social and political change. The sixth wave will be closed at March 1, 2014 and all data from that wave will be made public at our website from April 1, 2014." - Website