Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collections and Services Relocation: Kresge and Paddock Libraries: Project Information

Updates and timelines related to the relocation of physical sciences and music collections and services to Baker-Berry Library.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

10 September

 

 

All of the Kresge Library and Paddock Music Library have been relocated to Baker-Berry Library.  Selected titles in the J & K call number range are in off site storage; please use interlibrary loan or BorrowDirect to request items that are in storage.

Paddock Media (cds, dvds) will be moved to Jones Media in early October; they are available upon request.  

Thank you for your patience during this time.

19 July 2021

Iron Mountain, our collection relocation partner, will be on campus to begin collection moves. 

TIMELINE

Stay informed as you plan to use the Library.
 

Week of Oct. 11 New storage cabinets expected to be installed in Jones Media Center.
Week of September 6 Iron Mountain completed moving the Kresge collection to Berry 4. Berry 4 is now available for quiet study.
Week of August 30 Berry 4: shifting continued to make room for the Kresge collection; portions of the Journal collection (Q-Z alphabetical by title) have been moved as well as Kresge Q, QB-QE 507s.  Expect foot traffic, book carts, and elevator use.
August 24 Kresge QA have been moved to Berry 3 and are available for use.  Popular Science and Kresge Theses are now located on Berry 4 and available for use.
Week of August 23 Berry 3: Interfiling of Kresge QA will begin on Monday; shifting of Berry 4 collection continues and beginning of the move of Kresge Q call numbers to Berry 4.  Expect foot traffic, book carts, and elevator use. 
August 20 The following was completed on Berry 4: J & K selected for vendor storage have been packed and moved; shifting of G, HJ, J-JX is complete.  Some shifting of K has been completed.  Kresge Popular Science Collection has been moved to Berry 4 and available for use.  Kresge H-P and U-Z have been moved to Berry and should be available some time next week. 
August 19 U & V classification has been moved from Berry 4 to Baker Level A and is available for use.  Packing and shifting continues on Berry 4.  Expect foot traffic, boxes, and book carts on Berry 3, 4, parts of Berry 1, and Baker A.  Kresge QA is still in the process of being moved and may become available for use next week.  Packing continues of selected K call numbers from Berry 4.
August 18 Kresge A-G classification has been moved to Baker-Berry Library and is available for use.  Kresge QA will be moved to Berry 3 beginning Wednesday afternoon.  U & V classification is in the process of moving from Berry 4 to Baker Level A.  Packing and shifting continues on Berry 4.  Expect foot traffic, boxes, and book carts on Berry 3, 4, parts of Berry 1, and Baker A.
Week of August 16 Iron Mountain staff are working on Berry 4 packing out selected J and K call numbers, and shifting the collection in anticipation of moving the Kresge Q call numbers to Berry 4 the week of August 23.  Expect foot traffic, boxes, and book carts.
Week of August 9

Iron Mountain moved the Kresge "G" call numbers on to Berry 4 & they are now available for use.  IM continued to pack out of selected J and K call numbers, and shift of the remaining collection. 

The Paddock collection is now available for use.  It is located in both Baker 1 and the East Reading Room.  A manufacturing and shipping delay for new storage cabinets means that CDs and DVDs will remain at Paddock until early October and will need to be requested.

Week of August 2 Iron Mountain completed moving Music ML, MT, Music Reference, Collected Works, Music Theses, and some regular scores to Baker 1.  Continued on Berry 4 to pack selected portions of the J and K call numbers.
Week of July 26 Iron Mountain moved Paddock Music Monographs to Baker 1.  Work continued on Berry 4 in the "J" and "K" collections.
Week of July 19

The following moves have been completed: Feldberg, Japan, Korea, Harvard, Nash, Berry Reference, Z 1 - Z 299.  Iron Mountain moving selected items from the Library of Congress "K" classification to off site storage.

COLLECTIONS

Where are collections located in Baker-Berry Library?

Collections Guide | Floor Guide

Music 

  • Scores are available in the East Reading Room of Baker Library

  • Printed materials are available on Baker 1 Stacks

  • Media and audio materials and listening stations will be available in the Jones Media Center in early October. They are available upon request now.

Physical Sciences

  • Most printed materials are available on Berry 4

  • Library of Congress QA will be available on Berry 3

Arts & Sciences

  • Berry Reference consolidated and relocated to the east wall on Berry 1

  • Government Documents from Baker 1 and Baker Mezzanine to Baker C. Library staff at the Baker-Berry Circulation desk can assist.

  • Japan and Korean collections relocated from Baker Stacks 1 to Berry 1

  • Nash and Harvard book arts collections relocated from East Reading Room to Baker Annex A

  • Old Dartmouth relocated from Baker A and Annex A to Dartmouth Library Depository

  • Library of Congress J & K (selected portions of both) move to Iron Mountain storage facilities. Titles may be requested from other libraries by using BorrowDirect or DartDoc.

  • Library of Congress U & V relocated from Berry 4 to Baker A

  • Library of Congress Z 1 - Z 299 relocated from East Reading Room to Baker Annex A

SERVICES

Whom do I contact with questions about Library services?

Research and Teaching Assistance

Circulation and Collection Access Assistance

  • Library staff at the Baker-Berry Circulation Desk will answer questions and help as needed.

  • Books, scores, and other printed material can be checked out at the Baker-Berry Circulation Desk.

  • Media and equipment housed in Jones Media Center can be requested through JMC and checked out at the Baker-Berry Circulation Desk.

Course Reserves

PROJECT CONTACTS

Kresge Physical Sciences Library

  • Jane Quigley, Head of Research & Learning for STEM, Business & Economics

Paddock Music Library

  • Memory Apata, Research & Learning Librarian for Performing Arts
  • Jenn Natale, Head of Research & Learning for Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

Project Manager

Library Administration