Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collections and Services Relocation: Kresge and Paddock Libraries: Music Collections

Updates and timelines related to the relocation of physical sciences and music collections and services to Baker-Berry Library.

Music

Print collections in music include books and journals covering music history and music theory, and scores in facsimile, critical, study and performing editions. Sound and video recordings in different formats cover all genres of music.

Overview

The scores have been relocated to Baker 1 stacks and the East Reading Room in Baker Library. Oversized scores are on Berry Lower Level.

Books and collected works are on Baker 1 Stacks.

Media and audio materials and listening stations will be available in the Jones Media Center. Due to a delay in manufacturing for new shelving, media will not be moved until late September/early October. CDs and DVDs may be requested via Dartmouth Library Search.

Collections Management & Review

The vast majority of Paddock’s collections will be relocated to the East Reading Room and Baker 1 Stacks. Before the move begins, the Music Librarian will complete a title-by-title review of the music literature (ML) reference collection. Reference works that are out of date or are available with more comprehensive coverage online will be considered for withdrawal. Just because a reference series is available online does not mean that the series will be withdrawn. Books published prior to the year 2000 with zero circulations are also being reviewed on a title by title basis. To learn more about how we make decisions about our collections, see our Collection Management Policy.