Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collections and Services Relocation: Kresge and Paddock Libraries: Physical Sciences Collections

Updates and timelines related to the relocation of physical sciences and music collections and services to Baker-Berry Library.

Physical Sciences

Includes astronomy and astrophysics, chemistry and materials science, geology and related earth and atmospheric sciences, physical geography, hydrology, physics, and related areas. Mathematics and computer science collections are housed in the Cook Mathematics Collection, on the 3rd floor of Berry Library.

Overview

The majority of books in the sciences are classified into the Library of Congress “Q” call number ranges (QB for astronomy, QD for chemistry, and so on). Thus, most of Kresge’s books will remain together in their assigned call number ranges in Baker-Berry Library, on Berry Level 4.

An exception is the QA book collection which will be integrated into the Cook Mathematics Collection on Berry Level 3.

Kresge's sizeable collection of books in the Library of Congress "G" call number ranges (physical geography, oceanography, environmental sciences, and related subjects) will be integrated with the rest of the library's "G's," also on Berry Level 4, improving the ability to browse across many interconnected topics.

Kresge's relatively small number of books in other LC call number ranges (those assigned to economics, history, and literature for example) will be integrated into the rest of the Library's collection in the appropriate locations.

Kresge’s journals will continue as a discrete collection, also located on Berry Level 4 with the books. Physical Sciences journals (“PhysSci Journals” in the Library catalog) are shelved alphabetically by title.

Collections Management & Review

As part of this major collections relocation, we have taken the opportunity to identify and withdraw a number of print series which have either been replaced by their online equivalents, or are extremely low-use (with little benefit even for serendipitous browsing, as they are series with titles like “Technical Report.”)

Most of these series are publications of government agencies such as the US Geological Survey and the National Bureau of Standards, or are historic print indexes to the literature. These have now migrated to online databases such as SciFinder; or are full-text publications that are readily available online. Print versions (should they be needed) are safeguarded in trusted library repositories such as the Center for Research Libraries, the Linda Hall Library, and the national network of Federal Depository Libraries. To learn more about how we make decisions about our collections, see our Collection Management Policy.

A partial list of the series withdrawn from the collections follows:

  • AAPG Bulletin
  • Chemical Abstracts
  • Chemical Society Specialist Periodical Reports
  • Gmelins Handbuch der anorganischen Chemie
  • Geological Survey of Canada. Memoir
  • Geological Survey of Canada. Paper
  • Geological Survey of Canada Paper - Current Research
  • Landolt-Börnstein physikalisch-chemische tabellen (and subsequent)
  • NBS Special Publications
  • NBS Technical NoteUSGS Professional Papers
  • USGS Bulletin
  • USGS Open File Reports
  • USGS Circular
  • USGS Water Resources Investigations
  • USGS Digital Data Series