Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collections and Services Relocation: Kresge and Paddock Libraries: Arts & Sciences Collections

Updates and timelines related to the relocation of physical sciences and music collections and services to Baker-Berry Library.

Arts & Sciences

The print collections for the vast majority of Arts & Sciences disciplines reside in Baker-Berry Library. They are organized by Library of Congress classification, grouping them by topic. 

Overview

There are a number of collections within Baker-Berry that are being moved. As moves happen, the library catalog records will be updated to reflect the correct location. If you have difficulty finding the materials you need, please go to the Baker-Berry Circulation desk on the main floor or work with your subject librarian.

In order to make space on Baker 1, Berry Reference is being consolidated and relocated to the east wall on Berry 1. The Japan and Korean collections will then be relocated from Baker Stacks 1 to Berry 1. Government Documents from Baker 1 and Baker Mezzanine are being moved to Baker C. 

In order to make space in the East Reading Room, Old Dartmouth classified materials have been relocated from Baker A and Annex A to Dartmouth Library Depository. Nash and Harvard book arts collections are being relocated from East Reading Room to Baker A. Library of Congress Z 1 - Z 299 will be relocated from the East Reading Room to Baker A.

In order to make room on Berry 4, Library of Congress J & K (selected portions of both) move to Iron Mountain storage facilities. Library of Congress U & V will be relocated from Berry 4 to Baker A.

Collections Management & Review

Select areas of the collections in Baker-Berry are being reviewed for use and relevance to the curriculum and research needs of the Dartmouth community. To learn more about how we make decisions about our collections, see our Collection Management Policy.

Baker-Berry reference has been reviewed by all the relevant subject librarians. Jenn Natale is the primary point person for the review. Decisions have been made to withdraw titles that are no longer current or have a more up-to-date or equivalent electronic version. Decisions have also been made to transfer select titles into the main stacks so that they will be available to check out of the library.

The A (General Works) collection on Berry Lower Level has been reviewed by all the relevant subject librarians. Jenn Natale is the primary point person for the review. A select number of serial publications have been withdrawn because we have electronic access or they are not relevant to Dartmouth's curriculum or research needs.

The R (Medicine) collection on Berry 4 has been reviewed. Jenn Natale is the primary point person for the review. A select number of titles have been withdrawn from monographs that have a publication date between 1950-2001 with zero circulations or in-house uses.

The L (Education) collection on Berry 4 has been reviewed. Amy Witzel is the primary point person for the review. A select number of serials (journal runs) have been withdrawn because we either have electronic access or they are not relevant to Dartmouth's curriculum or research needs.

The J (Political Science) and K (Law) collections on Berry 4 have been reviewed. Wendel Cox is the primary point person for this review. Large portions of these collections will be moved to off-site storage with Iron Mountain and will not be accessible for a length of time. Decisions were made to retain content on-site that is most highly used, current, and in alignment with the current curriculum. The following monographs are being retained on-site:

  • Those with a publication date of 2012 or newer
  • Those with a publication date between 2002-2011 with 5 or more circulations
  • Those with a publication date of 2001 or older with 10 or more circulations
  • Those that are identifiably related to the experiences of Indigenous peoples of the Americas.

J and K serials have been moved, in whole or parts, where digital access is available or where serials see limited or no use or are no longer current.