Discover Articles
Article indexes usually reveal, rather than deliver, articles.
Start with a keyword search to find your search terms in the citation or abstract. You'll then need to check whether Dartmouth owns the item.
Pay attention to subject headings for relevant items. Running another search with those headings may yield better results.
Do we own it?
- If the full-text of the article is not linked from the citation...follow the "Get It" icon
or search the library catalog by magazine/journal title. - Our library catalog has separate records for paper & online formats of journals
- Be sure to check the range of years ownedto see if we have the issue you need.
If We Don't Own It
Request materials (all formats) from a huge network of libraries. [BorrowDirect cannot be used for articles.]
Article Indexes & other bibliographic databases
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new windowBibliographic database with broad coverage of education literature -- pedagogy, cognition, policy, and social conditions of school-aged populations. Includes scholarly journals as well as reports, lesson plans, and more.
- ERIC (via US Dept. of Education)The freely-available version of ERIC. Database content is the same as in ProQuest, but interface lacks some of ProQuest's features (e.g., email of new matches to saved searches).
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThis is the main index to the peer-reviewed literature for psychology and neuroscience. It indexes citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
- Sociological AbstractsCitations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage begins in 1963.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.
Selected Education Journals available online
- Educational Evaluation and Policy AnalysisEarlier years available online through other services. See catalog record.
- Educational ResearcherEarlier years available online through other services. See catalog record.
- Reading Research QuarterlyAccess through Wiley covers 1996 to present. Earlier years available via JSTOR
- Review of Educational ResearchAccess through Sage covers 1999 to present. Earlier years available via JSTOR
- Sociology of EducationAccess through Sage covers 2004 to present. Earlier years available via JSTOR