Research Guides: Education: Teacher Ed.

Teacher Education & Certification

Requirements for certification
Provides a state-by-state outline of certification requirements for teachers, counselors, librarians, and administrators in US elementary and secondary schools.
Upper Valley Educators Institute (Lebanon, NH)
offers a year-long program for college graduates, leading to NH state teacher certification.
Techer Certification (New Hampshire Dept. of Education)
Information on available paths to NH State teacher certification
Teacher Certification (Vermont Dept. of Education)

New Hampshire Curriculum Frameworks & Common Core Standards
at the New Hampshire State Dept. of Education
Vermont Curriculum Framework
at the Vermont State Dept. of Education
Common Core State Standards Initiative [National site]
"a state-led effort that established a single set of clear educational standards for kindergarten through 12th grade in English language arts and mathematics that states voluntarily adopt." [http://www.corestandards.org/resources/frequently-asked-questions]
Education World
Online community for K-12 educators, providing news, lesson plans/curricula, job announcements, and more. Also includes US national & state curriculum standards.
MERLOT : Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching
Online library of peer-reviewed lesson plans and other learning activities. Originally developed for higher education, but now includes a large number of K-12 materials.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
Bibliographic database with broad coverage of education literature -- pedagogy, cognition, policy, and social conditions of school-aged populations. Includes scholarly journals as well as reports, lesson plans, and more.

National Science Digital Library
"created by the National Science Foundation to provide organized access to high quality resources and tools that support innovations in teaching and learning at all levels of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education."

International encyclopedia of teaching and teacher education
Baker-Berry stacks LB17 .I56 1987
International encyclopedia of national systems of education
Baker-Berry Ref. LB43 .I584 1995