Research Guides: Environmental Studies: Find Articles

Databases and Search Engines

Environmental Science Index
This resource provides in-depth A&I coverage from the environmental science literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types.
AGRICOLA
Bibliographic database for the agricultural literature, describing publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.

Gale in Context - Environmental Studies
Focuses on sustainability and the environment; provides news, video, primary source documents and more. Easy to browse by topic, such as energy systems, legislation, environmental justice, climate change, and many more.

Web of Science
Citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Tangentially Related Databases

CQ electronic library
Provides access to full-text and analytical database resources to support research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.
EconLit
Indexes 30+ years of economics literature from around the world. Compiled by the American Economic Association, EconLit is a comprehensive index of journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations.
HeinOnline
Full text image-based searchable database of legal periodicals. Database coverage for each periodical is from the beginning issue to the most current allowed under contract.
Worldwide political science abstracts
The database contains abstracts of materials from professional journals, major news magazines and books devoted to the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, public law, public administration and public policy. Topics include political institutions, processes, and behavior; international law and politics; policy analysis; public affairs and administration; public law; political theory; and political economics.
GeoRef
The major index to the international geological literature from 1785 to the present. Covers geology, geochemistry, geophysics, mineralogy, petrology, economic geology, hydrology, oceanography, geomorphology, and engineering geology.

COLD Database
Produced by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI), the COLD Database is the most comprehensive bibliography of cold regions. It is comprised of the USPA Permafrost Alert Program (2011 - Present), the Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology (1900-2011) and the Antarctic Bibliography (1950-2011).

Curated Collections of Interest

Ecology from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Various authors
Call Number: Electronic resource
ISBN: 9780199830060
Oxford Bibliographies in Ecology is an extensive, annotated bibliography of the most important concepts and ideas in the discipline. Ecology is a wide-ranging field that has its roots in the observations and writings of the early plant geographers, including of course Charles Darwin. As ecology has developed it has drawn from classical ‘hard sciences’ such as chemistry and physics, but has its own unique identity and today brings in modern aspects of many other disciplines including other areas of the life sciences, and geography, mathematics, computing and statistics.
Environmental science from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Various authors
Call Number: Electronic resource
ISBN: 9780199363445
Environmental Science arose from disparate disciplines as a distinct field in the last half of the 20th century. Initially fueled by awareness of environmental degradation, risk of species loss, and global climate change, it straddles the divisions and seeks to integrate synergies between them in research and application. This includes but is not limited to the physical sciences, the planning and social sciences, the health sciences, engineering, governance, policy, and more. Here, environmental physics, chemistry, and biology; risk analysis and public health; ecosystem governance, management, and planning; social and legal issues toward sustainability; and environmental engineering all come into play. ...
Muse in focus: Humanity's "Code Red" on Climate Change" by Project Muse
Call Number: Electronic resource
A selection of scholarship from Project MUSE publishers exploring the human causes and effects of climate change. ...
“Humanity’s ‘Code Red’ on Climate Change” explores the human causes and effects of climate change, and the urgency of action to avert future catastrophe.
JSTOR: sustainability
Call Number: Electronic journals
This collection explore journals, e-books and research reports on environmental stresses and their impact on society. The research spans the Biological Sciences, Business & Economics, Ecology, Environmental Sciences, Law, Public Health, Urban Studies, and many other disciplines.

Accessing Full-Text

Tutorial: Accessing the Full Text of an Article
Check out this 15-20 minute tutorial that will walk you through the different ways to access the full text of an article through the Dartmouth Libraries.
Off Campus Access
Are you off campus and having trouble accessing a resource? Check out our page for help regarding off-campus access.
Browser extension LibKey Nomad
Check out our guide for adding the browser extension LibKey Nomad. It can provide direct linking to full-text resources available in our library's collection!

If We Don't Own It

Did you know that you can request items that the library doesn't own?

Interlibrary Loan
Dartmouth's Interlibrary Loan system. Request books, chapters, articles, -- anything Dartmouth doesn't own and we'll borrow it from another library for you.
BorrowDirect
Request books (only) from a small, but strong, group of libraries (the Ivies). Often the fastest option for getting books that Dartmouth doesn't own, or that are missing or checked out.

Keeping up with Environmental Science journal literature

Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Environmental Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.

You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.

Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.