Librarian
US Data and Statistical Sources
- Agricultural StatisticsThis annual publication includes data on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns and is intended as a reference for common use.
- Consumer Expenditure SurveysThe Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program consists of two surveys, the quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.
- Current Population Survey - US CensusThe Current Population Survey (CPS) is a monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The CPS is the primary source of information on the labor force characteristics of the U.S. population.
- Data.govThe purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
- Disability Statistics Center - UCSFThe Disability Statistics Center produces and disseminates policy-relevant statistical information on the demographics and status of people with disabilities in American society. The Center's work focuses on how that status is changing over time with regard to employment, access to technology, health care, community-based services, and other aspects of independent living and participation in society.
- National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)Data visualization, searchable statistics, and interactive queries on health and health care.
- Office of Homeland Security StatisticsCreated in 2023, they provide statistics on immigration, law enforcement, international trade and more.
- U.S. Bureau of Justice StatisticsCriminal justice statistics from the US Bureau of Justice.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsYou can find statistics of all types here such as Prices, Employment, Pay, Time Use and International statistics.
- Uniform Crime ReportsThe UCR Program includes data from more than 18,000 city, university and college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies. The program has been providing crime statistics since 1930.
International Statistics, Data and Reports
- China data onlineCall Number: Electronic resourceA comprehensive database Web site focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. It includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macro-economic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Also included are statistical yearbooks, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China.
Please note: Dartmouth College Library only subscribes to "Census Map & Report and "Sample Data" at this time. - CountryData byCall Number: Electronic resourceProvides political, economic and financial ratings for over 160 countries back to the 1980s.
- Data for the Sustainable Development Goals byCall Number: Electronic resourceGlobal and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communication.
Elections by Country by Call Number: Electronic resourceInformation on the electoral results, parties and parliaments of countries around the world.
FAOSTAT by Call Number: Electronic resourceAn online, multilingual database currently containing over 1 million time-series records covering international statistics in: production, trade, food-balance sheets, food aid shipments, fertilizer and pesticides, land use and irrigation, forest and fishery products, agricultural machinery and population.- Human development reports byCall Number: Electronic resourceThese reports provide statistics on economic development and the quality of life around the world. The reports are also available online at the United Nations Development Programme site.
- Statistics and indicators on men and womenCall Number: Electronic resourceThis United Nations resource provides statistics and indicators on women and men in six specific fields of concern: population, families, health, education, work and politics and human rights. The data are compiled mainly from official national and international sources ... Other sources and estimates that have been subjected to peer review are used to supplement official sources. All sources are given at the end of each table, as are technical notes on the indicators presented."
- UNdata byCall Number: Electronic resourceThis database covers all countries and areas and selected series from more specialized international data sources.
World Development Indicators (WDI) Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe World Development Indicators (WDI) is the World Bank's annual compilation of data about development. WDI includes approximately 800 indicators in 87 tables, organized in six sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links. The tables cover 152 economies and 14 country groups-with basic indicators for a further 55 economies.
Additional Data Sources
Pew Research CenterCall Number: Online resourceThe Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues. Its work is carried out by 8 projects. See the site for the projects.
- International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data"International financial statistics (IFS), Balance of payments statistics (BOPS), Direction of trade statistics (DOTS), and Government finance statistics (GFS) databases. View and download predefined data reports or create and share your own views of IMF data."
- Dartmouth Atlas of Health CareThe project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
- County Health RankingsThe County Health Rankings show us that where we live matters to our health. The health of a community depends on many different factors – ranging from individual health behaviors, education and jobs, to quality of health care, to the environment.
Data Visualization
- North American Land Cover MapThe Commission for Environmental Cooperation has a 2022 North American Land Cover map at a spatial resolution of 30 meters, based on Landsat satellite imagery for Canada, Mexico, and the United States.
- North American Environmental AtlasThe North American Environmental Atlas combines geospatial data from the USA, Canada and Mexico to create a variety of map layers useful for geographic and environmental analysis.
- Google Public Data ExplorerThe Google Public Data Explorer makes large datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate. You can create small scale maps or charts online with the data available. At this point, the data available is limited.
NationMaster.comCall Number: Electronic resourceThis is a massive, central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Using the form above, you can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.
StateMaster.com by Call Number: Electronic resourceStateMaster is a unique, statistical database which allows you to research and compare a multitude of different data on US states. They have compiled information from various primary sources such as the US Census Bureau, the FBI, and the National Center for Educational Statistics. StateMaster goes beyond the numbers to provide you with visualization technology like pie charts, maps, graphs and scatterplots. We also have thousands of map and flag images, state profiles, and correlations.