Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
In the Library's collections
Because books on Games are scattered throughout the collection, the following are recommended search terms for finding relevant information and resources. However, many books can be found in the Berry Cook Math Collection with the call number QA 76.76 Berry Level 3, while others can be found in call number range GV 1469 on Baker Stack Annex A. With some of the subject headings below, you can add "design and construction" to see what we have.
- playLook for some type of aspect such as psychological, social, etc.
- video gamesThis is a subject search in the library's online catalog.
Introductory reading(s)
Casual game design: designing play for the gamer in all of us by Call Number: Baker-Berry Cook QA 76.76 .C672 T755 2010ISBN: 9780123749536From Windows Solitaire to Bejeweled to Wii Tennis, casual games have radically changed the landscape of games. By simplifying gameplay and providing quick but intense blasts of engaging play, casual games have drawn in huge new audiences of players. To entertain and engage the casual player, game designers must learn to think about what makes casual games work, from game mechanics to narrative content. Through the close examination of a number of casual games, you will learn how to inject the necessary game design elements into your casual games and give your designs the complexity and strategy they need to hook gamers. ...
Encyclopedia of recreation and leisure in America by Call Number: Baker-Berry Ref. GV 53 .E53 2004 v. 1-2ISBN: 9780684312651From rodeos to quilting bees, stickball to stock car racing, American pastimes comprise a broad range of activities. The Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America provides a comprehensive survey of these activities from the Colonial era to the present. ...
Game design in the classroom: increase student achievement through game play & creative projects by Call Number: Baker-Berry LB 1029 .G3 N54 2011ISBN: 9780984642403
The Routledge companion to video game studies by Call Number: Baker-Berry GV 1469.3 .R67 2014ISBN: 9780415533324The number of publications dealing with video game studies has exploded over the course of the last decade, but the field has produced few comprehensive reference works. The Routledge Companion to Video Game Studies aims to address the ongoing theoretical and methodological development of game studies, providing students, scholars, and game designers with a definitive look at contemporary video game studies. ...
Other selected book title(s)
Besides finding books and other resources through the online catalog with the subject headings to the left, you can also search in O'Reilly Online Learning. This is a vast collection of technical books on a variety of subjects including games of all types.
O'Reilly online learning by Call Number: Electronic resourceA database of eBooks on technical subjects.
