Research Guides: Job Hunting Resources : Business: Key Resources

Find Companies

Screen by location, industry, size, and more; e.g. companies in the energy sector located in Colorado that have a Tuck alum:

Search for large public companies, find in-depth profiles, and company earnings call transcripts:

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
S&P Capital IQ provides a wealth of information on companies, markets and people. Covers market intelligence, financial analysis, screening and targeting, and relationships between people and organizations. Register for an account.

Search for smaller and large companies, find a public company SWOT analysis, search within many contacts:

D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
162 million+ public, private, and nonprofit global companies. News, corporate overviews, financial data, market research reports, analyst reports, executive biographies, SWOT analysis, significant developments, strategic initiatives, industry norms, market share. Create lists of companies that match a given set of criteria.

Find start-up companies and emerging industries:

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
PitchBook tracks every aspect of the public and private equity markets, including venture capital, private equity and M&A. Research and analyze companies, deals, funds, investors and service providers across the entire private investment lifecycle.

Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. (1 download = 1 row of data on an Excel file).

Look up private companies:

PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. PrivCo also covers venture capital funding deals, private equity deals, and merger acquisition data.

Search for international companies:

Orbis This link opens in a new window
306+ million public and private companies worldwide: financials in a standardized format, financial strength indicators, ratings, directors and contacts, filings, stock data, PE data, detailed corporate ownership structures, industry research, news, M&A deals and rumors, and global patent agreements.

Screen for public companies by ESG criteria:

LSEG (Refinitiv) Workspace This link opens in a new window
LSEG Workspace (fka Refinitiv) provides information on public & private global companies and includes: financials and filings, overview, news & corporate events, deals, share ownership, and analyst reports. Workspace also provides market views as well as screening and analysis for companies, deals/league tables, private equity, mergers and acquisition data, and more. Register for LSEG Workspace

Search for nonprofit organizations:

GuideStar Pro This link opens in a new window
A database of millions of US nonprofit organizations. Search for organizations and people by name, geography, financials, or a variety of other criteria. Reports include general information on the nonprofit, people, mission and programs, goals and results, Form 990 filings, and financial data.

Interview Prep - Company Research

The following will give you a good overview of your company:

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
S&P Capital IQ provides a wealth of information on companies, markets and people. Covers market intelligence, financial analysis, screening and targeting, and relationships between people and organizations. Register for an account.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
162 million+ public, private, and nonprofit global companies. News, corporate overviews, financial data, market research reports, analyst reports, executive biographies, SWOT analysis, significant developments, strategic initiatives, industry norms, market share. Create lists of companies that match a given set of criteria.
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Country-specific industry reports include market overviews, data, segmentation, outlook and five forces analysis. Company reports include financials, top competitors, deals and SWOT analyses.
Orbis This link opens in a new window
306+ million public and private companies worldwide: financials in a standardized format, financial strength indicators, ratings, directors and contacts, filings, stock data, PE data, detailed corporate ownership structures, industry research, news, M&A deals and rumors, and global patent agreements.
LSEG (Refinitiv) Workspace This link opens in a new window
LSEG Workspace (fka Refinitiv) provides information on public & private global companies and includes: financials and filings, overview, news & corporate events, deals, share ownership, and analyst reports. Workspace also provides market views as well as screening and analysis for companies, deals/league tables, private equity, mergers and acquisition data, and more. Register for LSEG Workspace
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. PrivCo also covers venture capital funding deals, private equity deals, and merger acquisition data.

Interview Prep - Industry Research

The following resources provide overviews of industries. You may have to search a few to find one that covers your specific industry:

US coverage:

IBISWorld: Industry This link opens in a new window
A collection of market research reports for over 700 U.S. industries and almost 60 global industries. Reports are typically 30-60 pages in length and include key statistics, market segmentation, market characteristics, industry conditions, key factors, key competitors, industry performance, and outlook.
BizMiner This link opens in a new window
Granular industry statistical reports and market analysis reports at the national and local levels down to the zip code. Industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and market trends for thousands more.
S&P's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Industry surveys of 50+ major U.S. industries, including current environment, industry profile, trends, how the industry operates, key industry ratios & statistics, how to analyze the industry and downloadable comparative company analysis.

Global or Country-Specific Coverage:

EMIS Intelligence (fka EMIS Emerging Markets) This link opens in a new window
Provides information about emerging market countries, their companies, and industries. It includes country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, and analysis; reports on financial markets, companies and industries; exchange rates; analyst reports; and business news, both in English and the local languages.

Technavio Global Reports (via EMIS)
Market research reports on global industries including, communication, consumer services/discretionary/staples, energy, financials, health care, industrials, information technology, materials, and utilities.
Technavio Country/Regional Reports (via EMIS)
Market research reports on country/regional industries including, communication, consumer services/discretionary/staples, energy, financials, health care, industrials, information technology, materials, and utilities.

MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Country-specific industry reports include market overviews, data, segmentation, outlook and five forces analysis. Company reports include financials, top competitors, deals and SWOT analyses.

Technology industries, try one of these:

Forrester
Research and analysis on emerging technology and its impact on business, including areas of information technology, marketing and strategy, and technology marketing and sales.
Note: Restricted to Tuck community: Register for login.

Gartner This link opens in a new window
IT research including statistics, forecasts and market analysis on the Hardware, Software, IT Services, Communications, and Semiconductor markets.
GlobalData: Oil & Gas This link opens in a new window
Research solutions covering the full breadth of the oil & gas industry, from exploration to refining, data and analysis across the upstream, midstream, downstream and petrochemicals sectors. Includes access to GlobalData's Energy Transitions database which highlights alternative energy generation, storage, and capacity along with related data.
GlobalData: Power This link opens in a new window
Covers renewables, carbon emissions and trading, hydrogen and fuel cells, coal to gas, gas to liquids, biomass to liquids and nuclear industries. 25,000+ power plants, 16,000+ companies, and hundreds of research reports. Includes access to GlobalData's Energy Transitions database which highlights alternative energy generation, storage, and capacity along with related data.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
BCC's market research reports explore major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology organizations. Industry analysis and market forecasts for advanced materials, high-tech systems and components, nanotechnology and novel processing methods are at the forefront of the company's expertise.
Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Covers Aerospace & Defense, Automotive & Transportation, Business & Financial Services, Career Research, Chemicals, Materials & Foods, Consumer Products, Education, Electronics and Security, Energy & Power Systems, Environment & Building Technologies, Healthcare, Industrial Automation, Information & Communication Technology, Measurement & Instrumentation, and Metals & Minerals. Coverage is both US and Global.

Consumer product/service industries, try these:

Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Market research reports and consumer data covering US and Global consumer markets and products (emphasis on Western European and US): Automotive; Beauty; Clothing and Footwear; Drink; Financial Services; Food; Foodservice; Health and Wellness; Household Care; Leisure and Entertainment; Lifestyles; Personal Care; Retail; Technology; Travel. Also includes demographic data on Affluent Consumers, Baby Boomers, Kids, Men, Millennials, Mothers, Multicultural, Singles, Teens, and Women.

Interview Prep - Current News

Keep up to date on your company by creating alerts; check for up to the minute news before you head into that interview.

Best for newspapers and press releases:

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides full text to 33,000 news and business information sources from 200 countries in 28 languages, includes regional and industry publications, newspapers, newswires, Web and blog content.

Best for trade and academic journals:

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes business journals worldwide; covers marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, economics and more. Also includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses. Includes the full text of articles from many publishers and links to full text options for other articles. 1886 to present.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Indexes business and management journals worldwide; covers corporate strategies, marketing, product development, industry conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and more. Includes the full text of articles from many publishers and links to full text options for other articles. 1923 to present.