The digital Sanborn collections that various libraries have put online only cover maps published before 1923. Any map published 1923 or after is still in copyright and they are unable to put a digital version online.
This is a collection of more than 3,000 map sheets for the state of Florida. The maps were designed to help fire insurance agents determine the degree of damage to a property and show accurate information to determine risks and establish premiums. They show the size (including color-coding), shape and construction of buildings (brick, adobe, frame, etc), dwellings (including hotels and churches), and other structures such as bridges, docks and barns.
Documenting the layout of 390 Missouri cities from 1883 to 1951, the 1283 maps in the collection are an invaluable research tool for urban historians, architectural historians, environmentalists, genealogists and preservationists. ...
The University Libraries' Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information has a near complete collection of Sanborn Fire Insurance maps for the state of Pennsylvania. The digital collection will continue to grow as maps come out of copyright.
The Sanborn maps are arranged by state, then city and release data. Currently there are over 25,000 sheets from over 3000 city sets online in the following states: AK, AL, AZ, CA, CO, CT, DC, DE, GA, ID, IL, IN, KY, LA, MA, MD, ME, MI, MO, MS, NC, ND, NE, NH, NJ, NV, OH, OK, PA, SD, TX, VA, VT, WY and Canada, Mexico, Cuba sugar warehouses, and U.S. whiskey warehouses. This digital collection is courtesy of the Library of Congress.
The production of fire insurance plans of North American cities was dominated by two companies, the Sanborn Map Company of New York and the Charles E. Goad Company of London. The stories of other publishers, for the most part, have not been adequately told. The West, includ[ing] Hawaii, had a number of individuals and institutions which produced insurance plans. One of the more successful of them was the Dakin Publishing Company of San Francisco. Dakin was in existence from about 1885 until the early 1960's, and actively produced insurance maps from its beginning until the second decade of the 20th Century.
This collection contains large-scale maps of Vermont villages and cities produced to give fire insurance companies and underwriters accurate information about insured properties. The collection currently includes maps of communities in Chittenden and Franklin Counties that were published from 1869 to 1922. Maps from other Vermont communities will be added in the future. ...
The Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps Online Checklist is a searchable database of the fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company housed in the collections of the Geography and Map Division. The online checklist is based upon the Library's 1981 publication Fire Insurance Maps in the Library of Congress and will be continually updated to reflect new acquisitions.
Print copy in the Evans Map Room.
Goad fire insurance plans are unique primary source materials capturing what is, in many cases, otherwise undocumented information about buildings, land use and urban design. This collection of Goad plans of the British Isles are the very first editions of this mapping, representing all of the major centres of population at the turn of the twentieth century; publication dates range from 1886 to 1930.
... While not the first to produce maps to aid insurance companies in assessing fire risks, the Chas E Goad Co was the largest and most prolific such endeavor in Britain. The large-scale plans of urban areas – which ranged in size from eight sheets for Dover and over 500 for London – includes footprints and addresses for each building, with its use (commercial, residential, educational etc.) and the height of the building. ...
The O.K. Corral, where the notorious gunfight between the Earp brothers and Doc Holliday versus the Clanton gang took place October 26, 1881, is shown (between 3rd and 4th Streets, bounded by Fremont on the north and Allen on the south) in this 1886 fire insurance map of Tombstone, Arizona. ...
This map is one of over 700,000 fire insurance map sheets produced by the Sanborn Map Company for more than twelve thousand American cities and towns from the 1870s until the 1950s. These maps were prepared primarily to assist insurance underwriters in determining the risk involved in insuring individual properties.
Sanborn Maps was a creator and publisher of maps of US cities and towns. The Sanborn Maps were originally created for assessing fire insurance liability in urbanized areas in the United States. The maps include detailed information about buildings in approximately 12,000 US towns and cities.