Map Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Further reading ...
This journal article from Reference Services Review discusses electronic maps. The article lists web sites for online maps but also talks about how to save and use the maps you find. You should find most if not all of the sites listed in the article in our online catalog or annotated below.
For more assistance, please contact the Evans Map Room directly.
The World
This page highlights digital map images of the world and various continents and countries that we have in our Library's collections.
Map collections by Call Number: Electronic resourceA digital collection of Americana and other rarely seen maps from the Geography & Maps Division of the Library of Congress.
Serial set maps by Call Number: Electronic resourceAn additional, specialized search module for the Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set, Serial Set Maps allows users to focus searches on the maps themselves - the geographic areas they depict, the subjects they represent, their titles, and the names associated with the maps either as cartographers, explorers, or in some other capacity.
Western Hemisphere
- Antique maps Canada byCall Number: Jones Media CD-ROM G 3400 2004 .A58This CD contains digital reproductions of maps of Canada produced between the mid 1700s and the late 1800s.
Maps of New Hampshire
- Antique maps New Hampshire byCall Number: Evans Map Room CD-ROM G 3740 2004 .A58This CD contains 67 digital reproductions of New Hampshire maps from the 1700s and 1800s.
- New Hampshire panoramic maps byCall Number: Evans Map Room CD-ROM G 3741 .A35 2004 .N49This disc contains digital reproductions of 42 bird's eye view maps of New Hampshire originally published between 1877 and 1899.
Maps of Vermont
- Vermont panoramic maps byCall Number: Evans Map Room CD-ROM G 3751 .A35 2004 .V47Contains 23 bird's eye view maps of Vermont originally published between 1859 and 1897.
Maps of Maine
- Maine panoramic maps byCall Number: Evans Map Room CD-ROM G 3731 .A35 2004 .M35Contains 26 bird's eye view maps of Maine reproduced from the originals produced between 1875 and 1896.
Maps of New York
- Antique maps New York byCall Number: Evans Map Room CD-ROM G 3800 2004 .A58
- Antique maps New York City byCall Number: Evans Map Room CD-ROM G 3804 .N4 2004 .A58
Looking for map images online ...
Look in various image databases. They have maps too!
- AP Images
"Features state, regional and national photos from North America, as well as the best of the international photo report. A second database features the regional European and Asian daily picture reports, along with a selection of their historical photos. - JSTOR image search
This collection has more artistic representations of polar environs and peoples rather than contemporary photographs.
