Map Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Other library resource(s)
- Geologic map of Virginia, 1993: digital representation of the 1993 geologic map of Virginia byCall Number: Evans Map Room CD-ROM G3881 .C5 2003 .V5 1993 c.2The digital data files are an extension of the original version of the 1993 geologic map ...
Geologic maps online
- Geologic Map of Alaska (USGS)
This map and the associated digital databases are the result of compilation and interpretation of published and unpublished 1:250,000-scale and limited 1:500,000- to 1:63,360-scale maps. Covering the entire state of Alaska, it reflects more than a century of work by a host of geologists and almost two decades of compilation work. - Geologic Map of the State of HawaiiThe State's geology is presented on eight full-color map sheets, one for each of the major islands. These map sheets, the illustrative meat of the publication, can be downloaded in PDF format, ready to print. ...
In the Libraries' Collections
Geological mapping is located in different call number ranges in the Baker-Berry stacks and the Evans Map Room. You can use the subject heading below to focus your search.
Books on geologic mapping
These resources handle geologic mapping exclusively. You will find examples of geologic maps stored in the Evans Map Room.
Basic geological mapping by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780470686348Basic Geological Mapping is an essential basic guide to field techniques in mapping geology. Now completely revised and updated, the book retains the concise clarity which has made it an indispensable instant reference in its previous editions. It provides the reader with all the necessary practical information and techniques that they will need while carrying out work in the field, covering a wide spectrum of different conditions, needs and types of countries. ...
An Introduction to geological structures and maps by Call Number: Baker-Berry QE 601.2 .B46 2003ISBN: 9780340809563Publication Date: 7th ed.A concise text that leads students in easy stages from the simplest ideas on geological structures right through to more advanced geological mapping technique.
The map that changed the world: William Smith and the birth of modern geology by Call Number: Baker-Berry QE 22 .S6 W55 2001ISBN: 9780060193614This is the fascinating story of William Smith, the orphaned son of an English country blacksmith, who became obsessed with creating the world's first geological map and ultimately became the father of modern geology. In 1793 William Smith, a canal digger, made a startling discovery that was to turn the fledgling science of the history of the earth -- and a central plank of established Christian religion -- on its head. He noticed that the rocks he was excavating were arranged in layers; more important, he could see quite clearly that the fossils found in one layer were very different from those found in another. ...
Upheaval from the abyss: ocean floor mapping and the Earth science revolution by Call Number: Baker-Berry GC 87 .L38 2002ISBN: 9780813530284The deep oceans are the last great frontier remaining on Earth. Humans have conquered the vast wilderness of the terrestrial surface, from the searing deserts and dark forests of the tropics to the icy polar regions. Today, anyone with enough ambition and money can travel upriver into the heart of the Borneo jungle, climb Mount Everest, or spend the night at the South Pole. But the oceans beyond the continental shelves remain forbidding, beyond the reach of science, adventurism, and commerce. ...
Selected geologic maps in the Library's collections
- Geologic quadrangle maps of the United States byThe collection of geologic maps from the USGS. There are some missing from our collection. You can find the missing ones through the USGS National Geologic Map Database.
- Geological map of the world, scale 1:50 000 000 byCall Number: Evans Map Room G 3201 .C5 2002 .B6A geologic map of the world on 3 sheets.
- Tektonicheskaia karta tsentral'nogo i iugozapadnogo Afganistana = Tectonic map of Central and Southwestern Afghanistan byCall Number: Evans Map Room G 7631 .C55 1973 .T42
- Cross section of the eastern Aleutian Arc from Mount Spurr to the Aleutian Trench near Middleton Island, Alaska byCall Number: Evans Map Room G 4372 .A4 C5 1982 .P52
- Antarctic geologic map byCall Number: Evans Map Room G 9801 .C5 s250 .G46For specific holdings, please contact the Evans Map Room.
- Geological map of the Caribbean byCall Number: Evans Map Room G 4391 .C5 1990 .M37 sheets 1 - 2
Preliminary Integrated Geologic Map Databases of the United States
These Open-File Reports represent preliminary parts of a larger planned series of integrated geologic databases that will ultimately be available for the entire United States. These interim versions are being released now in order to provide ready access to standardized geologic data for use in regional analyses and to meet product distribution goals. The final compilation of these state databases will allow integration of the data that are found on state-scale geologic maps, presented in a uniform database structure.
Internet resource(s)
- Database of the Geologic Map of North AmericaThe Geological Society of America’s (GSA) Geologic Map of North America (Reed and others, 2005; 1:5,000,000) shows the geology of a significantly large area of the Earth, centered on North and Central America and including the submarine geology of parts of the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans.
- GEOSCAN
GEOSCAN is the bibliographic database for scientific publications of the Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) of Natural Resources Canada. GEOSCAN also provides links to publications available online or for free download (GeoPub and MIRAGE), ... - Map Database for Surficial Materials in the Conterminous United StatesFor the conterminous United States, a map by Soller and Reheis (2004, scale 1:5,000,000 shows these sediments and the weathered, residual material; for ease of discussion, these are referred to as "surficial materials."
- National Geologic Map Database
This Portal is intended to give users a quick, integrated, browse-and-query "glimpse" of map data published by many agencies, and to direct them to the source information. - OneGeologyOneGeology is an international initiative of the geological surveys of the world. This ground-breaking project was launched in 2007 and contributed to the 'International Year of Planet Earth', becoming one of their flagship projects.
- OpenGeoSciOpenGeoSci is an free, public map based interface providing geographic searching for more than 300,000 maps, cross-sections, charts, tables, and other high-value content from GeoScienceWorld (GSW) publications.
- USGS National Geologic Map DatabaseYour Geoscience resource for maps and related data about geology, hazards, earth resources, geophysics, geochemistry, geochronology, paleontology, and marine geology.
- USGS Publications Warehouse DatabaseThe USGS publishes many reports on the geology of the United States. The reports usually include a map or maps. If the report is online, the map or maps are also online.
- William "Strata" Smith on the WebFacsimiles of his three most significant publications, as remarkable for their beauty as for their historical importance.