Map Librarian
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
What is an API?
API is the abbreviation for "Application Programming Interface." An API is an interface that is defined in terms of a set of functions and procedures, and enables a program to gain access to facilities within an application. A typical example would be a CASE tool that provides an API to enable users to develop special programs to utilize the information within the CASE tool’s internal database. The use of such facilities enables users to customize the application for their own purposes and to integrate the application into a customized development environment.
[Source: (2016). API. In Butterfield, A., Ngondi, G., & Kerr, A. (Eds.), A Dictionary of Computer Science. : Oxford University Press. Retrieved 10 Oct. 2020]
- API's from ESRIThe Web Mapping APIs allow you to develop rich, interactive applications using JavaScript, Flex, or Silverlight. You can embed your applications in Web pages or launch stand-alone Web applications from any Web page.
In the Library's collections
The Library has a small collection of books for API's. Many of the books are in electronic form. Others, like conference proceedings are located in TK 5105.5 .I95 call number range in the Baker/Berry Cook collection on Level 3.
Selected book titles
All of these books have chapters about API's.
Beginning Google Maps applications with PHP and Ajax : from novice to professional by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781590597071Until recently, building interactive web-based mapping applications has been a cumbersome affair. This changed when Google released its powerful Maps API. Beginning Google Maps Applications with PHP and Ajax was written to help you take advantage of this technology in your own endeavors whether you're an enthusiast playing for fun or a professional building for profit. This book covers version 2 of the API, including Google's new Geocoding service. ...
Beginning Google Maps applications with Rails and Ajax: from novice to professional by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781590597873The Google Maps API is a showcase example of the Web 2.0 development paradigm, designed to be invitingly simple for developers to incorporate dynamic mapping services into Web applications. Beginning Google Maps Applications with Rails and Ajax takes a developer's perspective, showing how to integrate mapping features into their Rails-driven Web applications. The book shows how to draw on data sources such as the U.S. Census Bureau's TIGER/Line data and Google's own geocoding feature to build comprehensive geocoding services. ...
Beginning Google Maps mashups with mapplets, KML and GeoRSS: from novice to professional by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781430216209Beginning Google Maps Mashups with Mapplets, KML, and GeoRSS is a beginner's guide to creating web mashups using Google mapping technology. It serves as a single-source primer to displaying data on Google Maps. ...
Other library resources in the collections
These are other resources that have sections on map mashups. Safari Tech Books Online lets you search within the database for sections of books with map mashups.
Web mapping illustrated by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780596008659With the help of the Internet and accompanying tools, creating and publishing online maps has become easier and rich with options. A city guide web site can use maps to show the location of restaurants, museums, and art venues. A business can post a map for reaching its offices. The state government can present a map showing average income by area. Developers who want to publish maps on the web often discover that commercial tools cost too much and hunting down the free tools scattered across Internet can use up too much of your time and resources. Web Mapping Illustrated shows you how to create maps, even interactive maps, with free tools, including MapServer, OpenEV, GDAL/OGR, and PostGIS. ...
O'Reilly online learning by Call Number: Electronic resourceA database of eBooks on technical subjects.
Java how to program: early objects by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780134743356Publication Date: 11th ed.The Deitels' groundbreaking How to Program series offers unparalleled breadth and depth of programming fundamentals, object-oriented programming concepts and intermediate-level topics for further study. Java How to Program, Early Objects, 11th Edition, presents leading-edge computing technologies using the Deitel signature live-code approach, which demonstrates concepts in hundreds of complete working programs. ...
