Music & Performing Arts Librarian
Reviews of Recent Productions
- LexisNexis Academic UniverseFull-text coverage of many American (and some international) newspapers. Check "Theater Reviews" in the "Limit to" box at the center of the screen.
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. It offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, astronomy, biology, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion, women's studies, and other fields.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Performing Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more. - Readers' Guide Abstracts (H.W. Wilson)Indexes articles from more than 200 of the most popular general-interest magazines published in the United States and Canada, covering all subjects of such general news areas as current events, business, fashion, politics, crafts, food, education, sports, history, and science.
- World Shakespeare BibliographyCovers productions of individual plays and citations to reviews of productions.
Reviews of Historical Productions
- New York theatre critics' reviewsCall Number: Baker Berry Ref. PN2000 .N76Compendium of reviews from 1940 to 1996 (the most recently published issue), organized annually.
New York Times Proquest Historical Newspapers
Full-text contents, with page images, from 1851 to 2001. Use Lexis-Nexis for more recent coverage.
American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900
Full-text contents, with page images, of over one thousand magazines and journals. A great resources for information about historical productions.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Covers citations to articles in popular magazines. Retrospective covers material from 1890 to 1982. Choose "Theater Review" under Document Type drop-down menu.
- Theatre worldCall Number: Baker Berry PN2277.N5 A17The main American theater annual, not a compendium of reviews per se but detailed listings of plays performed in the United States, including cast, credits, photos, and other production information. Coverage from 1944 to the present.
- Theatre recordCall Number: Baker Berry PN2596.L6 L66The British equivalent to the Theatre World, covering performances from 1981 to the present.
- How to locate reviews of plays and films : a bibliography of criticism from the beginnings to the present byCall Number: Baker Berry Ref. Z5781 .S19ISBN: 0810809141Good resource for finding print reviews, but published long before the digital revolution.