East Asian Studies

The database collects academic journals published in Taiwan and China. It also selects quality academic journals published in USA., Hong Kong, Malaysia, and some other countries. The contents cover six main categories: Humanities, Basic & Applied Sciences, Health & Medical Care, Bio-Agriculture, Engineering, and Social Sciences.

CCND selects core newspaper articles published in mainland China since 2000. As of August 2005, the article count exceeded 4.4 million, from 1,000 publicly issued newspapers in mainland China. Series F - Literature, History, Philosophy.

CDMD is the most comprehensive, highest quality database of dissertations and theses in China. As of August 2005, the dissertation count reached 220,000, from 300 doctoral training institutions across China.

China Masters'Theses Full-text Database is the most comprehensive and practical masters'theses full-text database in China, with the highest quality and the shorted publication cycle. It covers a wide range of subjects, such as fundamental science, engineering technology, agriculture, medical science, philosophy, humanity and social science, etc.By now, it has collected 3,084,914 excellent masters’ theses from 727 master degree grantors. Series F - Literature, History, Philosophy.

The key source for searching scholarly journal literature published in China. Provides access to thousands of the most important Chinese journals in humanities, social sciences, and medicine, with some full-text articles dating back as early as 1915. We have access to the academic journals, theses and core newspapers.

Chinese Periodical Full-Text Database, created by Shanghai Library, contains around 10 million pieces of writing in over 20,000 different kinds of periodicals published from 1911 to 1949. It includes journals of all disciplines and subjects published at the time.

A compilation of Buddhist technical terminology texts, temples, schools, persons, etc. that are found in East Asian Buddhist canonical sources. Since much of what East Asian Buddhists have written about is the Buddhism of India, Central Asia, and Tibet, the content of this database / dictionary / encyclopedia / translation glossary is pan-Buddhist in character. Dictionaries and other reference sources are in many East Asian languages (Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Pali, Sanskrit and Tibetan).

A huge content-based database consisting of 800,000,000 full text pages. Contains many Republican Chinese newspapers and journals.

The Archives feature approximately 310,000 documents originally collected by the Grand Secretariat of the Qing dynasty. These documents, ranging from Ming to late Qing periods, include imperial decrees, edicts, memorials, tribute documents, examination questions, examination papers, rosters of successful examination candidates, documents from the offices of the Grand Secretariat, documents from the offices for book compilation, and old documents from Mukden. The database allows keyword searching for responsible official, title, matter and document number. It is developed by Institute of History and Philology, Academia Sinica, Taiwan.

The largest encyclopedia in pre-modern China. It was intended to be a comprehensive survey of all branches of knowledge and includes a large number of illustrations.

The Han, Wei, Liu Chao Stone Inscription Database includes about 2,500 items. It is based on the 2008 published 《漢魏六朝碑刻校注》by the late historian Mao Yuanming. Additional material from archaeological reports ranging up to 2015 has been added. In most cases high-quality images of the rubbings have been added and can be viewed side by side with the text. Both databases are full text searchable.

It is the most inclusive available Chinese dictionary. It traces usage over three millennia from Chinese classic texts to modern slang. Includes over 23,000 head entries, defines some 370,000 words, and gives 1,500,000 citations.

IDP is a ground-breaking international collaboration to make information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artefacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road freely available on the Internet and to encourage their use through educational and research programs.

Produced by the Shanghai Library, this database covers approximately 280,000 articles published in 302 Chinese-language periodicals between 1833 and 1911 in China.

Personal registration is required to access the database

People's Daily is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China. This internet version covers all issues from 1946 to present. For better using experience, Internet Explorer is recommended.

Science Library is a database platform covering various disciplines and including full text PDFs of monographs, textbooks, atlases, reports, reference books, popular science materials. The database supports title, abstract, and full-text searching using a simple or advanced search and includes filtering options for refining searches.

The largest Chinese full text database for the study of pre-modern China. IE recommended. Click on "授權使用" button to access the database.

Established in 1872, Shen Bao (申報, historically transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao) was the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper before the establishment of the People’s Republic. Published in Shanghai until 1949, Shen Bao was founded by Englishman Ernest Major, but, uniquely, as a newspaper for Chinese readers, written by Chinese reporters. During its existence, Shen Bao gradually shifted from a conservative to a more liberal perspective, and played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the imperial period and into the tumultuous beginnings of modern China. Shen Bao’s innovations in printing technologies, specialized use of the telegraph, and dispatch of special military correspondents gave it an edge.

The Song Dai Mu Zhi Ming Database includes texts that have been collated from various sources including the Quan Song wen《全宋文》, The Song Dai Mu Zhi Ming Database includes texts that have been collated from various sources including the Quan Song wen《全宋文》, unearthed epitaphs in recent years, and private rubbing collections. Sources are provided for each epitaph. Wherever available, high quality images of rubbings of original epitaphs have been added to the database and can be viewed side by side with the text. The database is full text searchable. The Song Tomb Inscriptions Database《宋代墓誌銘数据库》currently includes about 6,400 items, more items will be added in the future.

A collection of various genres of popular literature books in Chinese history in both full text and scanned image, ranging from vernacular novels, drama, to Buddhist "treasure scroll stories." Both full texts and original page images are available.

With approximately 7,000 titles (100,000 volumes) presented to date, CCG is perhaps the richest single resource available for researching China in multiple aspects, including its political history, literature, and religion, as well as the biographies of famous personages, its culture, economic development and, of course, its geography and natural history.