Research Guides: East Asian Studies : English-Language Resources

English-Language Resources

Beijing Review
Beijing Review, previously Peking Review, is China's only national news magazine in English, published by the Chinese Communist Party-owned China International Publishing Group.

Bibliography of Asian studies
Provides citations to western-language periodical articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, etc. pertaining to east, southeast, and south Asia. Subject areas covered: Anthropology & Sociology, Arts, Biography, Communication & Media, Economics, Education, Geography, History, Language, Library & Information Sciences, Literature, Philosophy & Religion, Politics & Government, Psychology & Psychiatry, Science & Technology . Covers 1971 to the present, including full data from the print editions from 1971-1991.

China, America, and the Pacific
Explore an extensive range of archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps document this fascinating history.
China and the modern world. Imperial China and the West. Part 1, 1815-1881
Digitized in two parts from the FO 17 series of British Foreign Office Files held at the UK National Archives, Part 1 of Imperial China and the West provides General Correspondence relating to China from 1815–1881.
China and the modern world. Imperial China and the West part II, 1865–1905
Digitized in two parts from the FO 17 series of British Foreign Office Files held at the UK National Archives, Part II of Imperial China and the West provides General Correspondence relating to China from 1865–1905.
China Data Online
China Data Online is the primary data source for China studies. It includes (1) China Statistical Databases; and (2) China Census Databases; It provides easy access to the various statistical yearbooks published by the National Bureau of Statistics of China, comprehensive statistics, and Census data of economy and population at national, provincial, city, county, and even township levels.
China Geo-Explorer II
China Geo-Explorer (CGE) fully integrates different data sources from government statistics, population census and economics census of China at different levels (province, city, county, township and ZIP code) into a spatial system with more than 6,000 comparable variables for easy access.
The China Project
"The China Project is a New York-based, China-focused news, information, and business services platform. We inform and connect a global audience regarding the business, technology, politics, culture, and society of China"
Chinese Foreign Policy Database
The Chinese Foreign Policy Database presents a wealth of new information, including a compelling timeline of major events in China’s foreign relations, and more than 25 curated collections focusing on topics such as China’s alliance with North Korea, the 1962 Sino-Indian War, the tumultuous Cultural Revolution, and the rise and fall of communist solidarity between China and the Soviet Union.
The Current Digest of the Chinese Press
Each week, The Current Digest of the Chinese Press presents the reader with a digestible collection of Chinese press materials, all in English. Selected articles cover a wide variety of topics, such as politics, international relations, security, economics, business, public health, environment, education, culture and more. The Current Digest’s mission is to provide the reader with a comprehensive, broad picture of the news published in China, be it domestic, international or related to other states of the Asia Pacific region.
Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980
The six parts of this collection make available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980
Mobilizing East Asia Online: Newspapers, magazines and books from the 1900s-1950s
Mobilizing East Asia offers a carefully selected and tightly organized range of essential English-language newspapers, magazines, pamphlets and books following the descent into war in East and South-East Asia from the turn of the twentieth century to the 1950s. This exciting collection of newspapers and lavishly illustrated magazines, often in colour, shows the route from the defeat of Russia by Japan to Japan’s own defeat, through seismic upheaval in China and the onset of systemic change in Asia.
Oxford bibliographies. Chinese studies
Annotated bibliographies of the most recent and authoritative Chinese studies scholarship.
Party and Government Documents in English (PGDiE)
Party and Government Documents in English (PGDiE) is a unique collection of official documents in English, covering various levels of Chinese government, Communist Party of China (CPC) and National People's Congress (NPC) from authoritative sources from 1921 onwards. It is an invaluable resource for research on the history of Communist Party of China (CPC), the Chinese government, and National People's Congress (NPC). Party and Government Documents in English (PGDiE) is part of Global Chinese Studies (GCS).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1832 – 1953
The Wire China
The Wire China is a weekly online news magazine founded by former The New York Times Shanghai correspondent David Barboza. The magazine focuses on Chinese business, economics and finance.