History

EEBO contains searchable text of almost every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700.

From the Library of Congress and other institutions, a vast collection of primary sources in myriad form.

Oral history interviews with African-American subjects. The largest collection of its kind.

Archives Unbound, an umbrella of dozens of Gale Cengage documentary collections, spans the globe and reaches from the early modern era to the late-twentieth century.

A global collection of documents for what historians have termed "the long nineteenth century."

"A searchable archive of leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. "

British Colonial Office documents for almost the entire period of European conquest and colonization of Africa (with the exception of Egypt)

British Colonial Office documents for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt, and Sudan.

Formerly restricted British documents -- diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, maps, reports of court cases, biographies of leading personalities, summaries of events and diverse other materials.

A pioneering social research organization founded in 1937 to record everyday life in Britain. Material gathered from 1937-1955 including diaries and questionnaires sent in by its panel of volunteers, and research gathered by paid investigators.

A large but incomplete selection of titles from the ongoing digitization of every extant non-English-language western European book published before 1700.

Almost seven million digitized objects of French, European, and global history. Website accessible in English, French, and Italian.

BHO describes itself as "[t]he digital library of text and information about people, places and businesses from the medieval and early modern period."

In addition to finding aids from more than 200 participating institutions, Online Archive of California provides access to more than 250,000 digital images and texts.

"A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court."

"[Affords] immediate access to a broad range of previously classified federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. The collection brings together the most sensitive documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies in a single, easily searchable database ... [The] most comprehensive compilation of declassified documents from the executive branch."